Finding Books
- Searching the catalog for books on the music industry:
- Try a keyword search:
- music and rock
- Try a subject search:
- Music — Social aspects
- Browse the stacks:
- Medieval and Renaissance: ML 169.8 – ML 190
- America: ML 198 – ML 239
- Europe: ML 240 – ML 325
- Instruments and Instrumental Music: ML 459 – ML 1380
- Electronic Music: ML 1379 – ML 1380
- Vocal Music: ML 1400 – ML 3275
- Popular Music: ML 3469 – ML 3541
- Music Trade (Business): ML 3790
Finding Articles
- Business Source Complete - ELECTRONIC
This business database provides more than 1,300 full text scholarly publications, including more than 1,125 peer-reviewed journals.
- Oxford Music Online (formerly Grove Music Online) - ELECTRONIC
Oxford Music Online is comprised of the reference source formerly known as Grove Music Online, and now also includes other valuable Oxford Reference sources. Oxford Music Online is an extensive reference resource to information about music.
IIPA Full Text provides indexing, abstracts and selected full text from sources including dance, film, drama, television, the arts and entertainment industry, stagecraft, magic, musical theatre and performance art.
- Proquest Research Library - ELECTRONIC
Proquest Research Library indexes more than 3,880 journal titles?over 2,620 in full text?from 1971 forward.
Finding Music
- American Song - ELECTRONIC
American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. This release includes 763 albums, equaling 12,542 tracks.
- Classical Music Library - ELECTRONIC
Large and continually growing collection of over 35,000 classical music recordings for listening, browsing and searching. Provides musical sound recordings and MIDI files, program notes, reference texts (composer biographies, history, and glossary), and images. The music includes vocal and instrumental works from the Middle Ages through to the present.
- Naxos Music Library - ELECTRONIC
Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 130,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database. All these can be accessible from computers in academic libraries, home or office.
- Music in Print – ELECTRONIC
emusicquest provides The Music-In-Print Series database for subscribers to search online: Sacred and Secular Choral, Classical Vocal, Organ, Orchestral, String, Classical Guitar, Woodwind, Piano, Chamber, Band, Brass, Handbell, Harp, Percussion, Recorder, Jazz, and Popular Music In Print. Note, however, that W.W. Hagerty Library does not have its own sheet music collection.
Finding Statistics
- TableBase - ELECTRONIC
Statistical/tabular data on companies, industries, products, countries and markets.
Industry Information
- Drexel University Libraries’ Marketing and Advertising Research Guide – WWW
- Drexel University Libraries’ Researching an Industry Research Guide – WWW
- IBISWorld - ELECTRONIC
Industry Reports on over 700 industries in the United States using the NAICS standard
- Mintel Reports - ELECTRONIC
Mintel offers a series of market research reports covering the US and European marketplace.
- RecordXpress Film & TV Guide - ELECTRONIC
RecordXpress Film & TV Guide offers updated contact information for all Film and Television firms in the United States.
- Pollstar Online - ELECTRONIC
Provides music concert industry information, including Route Book (concert tour schedules), box office results, industry directories, news and other industry related data services.
News
- Billboard – PRINT
Current issues are found in the Current Journals section on the first floor of Hagerty Library. - Pollstar Online - ELECTRONIC
Provides music concert industry information, including Route Book (concert tour schedules), box office results, industry directories, news and other industry related data services.
- Variety.com - ELECTRONIC
Offers the full text of every current article in Daily Variety and Variety, as well as research tools like a searchable credits database, a global showbiz events calendar, interactive box office charts, classifieds, video clips, extended event photo coverage and more.
Content Editor: Tom Ipri
Last Updated: 01/22/2013









