- Searching the catalog for books on food science:
- Try a keyword search: lipids AND diet toxicol* AND marine
- Try a subject search: food composition- tables genetically modified foods
- Browse the stacks: Foods Microbiology -- QR115-
Nutrition, Foods, Food supply -- TX341-
- AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) - ELECTRONIC
Provides access to the agricultural literature of the world and is the most comprehensive source of U.S. agricultural and life sciences information. AGRICOLA serves as the document locator and bibliographic control system for the National Agricultural Library (NAL) collection. It contains over 3.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture from 1979 to the present.
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts -- ELECTRONIC
Food science, food technology, and human nutrition, including basic food science, biotechnology, toxicology, packaging, and engineering.
- USDA Nutrient Data Bank - WWW
Includes proximate components, minerals, vitamins, fatty acids, cholesterol, phytosterols, and amino acids. Other tables and data sets containing food components of special interest such as vitamins D and K, selenium, and sugars, are also available.
- MEDLINE - ELECTRONIC
The premier medical literature search system, which includes Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature. Covers clinical nutrition literature.
Dietary Supplements Labels Database (brands, ingredients, and references) — WWW
Developed and managed by the United States National Library of Medicine. The Dietary Supplements Labels Database offers information about ingredients in more than three thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the health benefits claimed by manufacturers. These claims by manufacturers have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Companies may not market as dietary supplements any products that are intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.Ingredients of dietary supplements in this database are linked to other National Library of Medicine databases such as MedlinePlus® and PubMed® to allow users to understand the characteristics of ingredients and view the results of research pertaining to them, including the following characteristics:
- Uses in humans
- Adverse effects
- Mechanism of action
The Database can be searched by brand names, uses noted on product labels, specific active ingredients, and manufacturers. Warnings and Recalls from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), related to specific ingredients and supplement brands have also been provided.
- Dictionary of Food Ingredients - ELECTRONIC
- Handbook of food analysis- PRINT
Hagerty Reference TX541 .H36 2004 v. 1, v. 2, v.3
- Handbook of food toxicology - PRINT
Hagerty Reference RA1258 .D46 2002
- Dictionary of Food and Nutrition - ELECTRONIC and PRINT (Bender)
Hagerty Reference TX349.B4115 2005
- Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology - ELECTRONIC and PRINT
Hagerty Reference TP368.2.E62 2000 and Hagerty 2nd Floor TP368.2 .E62 1992
- Food Chemicals Codex - ELECTRONIC and PRINT
Hagerty Reference TP455 .F66x 2003
- Handbook of Nutrition and Food - PRINT
Hagerty Reference QP141 .C774 2002
- knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References - ELECTRONIC
Search 48 handbooks in Food Science individually, by subject groups or all together. Includes data on food safety, manufacturing and processing, nutrition and preservation.
- United Nations Data -- WWW
Here find numerous links to data and statistics on food and agriculture from FAO as collected by the United Nations.
- Standards and Law:
- Food Code - WWW
The Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS), and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) are pleased to jointly announce the publication of the 1999 edition of the Food Code. The Food Code is a reference document for regulatory agencies responsible for overseeing food safety in retail outlets such as restaurants and grocery stores and institutions such as nursing homes and child care centers. It is neither federal law nor federal regulation and is not preemptive, but may be adopted and used by agencies at all levels of government that have responsibility for managing food safety risks at retail.
- Institute for Food Laws and Regulations - WWW
This site contains links to a variety of resources on Food Law and Regulations as well as other related subjects available on the World Wide Web developed by the Institute of Food Technologists.
Content Editor: Peggy Dominy
Last Updated: 10/31/2012