Search the Library Website:
 
  Print-friendly version
  Health Informatics
 
 
 
  Finding Books
  Searching the catalog for books on health informatics:
  Try a keyword search: clinical AND information systems
  Try a browsing by Library of Congress (LC) subject heading or call number:
LC Subject Heading LC Call Number
QH324
R858
  [Top]
 
  Finding Articles
best resource ACM Digital Library & Guide to Computing Literature -- ELECTRONIC
The ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library includes abstracts, reviews, and the full-text of articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985. The Guide to Computing Literature has abstracts-only of non-ACM computng literature. Selective coverage of bioinformatics, decision support systems, electronic physician records, information retrieval, medical language processing and other topics.
ERIC via FirstSearch (with SFX) or ERIC via the free web (without SFX)
-- ELECTRONIC & WWW
This major education database includes a rich selection of journal articles, reports, and more - including computer-based health training and health education issues in general. Consult the guide to ERIC resources to get the most out of this database.
Engineering Village 2 -- ELECTRONIC
Including INSPEC from IEE, and EI Compendex from Elsevier, covering all aspects of computer science, information technology, automation. physics, electrical engineering, electronics, and more.
best resource Lecture Notes in Computer Science -- ELECTRONIC
Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS), including its subseries in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Bioinformatics (LNBI), publishes hundreds of conference proceedings every year with new developments in computer science and information technology research. Content goes back to 1973.
best resource MEDLINE via OVID (with SFX) or PubMed via the free web (without SFX) -- ELECTRONIC & WWW
This National Library of Medicine resource has two versions of the same content: the vendor-enhanced edition with SFX links into Drexel's full-text and a refined search interface; or the free web version with a simplified interface and abstracts only. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health.
NCBI Databases --WWW
The National Library of Medicine's National Center for Biomedical Information search and retrieval system that integrates information from databases at NCBI. These databases include nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, macromolecular structures, whole genomes, and MEDLINE, through PubMed.
Web of Science -- ELECTRONIC
This abstract-only source covers high impact library and information science journals. Through its citation tracking, ranking and sorting features you can quickly identify seminal papers of interest and, through SFX links, find full-text.
TIP: Use the Drexel e-journal directory to search by keyword (for terms such as "informatics") or browse by category (such as information technology) then browse that journal's contents.
  [Top]
 
  Reference Resources
MD Consult Core Collection -- ELECTRONIC
A great  Elsevier resource providing access to over 36 medical texts, articles from more than 46 clinical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, 2,500 patient education handouts, CME, and daily medical updates.  See optional personal registration information.
  [Top]
 
  Associations
American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA)
Their journal JAMIA is a core source in this field.
International Medical Informatics Association (IMIA)
American Healthcare Information Management Association (AHIMA)
TIP: For other associations consult the Encyclopedia of Associations
  [Top]
 
  Selected Web Resources
Health Informatics World Wide
An index of world wide health informatics resources.
  [Top]
 
  Definitions & Core Topics
Medical and Healthcare Informatics (MHI) is the field of information science concerned with the analysis and dissemination of medical and other health-related data through the application of computers to various aspects of healthcare and medicine.

MHI is an interdisciplinary field. There are relatively few information sources devoted specifically to medical and healthcare informatics. Much of the literature relevant to MHI is dispersed in disciplinary databases in medicine and technology. Accordingly, this guide covers only major resources in these areas.

If you are seeking additional technology-related information consult other Resource Guides on the Hagerty Library site, such as: Biomedical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Information Systems & Technology or Telecommunications. Guides to health-related information can be found under the Health Sciences heading on the Research Guides page.

Some core health information structures and general topics within the field are:
Terminology & Coding
Topics
ICD 9 CM
Artificial Intelligence
DRG
Biomedical Cognitive Science
DSM
Bioinformatics
HCPCS Computer Based Training
  Coding, Classification, Terminology
Taxonomies
Computerized Clinical Guidelines
SNOMED Consumer Health Informatics
MeSH
Clin. Information Management
UMLS Decision Support Systems
  Education and Training
Guidelines
Electronic Patient Records
Practice guidelines
Information Retrieval
Clinical pathways
Imaging, Robotics, Virtual Reality
Drug formularies
Medical Language Processing
Evidence-based Medicine Nursing Informatics
  Outcomes Assessment
Standards
Public Health Informatics
HIPPA
Signal processing
HL7 Standards, Social and Legal Issues
EMR standards Telemedicine
Tim Siftar

Tim Siftar
Librarian for Information Sci & Tech, School of Education, and Goodwin College

Hours M-F: 9am-5pm


Hagerty Library, Room 134
siftar@drexel.edu
215-895-2762

What's Tim doing this week?


Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Content editor
Content Editor Email:
Content editor email
Last Content Update:
March 28, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 29-Jul-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections