| How-to Sites |
| Job Search Sites |
| Books |
How-to Sites
| Career Guide: Find a Job. And Keep It! — WWW This site, from MonsterTRAK, covers topics from job searching to your first year on the job. |
||
| How to Conduct an Effective Job Search — WWW Outlines and discusses the job search process. Brought to you by Jobtrak. |
||
| |
JobHuntersBible.com — WWW Provides a wide variety of links and articles on various aspects of job-searching. This site is designed as a supplement to Richard Bolles’ book, What Color Is Your Parachute? |
|
| |
The Riley Guide — WWW Link to information about particular aspects of the job hunt. Use the table of contents on the home page, or the A-Z Index to help you locate relevant information. |
|
Job Search Sites
| |
CollegeRecruiter.com — WWW Entry-level job and internship postings, employer profiles, and other career-related tools. |
|
| Experience– WWW This site is specifically targeted to college students and young professionals. You’ll find lots of industry-specific career-related articles, internship and job postings – there’s even a networking component. *Free registration is required to view internship and job postings. |
||
| IMDiversity.com — WWW The goal of this site is to provide “access to the largest database of equal opportunity employers committed to workplace diversity.” Provides pages for the African-American, Asian-American, Hispanic-American, and Native American communities, as well as a page for women. Started by The Black Collegian magazine. |
||
| Indeed — WWW
Indeed is a “search engine for jobs” with the familiarity and simplicity of internet search engines. It “crawls” job listings from major job boards, newspapers, career websites, etc. Try the Canada, UK, and India versions of the website for international jobs. |
||
| Philadelphia Craigslist– WWW
In today’s world, Craigslist has largely supplanted newspaper want ads, at least in major metropolitan areas in the US. Choose a category or search across all jobs! You can even search for internships and part-time jobs by checking off the correct box. |
||
| Philly.Com: monster – student center — WWW Job search advice and articles specifically for college students in the Philadelphia area. Also, includes a job search box powered by monster. |
||
| SimplyHired – WWW
Simply Hired is another search engine for jobs with a simple and clean search interface that crawls multiple job websites such as Monster and Careerbuilder. Try out their cool tools! |
||
Books
| All books listed below can be found at the Careers Collection unless otherwise noted. Use the call number (listed below the title) to help you find the book on the shelf. | ||
| 10 Insider Secrets to a Winning Job Search — PRINT/E-BOOK HF 5382.7.B465 2004 |
||
| The About.com Guide to Job Searching — PRINT HF 5382.7 .D69 2006 |
||
| College Grad Job Hunter — PRINT HF 5382.7.K78 2003 Bellet HF 5382.7 .K78 1998 |
||
| The Executive Job Search (2003) — E-BOOK | ||
| The Guide to Internet Job Searching — PRINT/E-BOOK HF 5382.7 .G85 2006/07 Bellet HF 5382.7 .G85 2002/03 |
||
| Job Hunting for Dummies — PRINT HF 5382.7.M474 1999 |
||
| The Job Search Solution — PRINT HF 5382.7 .B472 2006 |
||
| Job Searching Online for Dummies — PRINT HF 5382.7 .D59 2000 Bellet HF 5382.7 .D59 1998 |
||
| Knock ‘em Dead : The Ultimate Job-Seeker’s Handbook — PRINT HF 5549.5.I6 Y37 2005 Bellet HF 5549.5 .I6 Y37 2003 |
||
| Procrastinator’s Guide to the Job Hunt — PRINT HF 5382.7.L3545 2004 |
||
| Very Quick Job Search: Get a Job in Half the Time — PRINT/E-BOOK HF 5382.75.U6 F37 2004 |
||
| Need to find more job search websites? Use this handy directory:
Weddle’s Directory of Employment-Related Internet Sites for Recruiters & Job Seekers — BOOK Ref HF5035 .W43 2007/8 |
||



