For more information on company research, see the Researching a Company Research Guide.
Online Directories
- ChubbyBrain– WWW
Attention, entrepreneurs! ChubbyBrain is a website with a database of start-ups and investors from around the world. Browse companies by category, do an advanced search, add companies, or write reviews! - Idealist.org — WWW
Looking for nonprofit organizations? Idealist.org is a project of Action Without Borders and a great place to go to find nonprofit organizations from around the world.
Print Directories
- D&B Regional Business Directory — PRINT
Philadelphia Business Journal: Book of Business Lists 2011 — PRINT
To access the latest Book of Business Lists online, use our Business Journals Digital Portal (on-campus access only).
Job Bank Series books are available for library use in the Careers Collection for the following metropolitan areas:
- Atlanta
- Boston
- Chicago
- Colorado
- Dallas-Fort Worth
- Denver
- Florida
- Greater Philadelphia
- Houston
- Los Angeles
- Metropolitan New York
- Metropolitan Washington DC
- New Jersey
- Portland
- San Francisco Bay Area
- Seattle
Databases
- Business and Company Resource Center — ELECTRONIC
Use the “Company” search feature to find a basic overview of your company. Be sure to click on the tabs across the top of the screen for news articles about your company, company rankings, histories, investment reports, and products. Use the “Advanced Search” feature to find international companies.
CorpTech – ELECTRONIC
Directory of science and technology-oriented companies. Search for companies by location and industry classification code. Select the appropriate MSA code under ‘Location’ for the desired metro area.
D&B Million Dollar Database — ELECTRONIC
Company directory with over one 15 million US public and private businesses. Company records include industry information, number of employees, annual sales, type of ownership, and biographies of principal executives.- Encyclopedia of Associations — ELECTRONIC
Thought this was only good for finding professional associations? Think again! This great resource also allows you to search for organizations that have been granted nonprofit status by the IRS.
Hollywood Creative Directories– ELECTRONIC
This database provides electronic access to the Hollywood Creative Directory, the Hollywood Representation Directory, the Hollywood Distribution Directory, and the Hollywood Music Industry Directory. Use the ‘Advanced Search’ feature to search for companies by ‘Type.’
Uniworld — ELECTRONIC
Use this electronic company directory to create lists of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countires and Foreign Firms Operating in the U.S. It’s easy to use and searchable by country, industry and much more!









