Print-friendly version
  Africana Studies
 
 
 
  Facts and Background Information
African American Almanac -- ELECTRONIC
9th edition from 2003
Contains current and historical information on African American history and culture, arranged in 28 topical chapters such as Politics, Religion, Black Nationalism, etc.
best resource Companion to African-American Studies -- PRINT
REF E184.7 .C65 2006
In-depth scholarly essays on the history and issues of African American studies.
best resource Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History -- PRINT and ELECTRONIC
REF E185 .E54 1996
Covers all aspects of the African-American experience from 1619 to the present day; presents biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces in over 2,300 articles. First edition available in print; electronic version includes articles from both 1st and 2nd editions.
Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage -- PRINT
REF E185 .A455 2000
Brief articles on history, politics, culture, and the people and places significant oto Arrican Americans and African heritage.
Encyclopedia of African American Society -- ELECTRONIC
Overviews of important people, concepts, and events related to African American society.
best resource Encyclopedia of Black Studies -- ELECTRONIC
Brief overviews of topics and concepts of interest to Black Studies -- from Africology to the Yoruba Tradition. Each article contains a list of books and articles suggested for "Further Reading."
The Routledge Atlas of African American History -- PRINT
REF E185 .E125 2000
Provides brief overviews of significant themes and events in African American history, such as "The African Past," "Nat Turner's Rebellion," "Buffalo Soldiers and the Indian Wars," "Voting Rights," and "The Harlam Renaissance." Each article accompanied by vicual illustrations including maps and pictures.
 
  Finding Books
  Searching the catalog for books on Africana studies:
  Try an LC subject search: African Diaspora
Art, Black
Civil Rights
  Try a keyword search: blacks and education
nationalism and african american
psychology and civil rights
  Try an author search: Asante, Molefi
King, Martin Luther
X, Malcolm
  [Top]
 
  Finding Articles
Alternative Press Index -- ELECTRONIC
This database indexes over 250 alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newpapers and magazines including such titles as The Simmons College Journal of Women of African Descent, Race & Class: A Journal for Black and Third World Liberation, and Souls: A Critical Journal of Black Politics, Culture, and Society.
best resource America: History and Life -- ELECTRONIC
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes a wide range of historical titles including African American Review, Contributions in Black Studies, and Journal of Black Studies.  Can be searched simultaneously with Historical Abstracts (see below).
Expanded Academic -- ELECTRONIC
Multidisciplinary database covering over 1400 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Date coverage is from 1980 to the present.  Titles indexed include Black Collegian, Black Enterprise and Black Political Economy.
best resource Historical Abstracts -- ELECTRONIC
Historical coverage of the world (excluding the United States and Canada). Titles indexed include African Affairs, African Economic History, and Black Scholar: Journal of Black Studies and Research. Can be searched simultaneously with America: History and Life (see above).
best resource JSTOR -- ELECTRONIC
This full text journal archive includes journals from a broad range of disciplines including education, history, political science, and sociology. Eight journals in African American Studies and nineteen journals in African Studies are indexed.
Left Index -- ELECTRONIC
Indexes over 774 sources from the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia, including 250 websites. Limited to two concurrent users.
best resource Project Muse -- ELECTRONIC
Full text journal collection covering 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Includes ten journals in African Studies such as Africa Today and History in Africa.
  [Top]
 
  Biography
best resource Biography Resource Center -- ELECTRONIC
Hundreds of biographies of important figures in politics, the professions, sports & entertainment from around the world. Search by name or use the "Biographical Facts Search" to browse by nationality, ethnicity, gender, occupation, etc.
Black Americans in Autobiography: An Annotated Bibliography of Autobiographies and Autobiographical Books Written Since the Civil War -- PRINT
REF Z1361.N39 B67 1984
Brief entries for hundreds of autobiographical writings by Black Americans. Each entry contains a short description of the writer’s background and significance. Indexes provide access to entries by activities, experiences, occupations, and professions.
Twentieth-Century African-American Writers and Artists -- PRINT
REF NX512.3.A35 H43 1990
Each entry contains a short biography, an overview of the critical reception of the person’s work, and listings of works by and works about the person. For artists, there are also listings of exhibitions and collections.
  [Top]
 
  Africana Studies Departments/Related Resources
best resource Drexel University - Africana Studies Program -- WWW
Homepage for the Drexel Africana Studies Program.  Learn what courses are being offered in the program and how to complete a minor in Africana Studies.
Temple University - African American Studies Department -- WWW
The first Ph.D. granting Department of African-American Studies in the world, and the only one which offers B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. degrees.
University of Pennsylvania - African Studies Center -- WWW
Offers major, minor, and graduate certificate in African Studies. The African Language Program provides courses in African languages and cultures to undergraduate and graduate students at the University of Pennsylvania and neighboring colleges and universities.
University of Pennsylvania - Center for Africana Studies -- WWW
Penn's program offers both a major and minor in Africana Studies, as well as a calendar and listing of local programs and resources.
  [Top]
 
  Selected Web Resources
African American History and Culture -- WWW
Smithsonian Institution page containing links to online exhibits and other information in the Smithsonian collections related to African American history and culture.
African Studies Internet Resources -- WWW
High quality site providing links to all the best sites related to the scholarly study of Africa. Maintained by the African Studies Department of Columbia University Libraries.
best resource The Black Population in the United States -- WWW
Statistical data from the U.S. Census Bureau specifically related to the Black population of the United States.
National Council for Black Studies -- WWW
The leading organization of Black Studies professionals in the world.
best resource Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture -- WWW
A specialized library within the New York Public Library system, the Shomburg Center is devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the history and experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world.
best resource African American Museum in Philadelphia -- WWW
The first institution built by a major United States city to house and interpret the life and work of African Americans.
Larry Milliken

Larry Milliken
Librarian for Humanities/Social Sciences

Hours M-F: 
8:30 am - 5:30 pm

Hagerty Library, Room 131
larry.milliken@drexel.edu
215-895-2765

IM me at:
AOL IM: DrexelHumSoc
Yahoo IM: Drexel.HumSoc
GoogleTalk: Drexel.HumSoc
Meebo IM: Drexel.HumSoc

OR



Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755
Content Editor:
Larry Milliken
Last Content Update:
August 21 , 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 21-Aug-2008e --> Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections