image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Performing Arts and Culture

Selected Web Resources
Books
Directories
Databases

Selected Web Resources

Search these websites for job and internship opportunities in the arts administration, dance, entertainment & arts management and music industries.
best resource Greater Philadelphia Cultural Alliance — WWW
Job Bank
To search for jobs and internships click on ‘Search/Browse Jobs’ link at the top.
Member List
Think of this as a list of potential employers.
best resource idealist.org — WWW
Use this site to find internships, jobs and lists of organizations in the non-profit sector. Search by Area of Focus (Art, Architecture, Music; Museums and Historical Societies; Sports, Recreation and Leisure, etc.) and geographic location.
MuseumJobs.com — WWW
Search this site for museum, gallery, library and archive jobs in the US and UK.
best resource MyMusicJob.com– WWW
Use this site to search for jobs and internships in the music industry. To search listings, click on the ‘Search Jobs’ link at the top of the page. Membership is NOT required to view the listings.
PhiladelphiaDANCE.ORG– WWW

A comprehensive website chock-full of resources for the dance community in the Philadelphia area.  Check out their job board!

Playbill: Job Listings– WWW
Search this site for internships and jobs in the theater industry by job category or geographic location.
StarPolish: Resources– WWW
Use this site to get lists of music companies by function (i.e. Booking/Concert Promotion; Labels & Distribution; Music Video Production; Performance Venues, etc.). You can even narrow your search to get a list of companies in a particular geographic location.
Theatre Alliance of Greater Philadelphia — WWW
Job Listings
Jobs are divided into five categories. Internship opportunities are under ‘Career Development.’
Listserv -
Sign up to get job openings and other theatre news via email. Membership is not required.

Books

All books listed below can be found at the Career Collection and checked out for 28 days. Use the call number (listed below the title) to help you find the book on the shelf.

“E-BOOK” means the full-text of the item is available online through the library catalog.

Career Opportunities in the Music Industry — PRINT
ML 3795 .F497 2004
Career Opportunities in Theater and the Performing Arts — PRINT
PN 1580 .F5 2006
Careers in Entertainment and Sports — PRINT/E-BOOK
PN 1580 .C35 2005
Exploring Careers in Music — PRINT
ML 3795 .E95 2000
How to Get a Job in the Music and Recording Industry — PRINT
ML 3790 .H38 2001
The Music Business: Career Opportunities and Self-Defense — PRINT
ML 3790 .W4 2003
Opportunities in Museum Careers — PRINT
AM 11 .C35 2007
Working in the Music Industry — PRINT
ML 3795 .B75 2006

Directories

The directories listed below can be found at the Careers Collection unless otherwise noted. Directories are for ‘Library Use Only’ and may not be checked out. Use the call number (listed below the title) to help you find the book on the shelf.

“Hagerty Reference” books can be found in the reference collection at Hagerty Library and are for ‘Library Use Only.’

Billboard Talent & Touring International Guide– PRINT

Hagerty Reference ML1 .B51355 2005

Hollywood Music Industry Directory — PRINT
Hagerty Reference ML 18 .H65 2004
best resource National Directory of Arts Internships — PRINT
Ref NX 110 .N38x 10th ed. 2005
Pollstar Artist Management Directory– PRINT

Hagerty Reference ML13 .P635X 2005-2006

Pollstar Booking Agency Directory– PRINT

Hagerty Reference ML13 .P6411 2008-2009

Pollstar Concert Support Services– PRINT

Hagerty Reference ML13 .P65 2009/2010

Pollstar Talent Buyer Directory– PRINT

Hagerty Reference ML13 .P646 2009/2010

The Official Museum Directory — PRINT
Hagerty Reference AM 10.A2 O4 35th ed. 2005 v.1-2
U.S. Directory of Entertainment Employers — PRINT
Ref PN 1580 .U17 2000

Databases

best resource Hollywood Creative Directories — ELECTRONIC
This database provides electronic access to the Hollywood Creative Directory, the Hollywood Representation Directory, the Hollywood Distribution Directory, and the Hollywood Music Industry Directory. Use the ‘Advanced Search’ feature to search for companies by ‘Type.’ Be sure to check out the ‘Job Board’ linked at the top of the page.
Pollstar Online– ELECTRONIC

Pollstar is the concert industry’s leading trade publication and they feature up-to-date industry news.  click their “Custom Research” tab to search their databases for events, artists, venues, box office figures, and more.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress