Suggested Databases
AGRICOLA (1979-present) AGRICultural OnLine Access Provides access to the agricultural literature of the world and is the most comprehensive source of U.S. agricultural and life sciences information. AGRICOLA serves as the document locator and bibliographic control system for the National Agricultural Library (NAL) collection. It contains over 3.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Alt-Health Watch (dates vary) Full-text and image database covering the full spectrum of alternative medicine subject areas, Alt HealthWatch focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It draws from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed reports, conference proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt HealthWatch includes pamphlets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
CINAHL (1982-present) Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: indexes books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas
ClinicalTrials.gov (current) Provides current information about clinical research studies. Searchable by disease, location, treatment, sponser, etc. or browsable by condition or sponser.
MEDLINE via Ovid (1950-present) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.
MEDLINE via PubMed (1966 - present) NLM's search service to access MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases. Patrons can limit their searches to a CAM subset on PubMed which has over 220,000 journal citations.
Natural Standard (current) An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Provides objective, reliable information that aids clinicians, patients, and healthcare institutions to make more informed and safer therapeutic decisions.
PsycINFO (1872-present) Indexes and abstracts books, dissertations and journal articles in the psychological and behavioral sciences, including the creative arts therapies.
RefWorks RefWorks allows users to format their citations and papers into a particular format, export or manually add references into RefWorks, and share their references or entire database. Users must create a RefWorks account. Write-N-Cite, an application that must be downloaded, enables users to insert in text citations from their references into their papers. When using Write-N-Cite from off-campus, enter RWDrexelU as the Group Code, in addition to the RefWorks account login.
Acubriefs (dates vary) This acupuncture database grew out of a bibliography formed for the 1997 NIH Consensus Conference on Acupuncture. Includes citations from MEDLINE, Cochrane Library, non-indexed journals, and Chinese publications with English abstracts. Updated weekly.
HerbMed (current) Interactive herbal database provided by the Alternative Medicine Foundation. Access to forty herbs. Enhanced version of this database is available for a fee.
Index to Chiropractic Literature (ICL) (1985-present) Contains abstracts of articles in peer reviewed chiropractice journals. Indexed by members of the Chiropractic Library Consortium (CLIBCON) which consists of health sciences librarians from chiropractic colleges throughout the world. Uses both CHIROSH (Chiropractic Subject Headings) and MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) (1986-present) Free goverment database that offers over 730,000 abstracts and citations on the topic of dietary supplements from four major database sources: biomedical-related articles from MEDLINE, botanical and agricultural science from AGRICOLA, worldwide agricultural literature through AGRIS, and selected nutrition journals from CAB Abstracts and CAB Health. Updated quarterly.
Native American Ethnobiology (current) This database contains information on "foods, drugs, dyes, and fibers of Native American Peoples, derived from plants." Based at the University of Michigan.
back to top of page
Electronic Journals:
Check catalog for electronic and print journals; for a comprehensive list, search "complementary therapies-periodicals" as a Subject. Also see the alphabetic listings of Electronic Journals.
back to top of page
Electronic Texts and Reference Resources:
Also see the listing of selected health sciences electronic books.
back to top of page
Selected Web Resources:
Academic and Professional Associations
Resources for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
- Acupuncture.com
- Includes information on the basics of Chinese Medicine, herbal remedies, and a newsletter called Points. Separate sections geared towards patients, professionals, and students.
- Bandolier-Complementary and Alternative Therapies
- Section on the evidence based journal's website dedicated to gathering information on various therapies. Abstracts of reviews done on various remedies.
- Cochrane Complementary Medicine Field
- Member of the Cochrane collaboration, prepares and publishes systematic reviews of randomized clinical trials that are featured in the Cochrane Library. Abstracts for the reviews are available.
- Dr. Weil.com
- Website by integrative medicine physician offers information on healthy eating. Offers information on everyday living. Registration required for some sections of the website like subscription to E-bulletin.
- Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC)
- Section of the National Agricultural Library. Provides educational materials, government eports and resource lists for topics such as food safety and supplements.
- Homeopathy Home
- Offers directories to schools and organizations. Covers the history of homeopathy and provides links to websites in various languages.
- Mayo Clinic Complementary and Alternative Medicine Center
- Sections on the basics of CAM, information on arious therapies, and dietary supplements.
- National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
- Organization under the auspices of the National Institute of Health, its site includes health information, finding clinical trials on CAM, the latest news, and the NCCAM Newsletter.
- National Center for Homeopathy
- Non-profit organization that promotes homeopathy. Features include a chatroom, alendar of homeopathic events, and locating a homeopath.
- Office of Cancer Complementary and Alternative Medicine
- Branch of the National Cancer Institute. Contains information on research, CAM clinical trials, and FDA alerts.
- Office of Dietary Supplements
- Government resource that provides information geared towards the professional and the onsumer. Includes links to government databases, factsheets on specific supplements, sections on consumer safety and nutrient recommendations.
- QuackWatch
- One of 19 websites operated by Dr. Stephen Barrett, M.D., Vice President of the National Council Against Health Fraud. Sections include information on questionable roducts and advertisements, non-recommended sources of ealth advice, and consumer-oriented information.
- Rosenthal Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
- Based at Columbia University's College of Physicians & Surgeons, its site provides a comprehensive selection of links to various CAM topics. The Cancer Education Intitiative page includes a directory of databases pertaining to CAM, and information on medical education and training programs.
Other Resources
- Bastyr University AIDS Research Center
- Established in 1994, the Bastyr University AIDS Research Center screens and evaluates therapies for the NCCAM. The website provides information on current and completed studies.
- Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center-Herbs, Botanicals, and Other Products
- This website has a section a section for searching for evidence based information about herbs, botanicals, supplements, and more.
- National Fraud Information Center
- Includes a counterfeit drug section with tips and facts on protecting consumers from fraud
- Natural Healers School Directory
- This directory provides information about massage therapy, acupuncture, and natural health degree schools, chiropractic colleges, and personal training certification.
Directories