image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Fashion, Graphic, and Interior Design

Fashion
Graphic Design
Interior Design
Industry Codes
Books

Fashion

24/seven– WWW

This site offers full-time and freelance job listings in the beauty, fashion, home furnishing, marketing, and retails segments, for creative professionals.

Daily Fashion Jobs– WWW

This fashion jobs blog features great internships in all sectors of the fashion world, in addition to occasional articles and interviews.

Ecofashion World: Jobs– WWW

This UK website features mostly full-time jobs.  The EcoFashion Guide is also a great resource where you can find brands, designers, stores, and more- great for tracking down potential employers.

EcoStreet– WWW

Looking for American ethical fashion brands and designers?  Look no further than this directory.

Ethical Fashion Directory– WWW

The UK’s guardian has published an excellent ethical fashion directory.  Excellent, excellent- but limited to the UK.

Fashion Career Center- WWW

This website includes a job board, information on fashion design schools, career advice, and fashion news and articles.

Fashion Industry Public Relations Firms– WWW

A listing of fashion PR companies from New York, California, Georgia, and Canada.

fashion net job listings– WWW

Check out their listings of positions, freelance projects, and internships.

Free Fashion Internships– WWW

Created by a former fashion intern who wanted to make top-tier fashion internship listings available to everyone.  Positions range from PR to design and more!

HauteNet– WWW

HauteNet is a global professional network and job board for the fashion industry.

Style Careers– WWW

Find a job in the fashion industry. Includes internships and entry level positions.

Women’s Wear Daily Careers– WWW

WWD Careers allows you to search and browse for jobs (both full-time and internships) in the fashion industry, from accounting to merchandising to marketing.

Graphic Design

American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA)– WWW

AIGA is the professional association for design and has more than 30 local chapters.  Explore their wealth of resources or check out their job listings.

Mediabistro– WWW

Mediabistro is a website for career and community for media professionals.  You can narrow their job listings down to Design/Art/Photo under Industry, or checkout the Freelance Marketplace.

Philly Creative Jobs– WWW

The Philly Creative Guide is “the region’s most complete directory of creative professionals, firms and resources.”  I’ve linked to their Job Board, but also try searching their Directory for potential employers.  They also feature Community Links, which are links to organizations and other resources that you should look into as well.

Interior Design

AIA Philadelphia- Find an Architect– WWW

This local chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) offers a handy tool where you can select “Interiors” under “Type of Work” and get a listing of architecture firms in Philadelphia that do Interiors work, complete with a percentage breakdown!  Also includes examples of projects and number of interior designers in the office.  Great  resource for preparing for interviews as well.  Their website also features jobs and and events.

American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) Job Bank– WWW

Great job bank, and also a great ASID for Students page.

Dezeenjobs– WWW

This job board is brought to you by the design magazine, Dezeen, and features lots of international jobs and internships.

Interior Design Jobs– WWW

Search both national and international job listings of interior design jobs.

Interior Design– WWW

An online site for Interior Design magazine.  It features a JobZone Classifieds with job postings as well as many other useful resources.

Industry Codes

Use one of our company directories or library databases such as D&B Million Dollar Database to generate a list of potential employers.  Specify your location criteria and your industry criteria.  Use one of the methods below to specify your industry of choice.

SIC Codes NAICS Codes
Fashion
  • 5611- Men’s and Boys’ Clothing & Accessories Stores
  • 5621- Women’s Clothing Stores
  • 5632- Women’s Accessory & Specialty Stores
  • 5641- Children’s & Infants’ Clothing Stores
  • 5651- Family Clothing Stores
  • 5661- Shoe Stores
  • 5699- Apparel & Accessory Stores, Miscellaneous
  • 73890411- Textile designers
  • 448110- Men’s Clothing Stores
  • 448120- Women’s Clothing Stores
  • 448130- Children’s and Infants’ Clothing Stores
  • 448140- Family Clothing Stores
  • 448150- Clothing Accessories Stores
  • 448190- Other Clothing Stores
  • 448210- Shoe Stores
  • 448310- Jewelry Stores
  • 448320- Luggage & Leather Goods Stores
  • 541490- Other Specialized Design Services (includes Clothing, Fashion, Fur, Jewelry, Textile etc)
Graphic Design
  • 7336- Commercial Art & Graphic Design
  • 541430- Graphic Design Services
Interior Design
  • 5712- Furniture Stores
  • 73890600- Interior Design Services
  • 73890601- Decoration Services for Special Events
  • 73890602- Interior Designer
  • 73890603- Interior Decorating
  • 442110- Furniture Stores
  • 541410- Interior Design Services
  • 337212- Custom Architectural Woodwork & Millwork Manufacturing

Books

All books listed below can be found at the Careers Collection unless otherwise noted. Use the call number (listed below the title) to help you find the book on the shelf.
Becoming a Graphic Designer– PRINT

NC1001 .H45 2006

Fashion Careers: The Complete Job Search Handbook– PRINT

TT507 .S26 2008

Fashion: The Industry and Its Careers– PRINT

TT507 .G73 2007

Gardner’s Guide to internships in new media– PRINT

QA76.575 .G37 2004

Real Resumes for Retailing, Modeling, Fashion & Beauty Jobs– PRINT

HF5383 .R3959 2002

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress