Print-friendly version
  Biomedical Engineering Jobs
 
 
 
  Selected Web Resources
Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation - http://www.aami.org/-- WWW
AAMI is dedicated to increasing the understanding, safety, and efficacy of medical instrumentation. Browse their Career Center at http://www.aami.org/career/index.html
best resource Biomedical Engineering Society - http://www.bmes.org/ -- WWW
In response to a manifest need to provide a society that gave equal status to representatives of both biomedical and engineering interests, the Biomedical Engineering Society was incorporated in Illinois on February 1, 1968. As stated in the Articles of Incorporation, the purpose of the Society is: “To promote the increase of biomedical engineering knowledge and its utilization.” Access their job board at http://www.jobtarget.com/home/index.cfm?site_id=135
BMEnet: The Biomedical Engineering Network - http://www.bmenet.org/ -- WWW
This excellent web resource is sparse in design but full in content of information. Included on the site are links to international BME consortiums and societies, conferences, academic grants, and career tips. Browse their job postings at http://www.bmenet.org/BMEnet/db?action=list_by_keyword&keyword=job&ncolumns=1
ISMRM: The International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine - http://www.ismrm.org/ -- WWW
The International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine is a nonprofit professional association devoted to furthering the development and application of magnetic resonance techniques in medicine and biology. The Society holds annual scientific meetings and sponsors other major educational and scientific workshops. Post your CV & browse their job listings at http://www.ismrm.org/jobs/
MBBNet: Minnesota Biomedical and Bioscience Network - http://www.mbbnet.umn.edu/ -- WWW
MBBNet is an effort to network biomedical, bioscience, and related science-based industries, to connect faculty, students, and entrepreneurs with these industries, and to market Minnesota globally over the Internet.  See their 'directory menu' for a lists of companies in the industry.
best resource Medibix Component Database - www.medibix.com -- WWW
A global directory of businesses that manufacture medical, pharmaceutical, diagnostic, laboratory, and scientific products such as pumps, valves, filters, motors, sensors, etc.
Medical Device Link - http://www.devicelink.com/ -- WWW
Medical Device Link bills itself as “the platform website for the medical device industry.” Browse their CareerCenter at http://careercenter.devicelink.com/
Nanomedicine Research Portal - http://www.nano-biology.net/-- WWW
Check this website for up-to-date news, scholarly articles and job postings (http://www.nano-biology.net/jobsarchive.php) in the field of nanomedicine.
The National Academies: Science & Engineering - http://www.nas.edu/ -- WWW
The National Academies have published several reports related to career planning, including a series of publications ranking U.S. doctoral programs in several different disciplines. Other topics include scientific ethics and the experiences of women in science, engineering and medicine. Find the reports at http://nationalacademies.org/careerguides.html
The National Institute for Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering - http://www.nibib1.nih.gov/ -- WWW
The NIBIB is an Institute within the National Institutes of Health (NIH) devoted to merging the physical and biological sciences to develop new technologies that improve health.   This website contains information about the organization and its mission, research and training, grant opportunities,  breaking news, publications and events.
NewScientist Jobs - http://www.newscientistjobs.com/jobs -- WWW
Use this site to search for jobs by region, scientific discipline and job sector.
Pennsylvania Bio - http://www.pa-bio.org/ -- WWW
Pennsylvania Bio brings together a variety of PA's bioscience companies - research, emerging companies, mature industry and global pharmaceuticals, to create a unique and vibrant community.  A listing of member companies can be found at: http://www.pennsylvaniabio.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=54&Itemid=60.
Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology Society of North America  - http://www.resna.org/-- WWW
RESNA is an interdisciplinary association of people with a common interest in technology and disability. Their purpose is to improve the potential of people with disabilities to achieve their goals through the use of technology. They serve that purpose by promoting research, development, education, advocacy and provision of technology; and by supporting the people engaged in these activities. Browse their JobBank at http://www.resna.org/PracInAT/JobBank/index.php
  [Top]
 
  Databases
Use these databases to generate lists of potential employers by geographic location and industry.

CorpTech (Accessible only from computers on-campus) -- ELECTRONIC
This is a directory of science and technology companies. Under ‘Location’ select your metro-MSA area by scrolling through the list or entering a zip code. Search by ‘Corptech Industry’ or SIC/NAICS code. To do a keyword search select ‘Free Text Tech Search.’ 
best resource D&B Million Dollar Database -- ELECTRONIC
Company directory with over one million US public and private businesses. Company records include industry information with up to 8-digit SICs, number of employees, annual sales, type of ownership, and biographies of principal executives.
Hoover's -- ELECTRONIC
This database contains a wealth of information on a wide variety of companies. On the main page under ‘tools’ select 'Build A List.' Under 'Company Location' enter your desired geographic location.  Under 'Industry' enter the SIC code or ‘Hoover's Industry Name’ that best describes your desired industry. 
  [Top]
 
  SIC Codes
These codes are to be used in conjunction with the databases listed above.

SIC stands for "Standard Industrial Classification." Each industry is assigned an identifiable SIC code number by the US Government.

  • 2833 Medicinal Chemicals & Botanical Products
  • 2834 Pharmaceuticals
  • 3841 Surgical & Medical Instruments & Apparatus
  • 3842 Orthopedic, Prosthetic & Surgical Appliances
  • 3845 Electromedical & Electrotherapeutic Apparatus
  • 5047 Medical, Dental & Hospital Equipment & Supplies Wholesale
  • 8221 Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools
  • 8731 Commercial Physical and Biological Research
  • 8733 Noncommercial Research Organizations
  • 8734 Testing Laboratories
  [Top]
 
  Books
All books listed below can be found at the Career Library (3201 Arch St., Suite 222) unless otherwise noted. Use the call number (listed below the title) to help you find the book on the shelf.

* "E-BOOK" means the full-text of the item is available online through the library catalog.
* "Bellet" books are located in the Steinbright Career Development Center office on the 2nd floor of the Bellet Building, Center City Campus.  These items are for 'Library Use Only' and may not be checked out.
* All other items may be checked out for 28 days.
Careers in Biotech and Pharmaceuticals -- PRINT
HF 5382.75 .B568 2002
Engineering Your Future: The Non-Technical Side of Professional Practice in Engineering and Other Technical Fields -- PRINT
T 56.8 .W36 2000
Great Jobs for Biology Majors -- PRINT
QH 314 .C35 2004
Bellet QH 314 .C35 2004
Is There an Engineer Inside You?: A Comprehensive Guide to Career Decisions in Engineering -- PRINT
TA 157 .B294 2004
Opportunities in Biological Science Careers -- PRINT/E-BOOK
QH 314 .W525 2004
Bellet QH 314 .W525 2004
Opportunities in Biotechnology Careers (2001) -- E-BOOK
Opportunities in Engineering Careers -- PRINT/E-BOOK
TA 157 .B342 2003
Opportunities in Pharmacy Careers -- PRINT
RS 122.5 .G3 2004
Bellet RS 122.5 .G3o 1998
Peterson's Job Opportunities: Engineering and Computer Science -- PRINT
TA 157 .P445 2000
Peterson's Job Opportunities: Health and Science -- PRINT
R 690 .P45 2000
Bellet W 21.5 P485 1999
Real-Resumes for Engineering Jobs -- PRINT
TA 157 .R35 2004  
Resumes for Engineering Careers: With Sample Cover Letters -- PRINT
TA 157 .R47 2006
The WetFeet Insider Guide to the Top 20 Biotechnology and Pharmaceutical Firms (2004) -- E-BOOK
Vault Career Guide to Biotechnology -- PRINT
TP 248.22 .M68 2004
Jenny Roberts

TBA
Library Assistant for Career Services

Office Hours
Please call for an appointment: 215-895-2185.


Career Library Hours:
TBA

3201 Arch St., Suite 222
215-895-2045




Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Content editor
Content Editor Email:
Content editor email
Last Content Update:
March 28, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 11-Jun-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections