Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Nancy Bellafante

Nancy Bellafante
Librarian for Undergraduate Learning; Interim Liaison Librarian for Biology & Biodiversity, Earth and Environmental Science
Hagerty Library, Room 125
nb389@drexel.edu
215-571-4288

 

New Items in the Catalog

Math & Sciences
Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Paleontology

Finding Books

Finding Articles

Handbooks and Encyclopedias

Web Resources

Web Books


Finding Books

            Try using keyword search:      biodiversification
                                                            climate change
                                                            fossils and ecology

            Try subject search:                  paleontology
                                                            fossils
                                                            paleobiology
                                                            paleoclimatology

            Browse the stacks:                  Geology, Stratigraphic – QE651
                                                             Paleontology – QE711.2-
                                                             Paleobiology – QE719.8-
                                                             Macroevolution – QH366.2-


Finding Articles

Bibliography of Paleobotany – WWW
As of March, 2009, there are more than 71,000 entries in the database. In almost all cases, the complete reference is included. A small proportion of the entries have been indexed for keywords, mostly the newer literature, and this indexing is continuing.

GeoRef - ELECTRONIC
1680 –  present.  The GeoRef database, established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the most comprehensive geoscience literature of the world.

Paleobiology Database – WWW
The Paleobiology Database seeks to provide researchers and the public with information about the entire fossil record. It has expanded continuously since 2000 thanks to the efforts of 309 paleontologists from around the world.  You can use the site to find out about fossil collections, individual plants and animals, taxonomic groups, references to publications, stratigraphic units, time scales, and time intervals.


Handbooks and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Earth  --  WWW

Encyclopedia of Paleontology - ELECTRONIC

Handbook of Paleozoology - PRINT
Hagerty Reference      QE761 .K8413 1986

Life on earth : an encyclopedia of biodiversity, ecology, and evolution – Print
Hagerty Reference      QH541.15.B56 L54 2002  v.1 & v.2

USGS Glossary of Paleontology Terms - WWW


Web Resources

Stratigraphic Guide – WWW
International Commission on Stratigraphy

Invertebrate Paleontology Image Gallery – WWW
Peabody Museum of Natural History, Yale University.

North American Stratigraphic Code – WWW
The American Association of Petroleum Geologists Bulletin
Volume 89, Number 11 (November, 2005), p. 1547-1591, 11 Figures, 2 Tables

NOAA Paleoclimatology -- WWW
NOAA Paleoclimatology is a branch of NOAA's National Climatic Data Center. Paleo data come from natural sources such as tree rings, ice cores, corals, and ocean and lake sediments-- and extend the archive of weather and climate back hundreds to millions of years. NOAA Paleo provides data and information scientists need to understand natural climate variability and future climate change.

Paleontology Database – WWW
Search the resources of the American Museum of Natural History.

Paleontology Portal – WWW
This site is a resource for anyone interested in paleontology, from the professional in the lab to the interested amateur scouting for fossils to the student in any classroom. We have gathered many different resources into this single entry "portal" to paleontological information on the Internet.


Web Books

Consider these “books” as supplements to course textbooks and classroom instruction.  In the wiki world anyone can edit and contribute, so use these resources with some discernment.

·  Evolutionary Biology -- http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Evolutionary_Biology

·  Paleontology -- http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Paleontology

·  Invertebrate Zoology -- http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Invertebrate_Zoology

·  Introduction to Paleoanthropology -- http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Introduction_to_Paleoanthropology

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon