Drexel Logo
Home
Contents
Index
Directories
Contact Us
Admissions
Drexel University Libraries
Hours
Locations
Contact Us
  

BMES 451/651 - The Body Synthetic

Information Literacy

 

Step One: Plagiarism Quiz (Printable - PDF)

Step Two: Plagiarism Resource Guide

 

Background

Print (in Hagerty Library collection)

Cardiovascular engineering - RD597 .C37x (4 vol)

The biomedical engineering handbook - R856.15 .B56 2000 (2 vol.)

Biomedical polymers and polymer therapeutics - R857.P6 B564 2001

Biomaterials and bioengineering handbook - R857.M3 W57 2000

Biomaterials engineering and devices - R857.M3 B5694 2000 (2 vol.)

Methods of tissue engineering - TP248.27.A53 M48 2002

The Williams dictionary of biomaterials - R857.M3 W55 1999

Important Research Guides

Drug Information
Provides selected electronic databases, electronic journals, electronic texts and some important reference works

Biomedical Engineering
An important guide that provides gateway to major resources

Electronic

Biomedical Handbooks (EngNetBase) Each title includes an abstract and table of contents as well as full text.

ChemVillage Useful for the chemistry aspect of biomechanics

Knovel Search results include full bibliographic and citation information, links to full text content.

OVID Provides searching platform for a number of databases covering Biomedical Science and Engineering.

ScienceDirect Searchable by keyword or browseable by subject; especially useful are Biochemistry, Medicine and Materials Science

Stedman's Medical Dictionary Select this title from the menu bar and enter search terms

Electronic Books Organized By Subject:





Library Catalog

NOTE: Search in the library catalog to find both print and electronic books

Adavanced Keyword Searching
For example, using 'tissue engineering' will locate both print and electronic books.

For example, the electronic book

Encyclopedia of biomaterials and biomedical engineering [electronic resource]

Popular Press Sources

Business and Industry This database includes some coverage of the popular press and major newspapers

Lexis-Nexis Nearly 5,000 publications on the service span news, financial, medical, and legal information.

Newspaper List Exhaustive list of newspapers available full text to Drexel. Includes many regional papers.

Proquest Contains full-text and citations for articles in a wide range of scholarly and popular press

Scholarly Sources (What is a scholarly source?)

BasicBiosis Indexes the basic core of life science journals, including popular and scholarly science journals.

Ei Village Provides abstracts and detailed records; the tutorial on finding full-text will help you find articles from citations.

IEEE XPlore Choose Basic or Advanced search in the left-hand column and enter keywords; most articles are full-text with abstracts.

Kluwer Complete tables of content, abstracts and full-text articles from more than 650 journals; keyword searchable

MD Consult Peer-reviewed resources from over 50 publishers, medical societies, and government agencies. User registration required.

MEDLINE via OVID   MEDLINE is NLM's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the preclinical sciences.

ProQuest Nursing Journals Contains full text of articles from 250+ leading journals in nursing and allied health.

PubMed Includes citations and abstracts; the tutorial on finding full-text will help you find articles from citations

Web of Science Search the Science Citation Index with keywords and topics

Materials not in Hagerty Library can be obtained through E-ZBorrow or Interlibrary Loan . If you need a book, search E-ZBorrow; these requests often take less than a week to be filled. Request articles by filling out an online form for Interlibrary Loan.

For more help, contact:
Jay Bhatt, Engineering Librarian, at bhattjj@drexel.edu or 215-895-1873
Josh Roberts , IRT, at jcr382@drexel.edu or 215-895-2782.

 

BMES - The Body Synthetic 451/651
Content Editor: Josh Roberts jcr382@drexel.edu, Jay Bhatt bhattjj@drexel.edu
On This Page:
Related Links:
Quick Search Links:
All Electronic Resources
Databases by Subject/by Title
Journal Titles (Print and Electronic)
Library Catalog
Course Reserves

Check your Library Record
Ask a Question
How do I . . . ? (FAQs)
Search Library Website
Site Map/Index
Search the Web

          Modified: 17-Jan-2006
Home spacer Contents spacer Index spacer Contact Us spacer Directories spacer Feedback/Corrections spacer