- Finding Books
- Finding Articles
- Handbooks and Encyclopedias
- Selected Web Resources
- Selected Scientific Societies
- Plant Identification Resources
- Searching the catalog for books on plant science:
- Try a keyword search: botan* AND pennsylvania
chem* AND botan*
- Try a subject search: plant morphogenesis
- Browse the stacks: plant anatomy -- QK640-
plant physiology -- QK710-
phylochemistry -- QK861-
- AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access)
Provides access to the agricultural literature of the world and is the most comprehensive source of U.S. agricultural and life sciences information. AGRICOLA serves as the document locator and bibliographic control system for the National Agricultural Library (NAL) collection. It contains over 3.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture from 1979 to the present.
- Bio One - ELECTRONIC
Offers an aggregation of full-text, high-impact bioscience research journals, mostly published by small societies and non-commercial publishers.
- Biological Sciences - ELECTRONIC
An interdisciplinary database that offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
- Biodiversity Heritage Library - WWW
The Biodiversity Heritage Library works collaboratively to make biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.
- Dictionary Of Plant Genetics And Molecular Biology - PRINT
Hagerty Ref QK981 .M54 1998
Includes definitions of over 3,500 technical terms from plant genetics and molecular biology. Concise definitions are given for various techniques, enzymes, theories, and other terms from the fields of population, evolutionary, classical and molecular genetics; mutagenesis; statistics; and plant breeding and biotechnology
- Dictionary of Plant Sciences - ELECTRONIC and PRINT
- Encyclopedia of Applied Plant Sciences - PRINT
Hagerty Ref SB45 .E539x 2003
- Encyclopedia of Life - WWW
- Handbook of Plant and Crop Physiology - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor SB112.5 .H35 2002
- Handbook Of Reference Methods For Plant Analysis - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor QK865.H26 1998 A resource of plant analysis procedures, outlined in easy-to-follow steps and laboratory-ready for implementation. Plant laboratory preparation methods such as dry ashing and acid and microwave digestion are discussed in detail. Extraction techniques for analysis of readily soluble elements (petiole analysis) and quick test kits for field testing are also presented.
- Illustrated Glossary of Plant Pathology - WWW
This extensive glossary includes many electron and scanning electron micrographs.
- ben:BiosciEdNet -- WWW
Digital library portal for teaching and learning in the biological sciences. The BEN Portal provides access to education resources from BEN Collaborators and is managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Over 12,930 reviewed resources covering 77 biological sciences topics are available. Access to some images and movies require registration, but all are free and well worth the extra effort.
- Invasive Species Program -- WWW
From USGS, this site offers programs, databases, monitoring information and much more. If you are interested in the ramifications of invasive species, this is a good place to start.
- Plant And Insect Parasitic Nematode Home Page -- WWW
This WWW site is designed as an aid for nematode identification and systematic research, as well as a general resource for the science of Nematology. The emphasis is on plant parasitic nematodes and insect parasitic nematodes.
- Plant Disease And Insect Clinic -- WWW
The Plant Disease Clinic was first organized in 1951, and the insect component was added in 1970. The Clinic is a service laboratory for the North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service and others. Extension specialists from Plant Pathology, Entomology, Horticulture, Crop Science and Soil Science diagnose problems on the samples.
- The Plant Pathology Online -- WWW
From American Phytopathological Society (APS). Leading the fight against plant diseases for a healthier world. A wealth of information from a professional organization.
- PLANTS Database -- WWW
The PLANTS Database is a single source of standardized information about plants. This database focuses on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. The PLANTS Database includes names, checklists, automated tools, identification information, species abstracts, distributional data, crop information, plant symbols, plant growth data, plant materials information, plant links, references, and other plant information. PLANTS reduces costs by minimizing duplication and making information exchange possible across agencies and disciplines.
- American Society Of Agronomy
- American Phytopathological Society
- The British Society For Plant Pathology
- Canadian Phytopathological Society
- Entomological Society Of America
- Identification of tropical woody plants in the absence of flowers and fruits : a field guide- Print
Hagerty 2nd Floor QK474.5 .K45 1996
- Invasive plants : a guide to identification, impacts, and control of common North American species- PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor SB612.A2 K38 2007
- Practical plant identification : including a key to native and cultivated flowering plants in north temperate regions - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor QK97.5 C855 2006
- The plants of Pennsylvania : an illustrated manual - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor QK183 .R56 2007
- Wetland Monocots - WWW
From the good folks of U.S. Department of Agriculture and the National Plant Data Center. Unlike a traditional plant identification key that provides you with only two choices at each step (a dichotomous key), these keys let you select multiple characters simultaneously (polyclave key). This makes more character data available in the key and minimizes the number of steps it takes to identify a plant. Wetland Monocots - WWW A Botanist's Big Apple: This is a plant ecologist's tour of the five boroughs - the vagaries of urban ecology in New York City, including native flora, invasive plants, insects, and the things 8 million people do to 53,000 acres of natural area.
- Pine Barrens Plant Identification Key - WWW
Herbateous Plants are Complete (except for aquatic & grasslike). Trees & Shrubs are Still Incomplete.
- Northeast Wetland Flora - WWW
Field Office Guide to Plant Species
- World Wide Flowering Plant Family Identification - WWW
Part of a biology course at Colby College.
Content Editor: Peggy Dominy
Last Updated: 07/30/2013