Drexel University Libraries
home home catalog resources study guides services about the libraries
Drexel University Libraries
                 
 
International Job Search

International Job Listings & Job Search Websites Electronic Databases
Internship Placement/ Work Authorization Creating your CV/Resume
Do some research beforehand Directories
Books

International Job Listings & Job Search Websites

Overseas Jobs by Escape Artist.com — WWW

Escape Artist provides a variety of information about living overseas.  This links to their jobs listings.

Global Gateway (Monster.com) — WWW

Search Monster.com for job opportunities around the world.

iAgora.com: iWork– WWW

Search this site for internships and entry-level jobs from 28 European countries.

iHipo: International Careers– WWW

Search for international jobs and internships.

best resource Idealist.org (from Action Without Borders) — WWW

Search for internships with nonprofit and community organizations around the world.  Click on the “Advanced searches” link at the top of the page to find the internship postings.

International Job Listing Sites — WWW

This site, maintained by the University of California Berkeley Career Center, provides a list of international job and internship search resources.

International Job Search (CareerBuilder.com) — WWW

Search CareerBuilder.com for international job opportunities by country, job type and more.

best resource Riley Guide: International Job Opportunities — WWW

This excellent guide provides links to online international job search resources by country or region.

TransitionsAbroad.com– WWW

This site provides a wealth of information on paid and volunteer work abroad, living abroad, study abroad and cultural travel overseas.  Check out the sections on International Jobs!


Internship Placement/ Work Authorization

  • There are many organizations out there that place students with paid or unpaid internships for a fee.  The following are some of the best out there.
AIESEC — WWW

AISEC is a nonprofit dedicated to promoting cultural understanding and international cooperation, and offers hundreds of management, technical, education, and development internships abroad.  You must join AISEC before you can apply for the internship program.

The American-Scandinavian Foundation — WWW

If you have found an internship independently in Scandinavia, ASF can help you secure a temporary work/residence permit.  ASF also offers training opportunities in Scandinavia for Americans aged 21 and over. Short-term placements of 2-3 months during the summer are possible for students majoring in certain fields, principally engineering, chemistry, business, and computer science.

BUNAC– WWW

The British Universities North America Club (BUNAC) specializes in work/volunteer abroad programs for people between the ages of 18 and 30.  They provide support and visa processing.  They offer programs in Australia, New Zealand, France, Ireland, Canada, Peru, South Africa, and Cambodia.

Casa de Espanol Xelaju — WWW

CEX’s Project La Pedrera offers students and non-students a variety of internship and volunteer work opportunities with an underserved, indigenous community in Guatamala.

CDS International– WWW

CDS is a nonprofit dedicated to advancing international practical training opportunities for young professionals.  They offer internship and work abroad programs in Argentina, Germany, Switzerland, and Spain.

Connect 1-2-3 Internships in South Africa– WWW

Connect-123 creates tailor-made internships in Cape Town, South Africa, for a flat program fee.

IASTE- International Association for the Exchange of Students for Technical Experience– WWW

IAESTE offers paid internships in over 30 countries in technical fields such as engineering, computer science, mathematics, natural/physical sciences, architecture, and agricultural science, for a program fee.  Application deadline is January 10th.

International Cooperative Education– WWW

ICE places students on paid international summer internships, for a fee of about $1150.  They also place students on semester-long internships.  They recommend applying by mid-March.

U.S. Department of State– WWW

Offers unpaid student internships, about half of which are located abroad in US embassies.

  • The following websites are directories of programs and organizations that offer volunteer/internship opportunities abroad.
Directory of Work Abroad Web Sites — WWW

This site, maintained by the International Center at the University of Michigan, includes links to both general and region-specific sites, as well as information on grants and scholarships.

Intern Abroad– WWW

Directory of internship opportunities abroad.  Search by country and/or type of internship.

International Opportunities Program- Internships– WWW

This website, managed by UC Irvine’s Center for International Education, is a great resource for finding internship programs and placement services.

TransitionsAbroad.com– WWW

This site provides a wealth of information on paid and volunteer work abroad, living abroad, study abroad and cultural travel overseas.  Check out the sections on Internships Abroad!


Do some research beforehand

The CIA World Factbook– WWW

A great resource to find basic information on countries around the world.

Escape Artist — WWW

This site provides a variety of information about living overseas, including country profiles and international job listings by location and industry.

Eurograduate — WWW

If you’re planning to work outside the United States, this site can be very helpful. Choose from a number of countries in Europe for information on how the application process might work. There is also country-specific information about application letters and resumes (called Curriculum Vitae or CV), including mock CVs.

Global Road Warrior– WWW

Global Road Warrior is a comprehensive business travel, telecommunications, and business culture reference that features over 175 different countries.  It provides information such business culture, being a businesswoman, essential terms to know, and much much more!

Going Global Career Guides — E-BOOK

Country-specific information about job search resources, employment trends, work permits and visas, application guidelines, cultural advice and much more!

International Business Etiquette Resources– Research Guide
IRS: International Taxpayer– WWW

If you work abroad, you still need to report your worldwide income on your US tax return.  Find out more on being an international taxpayer on this website.


Books

All books listed below can be found at the Careers Collection and checked out for 28 days unless otherwise noted. Use the call number (listed below the title) to help you find the book on the shelf.
The Big Guide to Living and Working Overseas — PRINT

HF 5549.5.E45 B54 2004

The Directory of Jobs & Careers Abroad — PRINT

HF 5549.5.E45 P4 2005

The Directory of Websites for International Jobs — PRINT

HF 5549.5.E45 K734 2002

GenXpat: The Young Professionals Guide to Making a Successful Life Abroad — PRINT

HF 5549.5.R47 M345 2005

The Global Citizen: A Guide to Creating an International Life and Career – PRINT

G 151 .K63 2002

How to Live Your Dream of Volunteering Overseas — PRINT

HN 49.V64 C65 2002

Bellet HN 49.V64 C65 2002

International Job Finder — PRINT

HF 5549.5.E45 L38 2002

International Jobs: Where They Are and How to Get Them — PRINT

HF 5549.5.E45 S44 2003

The Rough Guide to Crete 7– PRINT

DF901 .C8 R68 2007

Work Worldwide: International Career Strategies for the Adventurous Job Seeker — PRINT

HF 5382.55 .M83 2000

Work Your Way Around the World — PRINT

HF 5549.5.E45 G74 2005

Working Abroad: Finding International Internships and Entry-level Jobs – PRINT

HF 5549.E45 W67 2006


Electronic Databases

Use these electronic library databases to generate lists of international companies by industry and country.

Business & Company Resource Center

To generate a list of international companies, select ‘Advanced Search.’  Under ‘Content Area’ select ‘Company Profiles/Products.’  To specify location, select ‘State/Country’ from the drop-down menu. To specify industry, select ‘Industry Description,’ ‘SIC code,’ or ‘Keyword’ from the drop-down menu.

best resource Hoover’s

To generate a list of international companies, select ‘ ‘Build A List’ on the right-hand side of the screen.  Under ‘Company Location’ select your country of choice from the Country menu.  Under ‘Industry’ enter the appropriate SIC code or choose an industry from the list of Hoover’s Industry Names.

best resource Uniworld

Use this electronic company directory to create lists of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countires and Foreign Firms Operating in the U.S. It’s easy to use and searchable by country, industry and much more!


Creating your CV/Resume

Curriculum vitae, or CVs as they are often called, are another name for resumes.  Most international companies prefer CVs, which are longer and more detailed than US-style resumes.  US companies in other countries typically still expect a US-style resume.
The Global Resume and CV Guide — PRINTHagerty Careers G151 .K63 2002
How to Prepare Your Curriculum Vitae –PRINTHagerty Careers HF5383 .J24 2003
Best Resumes and CVs for International Jobs: your passport to the international job market –PRINTHagerty Careers HF5383 .K685 2002
The Big Guide to Living and Working Overseas– PRINTHagerty Careers HF5549.5 .E45 B54 2004See Chapter 24, International Resumes.


Company & Internship Directories

Europages– WWW

Use this business directory site to search for companies in Europe by business sector , products & services or theme.

The directories listed below can be found at the Careers Collection unless otherwise noted. Directories are for ‘Library Use Only’ and may not be checked out.

best resource Directory of International Internships — PRINT

Ref LC 1072.I58 D575 2003

The Internship Bible (Princeton Review) — PRINT

Ref LC 1072.I58 I46 2005

Bellet HF 5549.5 .T7 I61 2004

* See “Internships by Location – Abroad” section in the back of the book.

Peterson’s Internships — PRINT

Ref L 901 .I66 2005

Bellet L 901 I66  2004

* See International Internship Appendix in the back of the book.

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment


Becoming a Product Designer
6/29/09
Careers Pick of the Week: Becoming a Product Designer: a guide to careers >>>

Quick Search


Chat requires JavaScript.