Search the Library Website:
 
  Print-friendly version
  Biodiversity
 
 
 
  Finding Books
  Searching the catalog for books on biodiversity:
  Try a keyword search: biodiversity AND north america
biodiversity AND glob*
  Try a subject search: biological diversity - conservation
ecology - insects
  Browse the stacks: Biological Diversity -- QH541
Ecosystem Management -- QH75
  [Top]
 
  Finding Articles
best resource Biological Sciences - ELECTRONIC
An interdisciplinary database that offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
BioOne - ELECTRONIC
BioOne is the product of an innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector, and offers an aggregation of full-texts, high-impact bioscience research journals. Most of these titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers, and, until now, have been available only in printed form.
best resource Columbia Earthscape - ELECTRONIC
Provides current information and teaching tools concerning the environmental aspects of earth sciences. Earthscape is organized into four main topics: Research, Education, Earth Affairs magazine, and Links & Resources.
ProQuest - ELECTRONIC
Provides searching platform for a number of periodical databases covering Business, Science, Humanities and Social Sciences. Delivers more than 4,000 full-text publications from over 3,000 publishing partners.
  [Top]
 
  Handbooks and Encyclopedias
Biodiversity: A Reference Handbook - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor  QH541.15.B56 B435 1998
The handbook covers the multiple issues surrounding biological diversity with an overview, a chronology, biographical sketches, statistics, documents, a directly of organizations along with their web sites, a glossary, and a listing of print and electronic sources of information
best resource Handbook of biodiversity methods : survey, evaluation and monitoring - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor  QH541.15.B56 H35 2005
BRIM (Biodiversity Resources for Inventorying and Monitoring)- WWW
The world's largest publicly accessible database of vascular flora and vertebrate fauna species inventories of protected areas. As of February 2000, species inventories from over 640 protected sites in 87 countries are included.
ENVIROnetBASE - ELECTRONIC
Collection of environmental science handbooks published by CRC Press. Search results include full bibliographic and citation information, links to both PDF full text content, and help screens. Full text includes original data, facts, figures, graphs, equations, illustrations, charts, and much more. Comprehensive selection of references that are cross-referenced, fully searchable, hyperlinked, and cross-indexed. New books are added monthly.
Dictionary of Ecology - ELECTRONIC
Searchable dictionary database of ecology and the environmental sciences, covering topics from plant and animal physiology, animal behavior, evolution, environmental pollution, and conservation to climatology, meteorology, geomorphology, and oceanography.
best resource World Atlas of Biodiversity - PRINT
Hagerty Reference  QH541.15.B56 G762 2002
Life on Earth - PRINT
Hagerty Reference QH541.15.B56 L54 2002 
Facts on File Dictionary of Ecology - PRINT
Hagerty Reference QH540.4 .F35 2004    
Elsevier's Dictionary of the Genera of Life- PRINT
Hagerty Reference QH83.T77 1999
An alphabetical compilation of most of the recognized General of Life on earth, of the Animal and Vegetable kingdoms, including bacteria and other parasitic forms of existence.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology - PRINT
Hagerty Reference  QH540.4.E52 1995 Three volumes
The encyclopedia includes over 154 entries and most of the entries are over ten pages long. Each entry includes a bibliography and glossaries. It is an excellent first resource to begin your search.
Handbook of biodiversity valuation : a guide for policy makers - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor QH541.15.B56 H36 2002
  [Top]
 
  Selected Web Resources
Biodiversity Hotspots - WWW
From the Center for Applied Biodiversity Science, Conservation International.
best resource NatureServe - WWW
Peggy Dominy
Peggy Dominy
Librarian for Sciences and Math

Hours M-F: 7:30am-4:30pm


Hagerty Library, Room 129
dominymf@drexel.edu
215-895-2754



Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Peggy Dominy
Content Editor Email:
dominymf@drexel.edu
Last Content Update:
April 8, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 29-Jul-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections