- Searching the catalog for books on meteorology:
- Try a keyword search: meteorology AND climate
weather AND forecast*
- Try a subject search: Meteorology--International Cooperation
- Browse the stacks: Meteorology -- QC851-999
Aeronautics -- TL556
- INSPEC -- ELECTRONIC
This resource covers most of the meteorological literature allied to the physical sciences including climatology, atmospherics sciences, radar and satellite imaging.
- National Climatic Data Center -- WWW
NCDC is the world's largest active archive of weather data. NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world. NCDC operates the World Data Center for Meteorology, Asheville which is collocated at NCDC. NCDC's web site has received a number of awards.
- Proquest -- ELECTRONIC
Although, this resource is multi-subject, it does cover trade journals and newspapers which report on climate and weather-related events.
- Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences -- PRINT
Hagerty Reference QC854 .E522 2003
- Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate -- PRINT
Hagerty Reference QC854 .A45 2002
- Federal Meteorological Handbook -- PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor QC864 .F4x (Publication 1-11 available in the library) These handbooks are publications of the Office of the Federal Coordinator for Meteorological Services and Supporting Research. Each handbook covers a different subject.
- The Facts on File dictionary of weather and climate -- PRINT
Hagerty Reference QC854 .F33 2006
- Weather Glossary -- WWW
From the good folks at NOAA a glossary, abbreviations and acronyms.
- Climate 1-Stop -- WWW
The Climate 1-Stop provides a single location to share and access climate change tools, resources and information, with a primary focus on adaptation in developing countries. The Climate 1-Stop is a partnership of southern and northern organizations working at all levels, from grass roots to global.
- Climate Information and Services -- WWW
This site provides coordinated weather and climate information form 9 different Federal government agencies. A rather clean straight-forward site with easy navigation.
- US National Weather Service Interactive Weather Information Network -- WWW
One is able select any state and receive detailed weather information such as: short term forecasts (NOWcasts), climatic data, hydrologic information, and warnings and advisories. The site also includes National Items such as Agricultural Summaries and Ultraviolet Index.
- World Meteorological Organization -- WWW
WMO contributes to the welfare of humanity. Within the framework of WMO programs, National Meteorological and Hydrological Services (NMHSs) enhance national economic and social well being through timely and accurate meteorological and hydrological information.
Content Editor: Peggy Dominy
Last Updated: 10/31/2012