- Finding Books
- Finding Articles
- Dictionaries, Handbooks, and Encyclopedias
- Selected Web Resources
- Current Awareness
- Wiki Books
- Searching the catalog for books on Geology and Paleontology:
- Try a keyword search: dinosaurs fossils AND evolution trilobites
geology and rivers
geology and guidebooks
- Try a subject search: Paleontology
Geology, Stratigraphic Geology
- Browse the stacks: Physical Geography GB3 - GB60
Hydrology. Water - Including ground water, rivers,lakes, glaciers GB651 - GB2998
Environmental Sciences GE1 - GE350
Geology QE1 - QE996
Mineralogy QE351 - QE399
Volcanoes and Earthquakes QE521 - QE545
Paleontology QE701 -
- Earthquake Engineering Abstracts - ELECTRONIC
National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering, 1971 - present EEA covers the world literature in earthquake engineering. Contents include selected technical reports, conference papers, monographs, and journal articles.
- GeoRefS - ELECTRONIC
1785 - (N. America) 1933 - (international) The American Geological Institute, via OCLC's First Search service, provides access to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes more than 25,145 publications.
- INSPEC via EiVillage - ELECTRONIC
Primary coverage is journal articles and papers presented at conferences, although significant books, technical reports, and dissertations are also included. Sources include more than 4,000 journals and more than 2,000 conference proceedings, books, and reports corresponding to the following publications: Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Computer & Control Abstracts, as well as to the online INSPEC database.
- U.S. Geological Survey - ELECTRONIC
1880 - current A subset of the GeoRef database established by the American Geological Institute, provides access to USGS publications, reports, and maps, references to non-USGS publications with USGS authors published, and references to reports produced by the Hayden, King, Powell, and Wheeler surveys. Includes more than 110,000 publications.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - ELECTRONIC and PRINT
Hagerty Reference QD65 .H3 85th ed. (2004/05)
- Encyclopedia of Paleontology - ELECTRONIC
- Geology - ELECTRONIC
- Glossary of Geology - PRINT
Hagerty Reference QE5 .B38 1997
- Handbook of Paleozoology - PRINT
Hagerty Reference QE761 .K8413 1986
- Roadside Geology Series - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor Guidebooks on the geology of different states.
- USGS Glossary of Paleontology Terms - WWW
- All About Glaciers - WWW
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) at the National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC) site for information and news about glaciers.
- Geology & Geologic Time - WWW
This site, by the Museum of Paleontology at the University of California, Berkeley, is an online exhibit that gives users an in-depth walk-through of the periods of Earth's history.
- GeoTech - WWW
A good source of information on basic geology, mineralogy, and geochemistry.
- Marine Geology and Geophysics - WWW
The National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC) and the collocated World Data Center for Marine Geology & Geophysics, Boulder, compile, maintain, archive, and distribute data from extensive databases in both coastal and open ocean areas.
- Metamorphic Petrology Directory - WWW
This is the personal webpage of a University of Oxford lecturer in Metamorphic Petrology and contains research summaries, information and links relating to petrology, mineralogy, and the use of computers in teaching.
- Mineralogy Database - WWW
This mineral database contains 4,255 individual mineral species descriptions with links. Visit the "Alphabetical Listing" for an alphabetical listing of mineral species.
- Paleontology Portal - WWW
- Tectonics - WWW
Contains continental drift animations as well as brief overviews of the theory and history behind them. This site is maintained by the University of California, Berkeley.
- The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) - WWW
USGS Education Resources: Earthquakes Paleontology Geologic Map Database Water Resources GeoMagnetism
- Volcanoes - WWW
The Michigan Technological University Volcanoes page provides volcanology information about the earth's volcanoes and volcanic hazards mitigation, in addition to various volcano-related resources.
- Dinosaurs & Fossils News on Yahoo! News - WWW
- Geology News: Earth Science Current Events - WWW
- ScienceDaily: Geology News - WWW
- ScienceDaily: Fossils & Ruins News - WWW
- Consider these “books” as supplements to course textbooks and classroom instruction. In the wiki world anyone can edit and contribute, so use these resources with some discernment.
- Evolutionary Biology -- http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Evolutionary_Biology
- Paleontology -- http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Paleontology
- Invertebrate Zoology -- http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Invertebrate_Zoology
- Introduction to Paleoanthropology -- http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Introduction_to_Paleoanthropology
Content Editor: Peggy Dominy
Last Updated: 10/31/2012