- Finding Books
- Finding Articles
- Handbooks and Encyclopedias
- Wiki Books
- Current Awareness
- National Laboratories
- Searching the catalog for books on physics, atmospheric sciences, or astronomy:
- Try a keyword search: hawking AND time
thermo* AND quant*
- Try a subject search: cosmic physics
field theory (physics)
- Browse the stacks: Astrophysics -- QB468-
Acoustics -- QC221-
- Astrophysics Data System - WWW
1982-present. The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project whose main resource is an Abstract Service, which includes four sets of abstracts: Astronomy and astrophysics Instrumentation Physics and geophysics Los Alamos preprint server. Each dataset can be searched by author, object name (astronomy only), title, or abstract text words. of architect/designer and/or location and/or magazine.
- INSPEC - ELECTRONIC
1969-current. Primary coverage is journal articles and papers presented at conferences, although significant books, technical reports, and dissertations are also included. Sources include more than 4,000 journals and more than 2,000 conference proceedings, books, and reports corresponding to the following publications: Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Computer & Control Abstracts, as well as to the online INSPEC database.
- AIP physics desk reference - PRINT
Hagerty Reference QC61 .P49 2003
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - ELECTRONIC and PRINT
- Dictionary of Pure and Applied Physics - ELECTRONIC and PRINT
Hagerty Reference QC5.D485 2001
- Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics - ELECTRONIC and PRINT
Hagerty Reference QB14.E534 2001 (4 vols)
- Encyclopedia of the solar system- PRINT
Hagerty Reference QB501 .E53 2007
- Eric Weisstein's Treasure Trove of Physics - WWW
Searchable and browsable, this dictionary of physics terms is still a work-in-progress, but what is there is well researched.
- The Laws List - WWW
The laws list is a list of various laws, rules, principles, and other related topics in physics and astronomy.
- McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology -ELECTONIC and PRINT
Hagerty Reference Q121.M312 2002
- Particle Data Group (PDG) - WWW
The PDG is an international collaboration that reviews Particle Physics and related areas of Astrophysics, and compiles/analyzes data on particle properties. PDG products are distributed to 30,000 physicists, teachers, and other interested people.
- Reviews, Tables, and Plots in the 1999 WWW Review of Particle Physics - WWW
Find here constants, atomic and nuclear properties, standard models, and much much more!
- Physical Reference Data - WWW
From the NIST folks, find here fundamental physical constants (probably the most updated data), and atomic and molecular databases.
- Symbols Used in Physics Problems - WWW
A nice list of commonly used symbols used in physics and mathematics problems.
- International Year of Astronomy 2009 - WWW
The International Year of Astronomy (IYA2009) will be a global celebration of astronomy and its contributions to society and culture, highlighted by the 400th anniversary of the first use of an astronomical telescope by Galileo Galilei. The aim of the Year is to stimulate worldwide interest, especially among young people, in astronomy and science under the central theme “The Universe, Yours to Discover”. IYA2009 events and activities will promote a greater appreciation of the inspirational aspects of astronomy that embody an invaluable shared resource for all nations.
- AstroWeb - WWW
Hosted by the Space Telescope Science Institute, Astronomical Internet Resources contains pointers to potentially relevant resources available via Internet and is a product of the AstroWeb Consortium.
- High Energy Physics (HEP) Web Sites - WWW
From CERN-European Organization for Nuclear Research, find here links to organizations, labs and research departments related to HEP.
- PhysOrg.com - WWW
Breaking news covering science, physics, technology, nanotechnology and more.
- Physicsweb - WWW
Physics news, jobs and resources from IoP.
- Brookhaven National Laboratory - WWW
Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL) is a U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) research facility located on Long Island, New York. BNL has been around since 1947, doing world-class scientific research in physics, medicine, biology, chemistry, environmental science. . . and more!
- European Laboratory for Particle Physics (CERN) - WWW
CERN is the European Organization for Nuclear Research, the world's largest particle physics centre. Founded in 1954, the laboratory was one of Europe's first joint ventures, and has become a shining example of international collaboration. From the original 12 signatories of the CERN convention, membership has grown to the present 20 Member States.
- Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) - WWW
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL) is a U.S. Department of Energy national laboratory operated by the University of California. Lawrence Livermore's mission is to apply science and technology in the national interest, with a focus on global security, global ecology, and bioscience.
- Los Alamos National Laboratory - WWW
Owned by the Department of Energy, Los Alamos has been managed by the University of California since 1943, when the Laboratory was born as part of the Manhattan Project to create the first atomic weapons during World War II.
- National Institute of Standards and Technology - WWW
The National Institute of Standards and Technology is an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce's Technology Administration. Established in 1901,* NIST strengthens the U.S. economy and improves the quality of life by working with industry to develop and apply technology, measurements, and standards.
- Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) - WWW
The Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) is a national basic research laboratory, probing the structure of matter at the atomic scale with x rays and at much smaller scales with electron and positron beams. The laboratory is operated by Stanford University under a contract from the United States Department of Energy (DOE). Find here info and news about SLAC.
- Information Literacy for the Sciences A self-paced tutorial for advanced scholarship in the sciences.
- Consider these "books" as supplements to course textbooks and classroom instruction. In the wiki world anyone can edit and contribute, so use these resources with some discernment.
- A-Level Physics--http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/A-level_Physics
- Physics Study Guide--http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Physics_Study_Guide:_Contents
- Engineering Thermodynamics--http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Engineering_Thermodynamics
- Solid Mechanics-- http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Solid_Mechanics
- Electric Motors And Generators--http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Electric_Motors_And_Generators
- Special relativity--http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Special_relativity
- General relativity--http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/General_relativity
- Physics with Calculus--http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Physics_with_Calculus
- Basic Electrical Generation and Distribution- http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Basic_Electrical_Generation_and_Distribution
Content Editor: Peggy Dominy
Last Updated: 10/31/2012