image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Co-op in China

Visa and Work Authorization
Job Listings
Internship Placement Programs
Housing
Country Information
Company Directories

Disclaimer: Many of the following resources are from third-party organizations, and we cannot verify or be responsible for your use of their services.

Visa and Work Authorization

Embassy of the People’s Republic of China> A Brief Introduction to Chinese Visas– WWW

The Chinese Embassy website details the various visas they offer.

Job Listings

51Job– WWW

The biggest online job site in China.

American Chamber of Commerce in the People’s Republic of China– WWW

AmCham-China represents US companies and individuals doing business in China.  Learn about the business visa and health insurance services they offer, read their several publications, search their directory of member companies, and browse their job and internship listings.

The Beijinger Classifieds: Internships– WWW

The Beijinger is Beijing’s premier English-language site with all kinds of classifieds.  This links to their internships.

Craigslist Shanghai- Internships– WWW

I’ve linked to their Shanghai site, but Craigslist is operating in Beijing, Guangzhou, Hangzhou, and Shenzhen.

Idealist.org: Internships in China– WWW

The best website to find job and internship listings from the nonprofit world.  However, be aware that internship listings may be actual job listings or listings from internship placement programs.

iHipo International Careers: China– WWW

iHipo features international job and internship listings from around the world.  This links to their Chinese listings.

Shanghai Expat- Jobs– WWW

Search Shanghai Expat’s jobs classifieds for jobs and internships.  They even have a company list.

Zhaopin– WWW

One of China’s leading online job sites.  Search for internships and full-time jobs from around all of China on the English version of this website.

Internship Placement Programs

Abroad China, Inc– WWW

They offer both a Summer Internship/Study Program and a Young Professional Internship/Study Program.  You can choose between Beijing or Shanghai, and participants typically receive a salary.  Accommodation costs are included in the Summer Program ($4700-$5750) but are not included in the Young Professional Program ($2170-$2650).

Experiential Learning International– WWW

ELI places students on 1 to 6 month long internships in Shanghai in a variety of industries.  The total fee is $1095 and includes placement, airport pick-up, orientation, activities, and an in-country coordinator.  It does not include accommodation but housing assistance is available.  Stipends are available for some internships, but require a 3 month minimum placement.  Make sure to apply at least 2 months in advance of your desired start date.

IES Global- The China Internship Program– WWW

IES Global offers a Media Internship, Corporate Internship, and Hospitality Internship for up to 6 months, with prices starting at about 1300 Euros.  They can for arrange accommodation and Mandarin language courses for additional fees.  Only Hospitality interns receive some sort of stipend.

UOutlook– WWW

The program fee is 4125 Yuan, which is equivalent to about $600.  This includes internship placement, visa assistance, housing arrangement assistance, airport pick-up and drop-off, and an orientation.  Housing is not included in the fee.  Apply at least 2 months before your desired start date.

Your Internship China– WWW

The program fee of 630 Euro includes a 3 month internship placement in Beijing, mandarin classes, visa assistance, housing arrangement assistance, airport pick-up, cultural activities, and more.

Housing

  • Most internship placement programs offer accommodation assistance, but in case you need to find housing for yourself, here are some places you may want to look:
AsiaExpats.com- Shanghai Apartments– WWW

AsiaExpats.com- Beijing Apartments– WWW

AsiaExpats is a resource for expats, professionals, and executives living in Asia.  These link to the apartments and property link on their website.

The Beijinger Classifieds: Housing– WWWThe Beijinger is Beijing’s premier English-language site with all kinds of classifieds.  This links to their housing classifieds.
Craigslist Shanghai- Apartments/Housing for Rent– WWW

I’ve linked to their Shanghai site, but Craigslist is operating in Beijing, Guangzhou, Hangzhou, and Shenzhen.

Expatriates.com– WWW

Expatriates lauds itself as the “online community for expatriates.”  It functions like a classifieds for countries around the world.  This links to the China apartment listings.

Shanghai Expat- Real Estate– WWW

Find apartments and houses for rent in many Chinese cities.

Country Information

CIA World Factbook: China — WWW

A great resource for finding basic country information on countries around the world.

Chinese-English Oxford Language Dictionary Online– ELECTRONIC

This new resource functions not only as a bilingual dictionary, but also features a calendar of Chinese holidays and festivals, useful phrases, cultural notes, sample letters and emails, word games, AND you can hear each word spoken by clicking on the icon next to the word.  Turn your speakers up!

Expats in China– WWW

This website is written from the viewpoint of foreigners in China but gives useful information and an idea of what life in China is like.

Global Road Warrior: China– ELECTRONIC

A comprehensive business travel, telecommunications, and business culture reference that provides information such as business culture, being a businesswoman, essential terms to know, and much more!

Going Global Career Guide: China–  ELECTRONIC

Country-specific information about job search resources, employment trends, work permits and visas, applications guidelines, cultural advice, and more!

U.S.-China Business Council– WWW

This organization is composed of 250 companies that do business in China, and seeks to expand the U.S.-China commercial relationship.  There is invaluable information here, from a China briefing book, facts and statistics, and a wealth of great links.

Company Directories

Use these database to generate lists of companies in China.
Business & Company Resource Center– ELECTRONIC

To generate a list of international companies, select ‘Advanced Search.’  Under ‘Content Area’ select ‘Company Profiles/Products.’  To specify location, select ‘State/Country’ from the drop-down menu. To specify industry, select ‘Industry Description,’ ‘SIC code,’ or ‘Keyword’ from the drop-down menu.

Uniworld– ELECTRONIC

Use this electronic company directory to create lists of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countires and Foreign Firms Operating in the U.S. It’s easy to use and searchable by country, industry and much more!

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress