Print-friendly version
  Architecture
 
 
 
  Finding Books
  Searching the catalog for books on architecture:
  Try a keyword search: Frank Lloyd Wright
modern and architect**
  Try a keyword search: Architecture, Modern
  Try a keyword search:
General Architecture NA 50-60
Architectural History NA 190 - 1614
Architectural Theory NA 2500
Architectural Details NA 2840
City Planning and Aesthetics NA 9000 - 9428
Building Construction TH 1 - 9745
Landscape Architecture SB 469 - 476.4
  [Top]
 
  Finding Articles

Architectural Index -- ELECTRONIC
Covers 19 periodicals in architecture (mostly American). Searchable or browseable by subject categories, building type, architect/designer's name, combination of architect/designer and/or location and/or magazine.

best resource Avery Index -- ELECTRONIC
The Avery is the largest database devoted to architecture and design journals. All architects should be familiar with this database.

best resource JSTOR -- ELECTRONIC
Includes full-text of all articles. Architectural journals include Perspecta, Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, Journal of Architectural Education, Grey Room, Design Issues, Assemblage plus 7 more. Note that JSTOR employs a "moving wall" of publication dates. Therefore, the most recent years are not included.

BuilidingGreen.com -- ELECTRONIC
This electronic resource includes articles from Environmental Building News as well as GreenSpec, a convenient way to search for environmentally conscious building materials.

Places -- WWW
Places, Forum of Design for the Public Realm, is a peer reviewed journal that incorporates writings from a variety of fields in design, the arts and social sciences. It is published by the Design History Foundation. Online access to its archives is available here: http://www.places-journal.org/issues/. You can browse each issue or use the search box to search for your topic across multiple issues.

  [Top]
 
  Finding Images

ARTstor -- ELECTRONIC
ARTstor is an image database that includes art and architecture. Free Registration is necessary for saving images on ARTstor, but not for searching the collection.


  [Top]
 
  Finding a Building (pictures, floor plans, sections)

best resource Search the catalog (http://innopac.library.drexel.edu/search/) -- ELECTRONIC
Search by the name of the building or architect. There may be an entire book on your building. If not, broaden your search to look for monographs on the architect, and then check that book's index for the building you are interested in.


Avery Index -- ELECTRONIC
Again, search by keyword for the name of the building or architect. Click here for a guide on how to use the Avery Index.


Philadelphia Architects and Buildings -- ELECTRONIC
If you are searching for a building in Philadelphia or its surrounding areas, try using the Philadelphia Architects and Buildings (PAB) database. You can search by building or architect name, or by street for historical information on local buildings. The database helps you locate drawings and images at local archives, including the University of Pennsylvania’s Architectural Archives. You can access the database at http://www.philadelphiabuildings.org/pab/. You can register for a free account, or search as a guest.


The Details of Modern Architecture -- PRINT
If the building you are researching is included in this book, then you are in luck! This is an excellent 2- volume set including detailed drawings of famous buildings from 1890 - 1932. You will need to check each volume's index to see if it include your particular building.


  [Top]
 
  Finding Building Types

Architectural Graphic Standards -- PRINT
This publication includes general planning and design data. See Section 20 for Building Types and Space Planning. The print copy is found in Reference, call number NA 2840 R36x 1994.


Building Type Basics Series -- PRINT
This series includes 12 different building types and provides a good overview of their spatial and programmatic requirements.


best resource Time Saver Standards for Building Types -- PRINT
NA 2760 D42 2001
This book includes planning guidelines, criteria and standards for a large range of building types. It covers program and square footage requirements as well as sample space planning configurations.


  [Top]
 
  Finding Construction Details

1001 traditional construction details -- PRINT
call number TH151 .M68 2001


Architectural details : classic pages from Architectural graphic standards, 1940-1980 -- PRINT
From the same publisher as Architectural Graphic Standards - a "best-of" collection.


best resource Architectural Graphic Standards -- PRINT and ELECTRONIC
This publication (available electronically as well as in print) includes specific details for construction. The print copy is found in Reference, call number NA 2840 R36x 1994.


best resource Building Construction Illustrated -- PRINT
call number TH146 .C52 2001


Detail : Review of architecture and construction details -- PRINT
This is a print journal that you will find in the Current Journals section of the library, by the Reserve Desk. This journal, published in Germany but with English text, provides excellent images of and corresponding details for recent buildings.


  [Top]
 
  Finding Building Codes

best resource MadCad -- ELECTRONIC
MAD CAD is a reference database online, containing building codes, knowledge-based design solutions, and guidelines to meet the codes. MAD CAD will provide you access to cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes including BOCA, the UBC, the SBC, and IBC. It also includes state codes for Virginia and Maryland.


International Buildng Code 2003 -- PRINT
Call Number REF KF 5701 I58 2002
The print version of the IBC. Available in the Reference Section on the first floor of Hagerty Library. Note, however, that the 2006 edition is available in MadCad (see above).


Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2000 International Building Code -- PRINT
Call Number TH 420 C49 2003
A great explanation of building codes by Francis D.K. Ching.


  [Top]
 
  Additional Information

best resource For more specific information on how to use the library's architecture-related resources, see this Architecture Overview pdf.

To access the links from my presentation on Libraries of the Future, click HERE.


Ann Keith Kennedy
Ann Keith Kennedy
Librarian for Media Arts & Design

Hours M-F: 8am-5pm


Hagerty Library, Room 135
akk25@drexel.edu
215-895-2772



Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Content editor
Content Editor Email:
Content editor email
Last Content Update:
March 28, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 05-May-2008e --> Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections