| |
Print-friendly version
|
| |
|
| |
|
| |
|
| |
|
| |
|
| |
Searching the catalog for books on art and art history: |
| |
Try a keyword search: |
paris and art |
| |
Try a subject search: |
Art, French |
| |
Or browse the stacks by call number: |
| N |
Visual Arts |
| NA |
Architecture |
| NB |
Sculpture |
| NC |
Drawing, Design, Illustration |
| ND |
Painting |
| NE |
Print Media |
| NK |
Decorative Arts |
|
| |
[Top] |
| |
|
| |
|
| |
Art Bibliographies Modern -- ELECTRONIC
Source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including photography since its invention. Includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing. |
|
Art Full Text -- ELECTRONIC
Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in 1997. It continues Art Index Retrospective. |
| |
Art Index Retrospective -- ELECTRONIC
Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world, and includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. It is the predecessor to Art Full Text. |
|
JSTOR -- ELECTRONIC
Includes full-text of all articles. Art and Art History journals include Art Bulletin, Art Journal, Burlington Magazine, Journal of Design History, Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin, October, Winterthur Portfolio, plus 30 more. Note that JSTOR employs a "moving wall" of publication dates. Therefore, the most recent years are not included. |
| |
[Top] |
| |
|
| |
|
|
ARTstor -- ELECTRONIC
ARTstor is an image database that includes art and architecture. Free Registration is necessary for saving images on ARTstor, but not for searching the collection. |
| |
[Top] |
| |
|
| |
|
|
Search the catalog (http://innopac.library.drexel.edu/search/) -- ELECTRONIC
Search by the name of the artist or work. There may be an entire book on your artist or painting. If not, broaden your search to look for monographs on the artist or art movement, and then check that book's index for the subject that you are interested in. |
| |
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists -- ELECTRONIC |
| |
Encyclopedia of Sculpture -- PRINT
3 volume set covering all aspects of sculpture. Especially good for Ancient and Egyptian sculpture. Contains in-depth entries with bibliographies. In our REFERENCE section, with call number NB 198 E53 2004 |
|
Encyclopedia of World Art -- PRINT
16 volume set with index. Includes lengthy articles with excellent bibliographies on most subjects. Use the index (volume 15) to help find your topic. In our REFERENCE section, with call number N31 E533. |
|
Grove Dictionary of Art -- ELECTRONIC and PRINT
This classic reference series is also available electronically, which makes it easy to search by keyword. The Grove is especially useful due to the bibliographies included for each subject. Once you have found the entry you are looking for, look for the Bibliography link in the left hand menu. Then, check our catalog to see if we have any of the books listed. The print version is located in our REFERENCE section, with Call Number N31 .D5 1996 |
| |
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Art -- PRINT
Comprehensive 5 volume set covering major and minor artists/works with shorter entries. In our REFERENCE section, call Number N 33 M23 |
| |
[Top] |
| |
|
| |
|
|
Artspeak: A guide to contemporary ideas, movements and buzzwords, 1945-present -- PRINT
REF N6490 .A78 1986
Useful for looking up a quick definition |
|
Artspoke: a guide to modern ideas, movements, and buzzwords, 1848-1944 -- PRINT
REF N6447 .A85 1993
Useful for looking up a quick definition. |
|
The Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms -- ELECTRONIC |
| |
A Dictionary of Modern Design -- ELECTRONIC and PRINT
REF NK1165 .W66 2004 |
| |
The Oxford Dictionary of Art -- ELECTRONIC and PRINT
REF N33 .O93 1988
Short entries covering major works, artists and important terms. |
|
|