Drexel University Libraries
home home catalog resources study guides services about the libraries
Drexel University Libraries
                 
 
ENGR 102: Engineering Design Lab II — Resources

Welcome to Engineering 102 Library Resources.
This page contains links to resources discussed in the Winter 2008-09 Engineering 102 classes. However, this is just the tip of the iceberg for engineering research. For more resources, please see our Fundamentals of Engineering Research Guide, as well as our other Engineering Resource Guides. Also, feel free to contact the engineering librarians…

Finding Books RefWorks
Finding Articles Patents
Ask a Librarian

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on engineering:
Try a keyword search: robotics
design process
Try a subject search: Engineering Design
Communication in Engineering
Include the type of book you are looking for: materials AND handbook
engineering AND encyclopedia
Use truncation for more results: chemi* retrieves…
chemistry, chemist, chemical, chemically, etc.
Or, browse ebook collections: ENGnetBASE: CRC Engineering Handbooks Online
Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References
Ebrary: an extensive ebook collection covering all subjects

Finding Articles

Most journal articles reside in the library’s databases. You can always find a specific journal (Engineering Management Journal, for example) by searching in the library catalog. If you don’t know exactly what you’re looking for, search for your topic in a library database. A few suggested databases are below; for the full list of library databases, arranged by subject, see our Databases by Subject page
best resource ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest is an excellent multi-disciplinary database. It contains both scholarly and popular articles on a very wide variety of topics. It is not intended to be used for engineering research, however you will likely find relevant information for your projects.
best resource Engineering Village
Engineering Village is the premier tool for searching engineering literature. It provides a combined interface for searchig the Ei Compindex and Inspec databases as well as handbooks, patents, and standards.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a “bibliographic management system” that allows you to save the citations for sources you’ve found, organize them, and then create a properly-formatted bibliography from your sources. You can even import the citations directly from our databases. Using RefWorks will save you hours of typing!
best resource RefWorks
To use RefWorks, you must create an account from an on-campus computer. After that, you can access it over the web from anywhere! Follow the link above to get started.
Help With RefWorks
If you are having problems using RefWorks, try one of our tutorials. Or, ask a librarian!

Patents

best resource USPTO
The US Patent and Trademark Office is the authority for all US patents. Patents can be searched and retrieved for free, but you must use the UPSTO plugin to view patent images.
Google Patents
Google has recently started offering a service similar to the USPTO. However, we have found that Google returns more extraneous results than the USPTO and there is no easy way to print or save the patent images.
best resource pat2pdf.org
A free service that, when given a patent number, will return an image of the patent as a single PDF file. This is much more useful than either the USPTO or Google image viewers.

Ask a Librarian

best resource Jay Bhatt and Dana Denick are Drexel’s Engineering Librarians. We are here to help you with all your research and information needs. Please feel free to contact us!
Englibrary Blog
Jay Bhatt’s very useful blog about engineering library resources. Updated frequently; try searching in it for topics of interest.

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment



Quick Search


Chat requires JavaScript.