Drexel University Libraries
home home catalog resources study guides services about the libraries
Drexel University Libraries
                 
 
Television Management

Finding Books Industry Information
Finding Articles Finding News
Finding Statistics

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on television management:
Try a keyword search: television
Try a subject search: Television broadcasting — United States
Try a keyword search:

HE 8689 - 8700.95 Radio and television broadcasting
HE 9719-9721 Artificial satellite telecommunications
HF 5801-6182 Advertising
P 87-96 Communication. Mass media
PN 1990-1992.92 Broadcasting, including radio and television
PN 4699-5650 Journalism
TK 5101-6720 Telecommunication


Finding Articles

ComAbstracts — ELECTRONIC
Indexes over 80 important communication journals with links to some full text. Date coverage varies, but most titles are covered for at least the past twenty years.
best resource Communication and Mass Media Complete — ELECTRONIC
offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for more than 420 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 600 titles.
best resource Communications Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection — ELECTRONIC
Includes the full text of 16 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, encompassing over 5,000 articles in the field of communications.
Expanded Academic Index — ELECTRONIC
Another large multi-disciplinary database containing
best resource ProQuest Research Library — ELECTRONIC
A large multi-disciplinary database containing information on business, communication studies and many other subject areas

Finding Statistics

International television & video almanac — PRINT
Published annually. Most recent year is in the REFERENCE collection on the first floor of Hagerty Library. Call Number: PN1992.1 .I58 2006
Neilsen Reports and Publications — PRINT
On reserve at the circulation desk. Includes Viewers in Profile as well as the National Audience Demographics Report.
Tablebase – ELECTRONIC
Statistical/tabular data on companies, industries, products, countries and markets. Tablebase specializes in charts and tabular information culled from a variety of difference sources. You can look at just the table information, or select “Text Available” to read the source article.

Industry Information

Drexel University Libraries’ Researching an Industry Guide — WWW
This research guide includes many more links to industry resources.
IBISWorld — ELECTRONIC
IBISWorld offers industry reports covering over 700 US industries (at the 5-digit NAICS level) and provide key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, and industry outlook. You can search by NAICS code or by keyword. It’s very easy to browse report titles as well.
best resource Mintel Reports — ELECTRONIC
To access the reports in Mintel, you are required to set up an account first, using your Drexel email address. It’s very quick! Log in to Mintel Reports from our Databases by Title page. After accepting their licensing agreement, you will need to create your username (Drexel email address) and password, and then you’re in. Note that new reports are being added all the time. Pay particular attention to each report’s Executive Summary, Market Size and Trends, Market Segmentation, and Future and Forecast.

Finding News

best resource Factiva – ELECTRONIC
Global news and business information service that combines the content sets of Dow Jones Interactive and Reuters Business Briefing. More than 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated news wires. And, more than 900 sources are available on or before the date of publication.
New York Times (Historical) – ELECTRONIC
via Proquest, full text coverage of the New York Times from 1851 - 2003, including original images.
best resource New York Times (Current) – ELECTRONIC (AND PRINT)
via Proquest, full text of the New York Times from 1980 to present (no images). Full text of New York Times Magazine and New York Time Book Review from 1997 to present. Note that we also keep current issues in print on the first floor in current periodicals. The current week is available at the circulation desk.
Variety.com – ELECTRONIC
Select TV from the tab at the top to access daily news.
Wall Street Journal – ELECTRONIC (AND PRINT)
via Proquest.Note that we also keep current issues in print on the first floor in current periodicals. The current week is available at the circulation desk.

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment


Welcome, Sacramento Students!
1/7/09
It's great to have you in the Drexel family. Are you wondering >>>

Quick Search