image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Biomedical Engineering

Selected Web Resources Industry Codes
Job Listings Books
Company Directories

Selected Web Resources

The National Academies: Science & Engineering– WWW
The National Academies have published several reports related to career planning, including a series of publications ranking U.S. doctoral programs in several different disciplines. Other topics include scientific ethics and the experiences of women in science, engineering and medicine.
The National Institute for Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering — WWW
The NIBIB is an Institute within the National Institutes of Health (NIH) devoted to merging the physical and biological sciences to develop new technologies that improve health.   This website contains information about the organization and its mission, research and training, grant opportunities,  breaking news, publications and events.

Job Listings

Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation– WWW
AAMI is dedicated to increasing the understanding, safety, and efficacy of medical instrumentation. Browse their Career Center here.
Biomedical Engineering Society– WWW
In response to a manifest need to provide a society that gave equal status to representatives of both biomedical and engineering interests, the Biomedical Engineering Society was incorporated in Illinois on February 1, 1968. As stated in the Articles of Incorporation, the purpose of the Society is: “To promote the increase of biomedical engineering knowledge and its utilization.” Access their job board here.  Includes some international listings.
Biomedical Engineering Career Alliance- WWW

The BME Career Alliance is a nonprofit organization that seeks to facilitate interactions between biomedical engineering programs and industry.  Resources include a National Internship List and a Job Board, but to access these you need a password.  Please contact Daisy Larios, Career Services Library Assistant, at dl423@drexel.edu or Stephanie Sullivan, Co-op Coordinator, at sulllivan@drexel.edu for the username and password.

BMEnet: The Biomedical Engineering Network– WWW
This excellent web resource is sparse in design but full in content of information. Included on the site are links to international BME consortiums and societies, conferences, academic grants, and career tips. Browse their job openings here.
DeviceSpace– WWW

DeviceSpace is the premier online community for the Medical Device and Diagnostics industries. It features a comprehensive Career Network for industry professionals and employers, and delivers through user-friendly navigation daily news, events, company profiles, stocks, blogs and other relevant information from the sector. DeviceSpace also hosts Medical Device Career Fairs throughout the US.

Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Jobs– WWW

You will find a variety of jobs suitable to biomedical engineers.  For example, try “device” as a keyword.

ISMRM: The International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine– WWW
The International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine is a nonprofit professional association devoted to furthering the development and application of magnetic resonance techniques in medicine and biology. The Society holds annual scientific meetings and sponsors other major educational and scientific workshops. Post your CV & browse their job listings here.  Includes international listings.
Medical Device Link– WWW
Medical Device Link bills itself as “the platform website for the medical device industry.” Browse their CareerCenter here.
Nanomedicine Research Portal– WWW
Check this website for up-to-date news, scholarly articles and job postings in the field of nanomedicine.
NewScientist Jobs — WWW
Use this site to search for jobs by region, scientific discipline and job sector.  Includes international listings.
Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology Society of North America– WWW
RESNA is an interdisciplinary association of people with a common interest in technology and disability. Their purpose is to improve the potential of people with disabilities to achieve their goals through the use of technology. They serve that purpose by promoting research, development, education, advocacy and provision of technology; and by supporting the people engaged in these activities. Browse their JobBank here.
Society for Biomaterials– WWW

The Society For Biomaterials is a professional society which promotes advances in all phases of materials research and development by encouragement of cooperative educational programs, clinical applications, and professional standards in the biomaterials field.  Check out their Career Center for jobs in biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, medical devices, nanobiotechnology, and the life sciences.

Company Directories

Use these websites to find online directories of companies related to biomedical engineering.

MBBNet: Minnesota Biomedical and Bioscience Network– WWW
MBBNet is an effort to network biomedical, bioscience, and related science-based industries, to connect faculty, students, and entrepreneurs with these industries, and to market Minnesota globally over the Internet.  See their ‘directory menu’ for a lists of companies in the industry.

best resource Medibix Component Database — WWW
A global directory of businesses that manufacture medical, pharmaceutical, diagnostic, laboratory, and scientific products such as pumps, valves, filters, motors, sensors, etc.
Pennsylvania Bio — WWW
Pennsylvania Bio brings together a variety of PA’s bioscience companies – research, emerging companies, mature industry and global pharmaceuticals, to create a unique and vibrant community.  You should view their member listing as a list of potential employers!
Use these databases to generate lists of potential employers by geographic location and industry.

CorpTech (Accessible only from computers on-campus) — ELECTRONIC
This is a directory of science and technology companies. Under ‘Location’ select your metro-MSA area by scrolling through the list or entering a zip code. Search by ‘Corptech Industry’ or SIC/NAICS code. To do a keyword search select ‘Free Text Tech Search.’ 

best resource D&B Million Dollar Database — ELECTRONIC
Company directory with over one million US public and private businesses. Company records include industry information with up to 8-digit SICs, number of employees, annual sales, type of ownership, and biographies of principal executives.
Hoover’s — ELECTRONIC
This database contains a wealth of information on a wide variety of companies. On the main page under ‘tools’ select ‘Build A List.’ Under ‘Company Location’ enter your desired geographic location.  Under ‘Industry’ enter the SIC code or ‘Hoover’s Industry Name’ that best describes your desired industry.

Industry Codes

Use one of the library databases above to generate a list of potential employers.  Specify your location criteria and your industry criteria by using one of the industry codes below.  This list is not all-inclusive; you can search for additional SIC and NAICS codes on their respective websites.

SIC Codes NAICS Codes
Pharmaceuticals
  • 2833- Medicinal Chemicals & Botanical Products
  • 2834- Pharmaceutical Preparations
  • 325411- Medicinal & Botanical Manufacturing
  • 325412- Pharmaceutical Preparation Manufacturing
Manufacturing
  • 2835- In-Vitro and In-Vivo Diagnostic Substances
  • 2836- Biological Products, except Diagnostic Substances
  • 3841- Surgical & Medical Instruments & Apparatus
  • 3842- Orthopedic, Prosthetic & Surgical Appliances and Supplies
  • 3843- Dental Equipment & Supplies
  • 3844- X-Ray Apparatus & Tubes
  • 3845- Electromedical & Electrotherapeutic Apparatus
  • 5047- Medical, Dental, & Hospital Equipment & Suppliers
  • 322291- Sanitary Paper Product Manufacturing
  • 325413- In-Vitro Diagnostic Substance Manufacturing
  • 325414- Biological Product (except Diagnostic) Manufacturing
  • 334517- Irradiation Apparatus Manufacturing
  • 339111- Laboratory Apparatus & Furniture Making
  • 339112- Surgical & Medical Instrument Manufacturing
  • 339113- Surgical Appliance & Supplies Manufacturing
  • 339114- Dental Equipment & Supplies Manufacturing
  • 334510- Electromedical & Electrotherapeutic Apparatus Manufacturing
  • 42145- Medical, Dental, & Hospital Equipment & Supplies Wholesalers
Research & Laboratories
  • 8071- Medical Laboratories
  • 8731- Commercial Physical & Biological Research
  • 8733- Noncommercial Research Organizations
  • 8734- Testing Laboratories
  • 541711- Research & Development in Biotechnology
  • 54138- Testing Laboratories
  • 621511- Medical Laboratories
  • 621512- Diagnostic Imaging Centers

Books

All books listed below can be found at the Careers Collection unless otherwise noted. Use the call number (listed below the title) to help you find the book on the shelf.
Becoming Leaders: A Practical Handbook for Women in Engineering, Science, & Technology– PRINT

T36 .W55 2008

Career Development in Bioengineering and Biotechnology– PRINT

TA164 .C37 2008

Careers in Biotech and Pharmaceuticals — PRINT
HF 5382.75 .B568 2002
Engineering Your Future: The Non-Technical Side of Professional Practice in Engineering and Other Technical Fields — PRINT
T 56.8 .W36 2000
Great Jobs for Biology Majors — PRINT
QH 314 .C35 2004
Bellet QH 314 .C35 2004
Is There an Engineer Inside You?: A Comprehensive Guide to Career Decisions in Engineering — PRINT
TA 157 .B294 2004
Opportunities in Biological Science Careers — PRINT/E-BOOK
QH 314 .W525 2004
Bellet QH 314 .W525 2004
Opportunities in Biotechnology Careers (2001) — E-BOOK
Opportunities in Engineering Careers — PRINT/E-BOOK
TA 157 .B342 2003
Opportunities in Pharmacy Careers — PRINT
RS 122.5 .G3 2004
Bellet RS 122.5 .G3o 1998
Peterson’s Job Opportunities: Engineering and Computer Science — PRINT
TA 157 .P445 2000
Peterson’s Job Opportunities: Health and Science — PRINT
R 690 .P45 2000
Bellet W 21.5 P485 1999
Real-Resumes for Engineering Jobs — PRINT
TA 157 .R35 2004  
Resumes for Engineering Careers: With Sample Cover Letters — PRINT
TA 157 .R47 2006
The WetFeet Insider Guide to the Top 20 Biotechnology and Pharmaceutical Firms (2004) — E-BOOK
Vault Career Guide to Biotechnology — PRINT
TP 248.22 .M68 2004

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress