- Finding Books
- Finding Articles
- Handbooks and Encyclopedias
- Selected Web Resources
- Professional Organizations
- Searching the catalog for books on nutrition:
- Try a keyword search: nutrition AND assessment
sport* AND nutrition*
- Try a subject search: Malnutrition in Children
Vitamins -- analysis
- Browse the stacks: Physiology-Nutrition -- QP141-
Home Economics-Nutrition -- TX341-
- AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) -- ELECTRONIC
Provides access to the agricultural literature of the world and is the most comprehensive source of U.S. agricultural and life sciences information. AGRICOLA serves as the document locator and bibliographic control system for the National Agricultural Library (NAL) collection. It contains over 3.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture from 1979 to the present. Data is provided to Community of Science under contract with the National Technical Information Service.
- Biological Sciences -- ELECTRONIC
An interdisciplinary database that offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, nutrition science, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
- ProQuest -- ELECTRONIC This broad cross disciplinary resource partially covers the nutrition literature and some may be full-text.
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts -- ELECTRONIC
Covers scientific journals relating to food science and technology published throughout the world, as well patents, books, conference proceedings, reports, theses, standards, legislation. All abstracts are in English and are prepared by specialist scientists and linguists, from work originally published worldwide in more than 40 different languages.
- MEDLINE-- ELECTRONIC
Check our database list for several access points for this resourse.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text -- ELECTRONIC
Full text of journals covering sport, physical fitness, sports medicine, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.
- Bender's Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology -- PRINT/ELECTRONIC
Hagerty Reference TX349 .B4 1999 and 2006
- CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition -- PRINT
Hagerty Reference QP141 .B523 2006
- Dietary reference intakes for energy, carbohydrate, fiber, fat, fatty acids, cholesterol, protein, and amino acids -- ELECTRONIC
- Dietary reference intakes for water, potassium, sodium, chloride, and sulfate -- ELECTRONIC
- Nutrition Handbook for Food Processors -- ELECTRONIC
- United Nations Data -- WWW
Here find numerous links to data and statistics on food and agriculture from FAO as collected by the United Nations.
- ben:BiosciEdNet -- WWW
Digital library portal for teaching and learning in the biological sciences. The BEN Portal provides access to education resources from BEN Collaborators and is managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Over 12,930 reviewed resources covering 77 biological sciences topics are available. Access to some images and movies require registration, but all are free and well worth the extra effort.
- Dietary Supplements Labels Database (brands, ingredients, and references) -- WWW
Developed and managed by the United States National Library of Medicine. The Dietary Supplements Labels Database offers information about ingredients in more than three thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the health benefits claimed by manufacturers. These claims by manufacturers have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Companies may not market as dietary supplements any products that are intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.Ingredients of dietary supplements in this database are linked to other National Library of Medicine databases such as MedlinePlus® and PubMed® to allow users to understand the characteristics of ingredients and view the results of research pertaining to them, including the following characteristics:
- Uses in humans
- Adverse effects
- Mechanism of action
- Food and Nutrition Information Center -- WWW
The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) is located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL), part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the Agricultural Research Service (ARS).
- Institute of Medicine -- WWW
The IOM was established under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences. The IOM provides information on many aspects of public health, including Food and Nutrition. Many of the IOM reports and projects are available for reading online free from the National Academies Press. Just follow the "Read and Purchase" link.
- American Council on Science and Health--Nutrition -- WWW
- American Dietetic Association -- WWW
- American Society for Nutrition -- WWW
- American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition -- WWW
- Dietary Managers Association -- WWW
- Dietitians of Canada -- WWW
Content Editor: Peggy Dominy
Last Updated: 10/31/2012