image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Communications & Marketing

Job Search Websites
Suggested Industry Codes
Books

Job Search Websites

American Marketing Association– WWW

The largest marketing professional association in North America, their websites features tons of resources, training materials, career tips, and a job board that includes both full-time jobs, internships, and even international job listings!  Visit the Philadelphia chapter’s website to get up-to-speed on local events and jobs.

Ed2010– WWW

Ed2010 is an online community for those who aspire to land jobs in the magazine industry.  With job and internship postings, mentors, city chapters (including one in Philadelphia!), HR contact info for major magazines, and more, there is a wealth of information that will surely assist you in realizing your magazine dreams.

Greater Philadelphia Cultural Alliance Job Bank– WWW

This alliance of local cultural institutions provides a great job bank with both internships and jobs.

Idealist– WWW

Nonprofits needs people with good communication skills too!  Seek jobs and internships in the nonprofit community in the U.S. and worldwide on this great website.

International Association of Business Communicators- Philadelphia– WWW

This local professional association features job listings.

Journalism Jobs– WWW

Looking for a job or internship in journalism?  Check out the job listings on this website, which also includes career articles and a listing of upcoming industry events.

Mediabistro– WWW

Mediabistro provides a freelance marketplace, job listings (including internships!), a salary survey, online courses to hone your skills, events, and more, all geared towards those in the media industry.

Media Job Market– WWW

Job posting site for marketing, advertising, PR/publicity positions. Includes a Career Resource Center with career advice articles.

Philly Creative Jobs– WWW

Sure, you’ll see job listings for graphic designers- but they’re right next to some great marketing, PR, and other communications positions in the Philadelphia area.  Check out their company directory, too!

Public Relations Society of America (PRSA)– WWW

The largest association for public relations professionals.  Post your resume, check out their career resources, and view their job listings.  And of course don’t forget about the local Philly chapter.

Quarterlife Internships– WWW

This “social network for creative people” features internships in radio, television, fashion, magazines, online media, and more!

Suggested Industry Codes

Use one of our company directories or library databases such as D&B Million Dollar Database to generate a list of potential employers.  Specify your location criteria and your industry criteria.  Use one of the methods below to specify your industry of choice.

SIC Codes NAICS Codes
Marketing/Advertising/Public Relations
  • 6512- Operators of Nonresidential Buildings (stadium & arena owners)
  • 7311- Advertising Agencies
  • 7313- Radio, TV, and Publisher Representatives
  • 7922- Theatrical Producers (theatrical promoters)
  • 7941- Professional Sports Clubs & Promoters
  • 8732- Commercial Economic, Sociological, & Educational Research
  • 8742- Management Consulting Services
  • 8743- Public Relations Agencies
  • 541613- Marketing Consulting Services
  • 541720- Research and Development in the Social Sciences and Humanities
  • 54181- Advertising Agencies
  • 54182- Public Relations Agencies
  • 541910- Marketing Research and Public Opinion Polling
  • 7113- Promoters of Performing Arts, Sports, & Similar Events
Broadcasting
  • 4832- Radio Broadcasting Stations
  • 4833- Television Broadcasting Stations
  • 4841- Cable & Other Pay Television Services
  • 7383- News Syndicates
  • 513111- Radio Networks
  • 513112- Radio Stations
  • 51312- Television Broadcasting
  • 513210- Cable Networks
  • 51411- News Syndicates
Publishing/Writing
  • 2711- Newspapers: Publishing & Printing
  • 2721- Periodicals Publishing & Printing
  • 2731- Book Publishing
  • 2732- Book Printing
  • 2741- Miscellaneous Publishing
  • 7338- Secretarial & Court Reporting Services
  • 323117- Book Printing
  • 51111- Newspaper Publishers
  • 51112- Periodical Publishers
  • 51113- Book Publishers
  • 51119- Other Publishers
  • 561410- Document Preparation Services
  • 561492- Court Reporting & Stenotype Services

Books

Career Opportunities for Writers– BOOK

Hagerty Careers PN151 .G84 2000

Careers in Marketing– E-BOOK
Creating your career in communications and entertainment- BOOK

Hagerty 2nd Floor P91.6 .M63 1998

Harvard Business School guide to careers in marketing– BOOK

Hagerty Careers HF5415.35 M361 2001

Making it in public relations: an insider’s guide to career opportunities– BOOK

Hagerty Careers HM1221 .M64 2002

Opportunities in technical writing careers- BOOK

Hagerty Careers T11 .G663 2000

Peterson’s media companies– BOOK

Hagerty Careers P88.8 .P47 2000

Resumes for communications careers– BOOK/E-BOOK

Hagerty Careers P91.6 .R4 2003

Wow! Resumes for Sales and Marketing Careers: how to put together a winning resume — BOOK

Hagerty Careers HF5383 .C623 1998

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress