image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Cinema and Television

Job Search Websites
Books
Directories
Databases

Job Search Websites

EntertainmentCareers.Net – WWW
To view intership openings, cilck on the ‘Internships’ tab at the top of the page. To search job listings by geographic location, click on the ‘Jobs’ tab and under ‘Regional Listings’ select ‘Browse listings by State.’
ProductionHub.com– WWW

Their employment center allows you to search for entertainment jobs in film, television, video & digital media production.  You can even find internships by selecting it under “category.”

ShowBizJobs.com — WWW
Search this site for administrative and creative job opportunities in the entertainment industries.  Browse jobs by industry (Film-TV-Video Production; Theater (Live/Motion Picture); TV/Radio Broadcasting, etc.) or geographic location.  Membership is NOT required to view the listings.
best resource Variety Careers– WWW
This excellent site, hosted by Variety magazine, contains career advice, industry guides, an employer directory and much more!  Use it to search for jobs and internships in the media and entertainment industries.  Be sure to check out the career blog, Breaking In & Moving Up.

Books

All books listed below can be found at the Career Collection and checked out for 28 days. Use the call number (listed below the title) to help you find the book on the shelf.

* “E-BOOK” means the full-text of the item is available online through the library catalog.

100 Careers in Film and Television — PRINT
PN 1995.9.P75 C76 2003    
Action! Establishing Your Career in Film & Television Production — PRINT
PN 1995.9.P75 G64 2002 
Breaking into Television — PRINT
PN 1992.45 .W43 1998 
Career Opportunities in the Film Industry – PRINT
PN 1995.9.P75 Y34 2003 
Career Opportunities in Television and Cable — PRINT
HE 8700.4 .T39 2007 
Careers in Entertainment and Sports — PRINT/E-BOOK
PN 1580 .C35 2005
Hollywood Drive — PRINT
PN 1995.9.P75 H66 2005

Directories

The directories listed below can be found at the Careers Collection unless otherwise noted. Directories are for ‘Library Use Only’ and may not be checked out.  Use the call number (listed below the title) to help you find the book on the shelf.
Gardner’s Guide to Internships in New Media – PRINT
Ref QA 76.575 .G37 2004
L.A. 411 — PRINT
Ref PN 1993.5.U65 L22 2006
Hollywood Creative Directory — PRINT
Ref PN 1998.A1 H58  59th ed. 2007
National Directory of Arts Internships — PRINT
Ref NX 110 .N38x  10th ed. 2008
NY 411 — PRINT
Ref PN 1993.5.U77 N39 2004-2005  
Peterson’s Media Companies – PRINT
Ref P 88.8 .P47 2000
U.S. Directory of Entertainment Employers — PRINT
Ref PN 1580 .U17 2000

Databases

best resource Hollywood Creative Directories — ELECTRONIC
This database provides electronic access to the Hollywood Creative Directory, the Hollywood Representation Directory, the Hollywood Distribution Directory, and the Hollywood Music Industry Directory.  Use the ‘Advanced Search’ feature to search for companies by ‘Type.’  Be sure to check out the ‘Job Board’ linked at the top of the page.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress