Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Tom Ipri

Tom Ipri
Liason Librarian for Media Arts & Design

Hagerty Library, Room 135
tai22@drexel.edu
215-895-2772

 

New Items in the Catalog

Media Arts & Design

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Architecture

 


  1. Finding Books
  2. Finding Articles
  3. Finding Images
  4. Finding a Building (pictures, floor plans, sections)
  5. Finding Building Types
  6. Finding Construction Details
  7. Finding Building Codes
  8. Local Information

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on architecture: Try a keyword search: Frank Lloyd Wright modern and architect** Try a subject search: Architecture, Modern Or browse the stacks by call number:


  • General Architecture NA 50-60
  • Architectural History NA 190 - 1614
  • Architectural Theory NA 2500
  • Architectural Details NA 2840
  • City Planning and Aesthetics NA 9000 - 9428
  • Building Construction TH 1 - 9745
  • Landscape Architecture SB 469 - 476.4

Finding Articles

Try these recommended databases first:


  • Avery Index -- ELECTRONIC The Avery is the largest database devoted to architecture and design journals. All architects should be familiar with this database.
  • Art and Architecture Complete -- ELECTRONIC Art and Architecture Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications as well as for over 150 books with full-text coverage of more than 250 of the periodicals. Subject coverage includes antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and much more.
  • JSTOR -- ELECTRONIC Includes full-text of all articles. Architectural journals include Perspecta, Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, Journal of Architectural Education, Grey Room, Design Issues, Assemblage plus 7 more. Note that JSTOR employs a "moving wall" of publication dates. Therefore, the most recent years are not included.
  • Proquest-- ELECTRONIC Provides searching platform for a number of periodical databases covering Business, Science, Humanities and Social Sciences. Delivers more than 4,000 full-text publications from over 3,000 publishing partners.

Need more? Continue with these:


  • Architectural Index -- ELECTRONIC Covers 19 periodicals in architecture (mostly American). Searchable or browseable by subject categories, building type, architect/designer's name, combination of architect/designer and/or location and/or magazine.
  • BuilidingGreen.com -- ELECTRONIC This electronic resource includes articles from Environmental Building News as well as GreenSpec, a convenient way to search for environmentally conscious building materials.
  • Places -- WWW Places, Forum of Design for the Public Realm, is a peer reviewed journal that incorporates writings from a variety of fields in design, the arts and social sciences. It is published by the Design History Foundation. You can browse each issue or use the search box to search for your topic across multiple issues.

Finding Images


  • ARTstor -- ELECTRONIC ARTstor is an image database that includes art and architecture. Free Registration is necessary for saving images on ARTstor, but not for searching the collection.
  • Art and Architecture Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications as well as for over 150 books with full-text coverage of more than 250 of the periodicals. Subject coverage includes antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and much more.

Finding a Building (pictures, floor plans, sections)


  • Search the catalog -- ELECTRONIC Search by the name of the building or architect. There may be an entire book on your building. If not, broaden your search to look for monographs on the architect, and then check that book's index for the building you are interested in.
  • Avery Index -- ELECTRONIC Again, search by keyword for the name of the building or architect.
  • A View on Cities -- WWW The building facts pages show info about the buildings such as the name of the architect and the year it was built.
  • Philadelphia Architects and Buildings -- ELECTRONIC If you are searching for a building in Philadelphia or its surrounding areas, try using the Philadelphia Architects and Buildings (PAB) database. You can search by building or architect name, or by street for historical information on local buildings. The database helps you locate drawings and images at local archives, including the University of Pennsylvania’s Architectural Archives. You can access the database at http://www.philadelphiabuildings.org/pab/. You can register for a free account, or search as a guest.

Finding Building Types


  • Architectural Graphic Standards -- PRINT This publication includes general planning and design data. See Section 20 for Building Types and Space Planning. The print copy is found in Reference, call number NA 2840 R36x 2007.
  • Building Type Basics Series -- PRINT This series includes 12 different building types and provides a good overview of their spatial and programmatic requirements.
  • Time Saver Standards for Building Types -- PRINT This book includes planning guidelines, criteria and standards for a large range of building types. It covers program and square footage requirements as well as sample space planning configurations.

Finding Construction Details

Try these recommended resources first:

  • Materials ConneXion -- ELECTRONIC Material ConneXion houses over 1,400 new and innovative materials representing eight categories: polymers, glass, ceramics, carbon-based materials, cement-based materials, metals, natural materials and natural material derivatives. PLEASE NOTE: Access to the Materials Database is only available off-campus by creating a free Personal Account. A Personal Account can also be used on campus and offers certain benefits and advanced features. Follow this link to create a personal account. A valid drexel email address must be used as a username.
  • Architectural Graphic Standards -- PRINT This publication includes specific details for construction. The print copy is found in Reference, call number NA 2840 R36x 2007.
  • Building Construction Illustrated -- PRINT call number TH146 .C52 2001

Need more? Continue with these:


Finding Building Codes

Try this recommended resource first:

  • MadCad -- ELECTRONIC MAD CAD is a reference database online, containing building codes, knowledge-based design solutions, and guidelines to meet the codes. MAD CAD will provide you access to cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes including BOCA, the UBC, the SBC, and IBC. It also includes state codes for Virginia and Maryland.

Need more? Continue with these:

 

Local Information

  • Philadelphia Inquirer - ELECTRONIC
  • Wikipedia, Philadelphia Neighborhoods
  • City-Data
  • Plan Philly -- WWW PlanPhilly engages and educates citizens on the value of a well-designed city and encourages active involvement in shaping it through news coverage and content sharing.
  • Phillyhistory.org -- WWW The Philadelphia City Archive is one of the country's largest municipal archives, with about 2 million photographs, dating from the late 1800's. Discover gorgeous images of Philadelphia, its industry, architecture, culture, and people.Center City District of Philadelphia Reports -- WWW The Center City District collects all kinds of information regarding demographics in Center City and publishes them in free reports. 
  • University City District -- WWW Provides the same kinds of information as the Center City District, but focuses on West Philly. Be sure to look at its publication, State of University City.
  • SimplyMap -- ELECTRONIC A web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using United States demographic, business, and marketing data. Data sources include the U.S. Census and Census projections.
  • ESRI Community Analyst - ELECTRONIC

    A web-based tool from the geographic information system market leader ?ESRI? with demographic and business data visualized in map format, as well as graphed or exportable as raw spreadsheet data.

  • A web-based tool from the geographic information system market leader ?ESRI? with demographic and business data visualized in map format, as well as graphed or exportable as raw spreadsheet data.

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon