Science and the Implications of the Big Idea
- Finding Books
- Finding Articles
- Reference Works
- Web Sites: Science & History
- Web Sites: Controversy & Law
Searching the catalog for books on evolution:
- Try a keyword search: evolution and genetics
- Try including synonyms: epigenesis or cladistics
creationism or intellegent design
- Try truncation for more results: evolution* retrieves... evolution, evolutionary, evolutionism, evolutionize, etc.
- Try using subjects: Teleology Evolution -- Biology Brain -- Evolution Primates -- Evolution Human
Evolution -- Religious Aspects
- Here are some keywords you might want to try when searching the following databases: Epegenesis, Cladistics, Phylogeny, Macroevolution, Teleology, Coevolution, Adaptation and Evolution, Biogeography, Taxonomy, Paleobiology, Population Genetics, Systematics.
- Biological Sciences -- ELECTRONIC
An interdisciplinary database that offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
- BioOne -- ELECTRONIC
Offers an aggregation of full-text, high-impact bioscience research journals, mostly published by small societies and non-commercial publishers.
- JSTOR -- ELECTRONIC
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Contains articles by and about Charles Darwin as well as contemporary articles about him.
- MEDLINE via Ovid and PubMed -- ELECTRONIC
The premier medical literature search system, which includes Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature. PubMed is the same database as Medline except with a different search interface.
- Original Sources -- ELECTRONIC
Searchable full-text of Primary works by the most important figures in all aspects of World History.
- Philosopher's Index -- ELECTRONIC
Provides indexing and abstracts from philosophy books and journals, containing over 213,000 bibliographic citations with author abstracts.
- Proquest -- ELECTRONIC
Proquest General Reference provides abstracting and indexing for over 2100 titles, including full text for over 1800 journals.
- Dictionary of Biology -- ELECTRONIC
- Dictionary of the Genera of Life -- PRINT
Hagerty Reference QH83 .T77
- The Facts on File Dictionary of Evolutionary Biology -- PRINT
Hagerty Reference QH360.2 .F27 2004
- McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Bioscience -- ELECTRONIC
- AboutDarwin.com -- WWW
Provides a great deal of detail about the life and times of Charles Darwin, including illustrated maps of the Beagle Voyage.
- ben:BiosciEdNet -- WWW
Digital library portal for teaching and learning in the biological sciences. The BEN Portal provides access to education resources from BEN Collaborators and is managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Over 12,930 reviewed resources covering 77 biological sciences topics are available. Access to some images and movies require registration, but all are free and well worth the extra effort.
- PBS: Evolution -- WWW
"[A] content-rich, interactive Web site with streaming imagery, animations, simulations, dynamic timelines, conversations with experts, current news bulletins, and extensive links to evolution-related learning resources worldwide."
- Understanding Evolution -- WWW
From the University of California, Berkeley: "Understanding Evolution is a non-commercial, education website, teaching the science and history of evolutionary biology."
- Discovery Institute -- WWW
"The Institute discovers and promotes ideas in the common sense tradition of representative government, the free market and individual liberty." Opponents of evolution.
- The Evolution, Creationism, and Intelligent Design Controversy -- WWW
From the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law: "The issue: What restrictions does the First Amendment place on the ability of states and school boards to restrict the teaching of evolution or encourage the teaching of "creation science" in the public school classrooms?"
- Is it Science Yet?: Intelligent Design, Creationism, and the Constitution -- WWW
From the Washington University Law Quarterly (2005, vol. 83, iss. 1, p. 1-149), a detailed look at legal issues relating to intelligent design and other forms of creationism. Also available through Drexel Libraries' GetIt.
- National Center for Science Education -- WWW
"The National Center for Science Education (NCSE) defends the teaching of evolution in public schools."
- Talk.Origins Archive: Exploring the Creation/Evolution Controversy -- WWW
"Talk.origins is a Usenet newsgroup devoted to the discussion and debate of biological and physical origins."
- "The Unbroken Thread" is the fourth video in the Symphony of Science series, and it features David Attenborough, Jane Goodall, and Carl Sagan. The clips used in this installment come from Carl Sagan's Cosmos, David Attenborough's Charles Darwin and the Tree of Life, The Life of Mammals, The Living Planet, BBC Life, XVIVO Scientific Animations, IMAX Cosmic Voyage, Jane Goodall's TED Talk, and a clever Guiness Commercial. The themes present in The Unbroken Thread attempt to explore the wild diversity of life on our planet, the intricacy and origin of its mechanisms, and its close relation to all other life forms.
- Breakthrough of the Year 2005: Evolution in Action -- WWW
Produced by Science magazine, this (~17 minute) video provides an overview of some recent advances in evolutionary science. Also see Science's Breakthrough of the Year article.
Content Editor: Peggy Dominy
Last Updated: 10/31/2012