Search the Library Website:
 
  Print-friendly version
  Career Exploration and Planning

These are websites and books to help patrons develop their career path. (For more on job searching, see the Job Search Research Guide.)
 
 
 
  Selected Web Resources
Career Development eManual - http://www.cdm.uwaterloo.ca/index2.asp -- WWW
This site, maintained by the University of Waterloo, leads you through steps to follow for career and life planning success.
Career Guide to Industries - http://www.bls.gov/oco/cg/ -- WWW
Search for career information by industry on this site, a companion to the Occupational Outlook Handbook.
JobHuntersBible.com -- WWW
This site, created by the author of What Color is Your Parachute? offers a wide variety of career planning advice.
JobStar- Guides for Specific Careers - http://jobstar.org/tools/career/spec-car.php -- WWW
Links to career information sites, arranged by job field.
JobWeb Career Planning - http://www.jobweb.com/students.aspx?folderid=84 -- WWW
This portion of the JobWeb site (brought to you by the National Association of Colleges and Employers) provides articles for college students about career planning.
best resource Major Resource Kits - http://www.udel.edu/CSC/mrk.html -- WWW
Explore career possibilities by major, and link to additional sources of information. Brought to you by the Bank of America Career Services Center at the University of Delaware.
best resource Occupational Outlook Handbook - http://www.bls.gov/oco/ -- WWW
A US Department of Labor publication, the handbook provides information on all types of careers including working conditions, training, earnings, and outlook.
O*Net - http://online.onetcenter.org/ -- WWW
Online resource for occupational exploration.
Quintessential Careers - http://www.quintcareers.com -- WWW
A college, career and job guide with daily tips and tools.
best resource CareerJournal.com -- WWW
The Wall Street Journal's career site; offers a wide variety of career-related information. Be sure to visit their College/MBA site. This companion website provides entry-level starting salaries, career exploration links, and more.
  [Top]
 
  Books
All books listed below can be found at the Career Library (3201 Arch St., Suite 222) unless otherwise noted. Use the call number (listed below the title) to help you find the book on the shelf.
  • "Ref" books are for 'Library Use Only' and may not be checked out.
  • "E-BOOK" means the full-text of the item is available online through the library catalog.
  • "Bellet" books are located in the Steinbright Career Development Center office on the 2nd floor of the Bellet Building, Center City Campus.  These items are for 'Library Use Only' and may not be checked out.
  • "Hagerty Reference" books can be found in the reference collection at Hagerty Library and are for 'Library Use Only.'
  • All other items may be checked out for 28 days.
Best jobs for the 21st century -- PRINT/E-BOOK
HF 5381.15 .F37 2006
50 Best Jobs for Your Personality -- PRINT/E-BOOK
HF 5381.15 .F3618 2005 
Career Choice and Development -- PRINT/E-BOOK
HF 5381 .C265143 2002   
College Majors and Careers: A Resource Guide for Effective Life Planning -- PRINT
HF 5382.5.U5.P445 2003
College Majors Handbook with Real Career Paths and Payoffs -- PRINT/E-BOOK
Ref HF 5382.5.U5 F644 2004
The Career Navigation Handbook -- PRINT
HF 5381 .C26597 2004
Do What You Are: Discover the Perfect Career for You Through the Secrets of Personality Type -- PRINT
BF 698.9 .O3 T54 2001
Bellet BF 698.9 .O3 T54 2001 
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance -- PRINT
Hagerty Reference HF 5381.E52 2003 v.1-4
Have No Career Fear -- PRINT
HF 5382.7 .H38 2004
The Pathfinder: How to Choose or Change Your Career for a Lifetime of Satisfaction and Success -- PRINT
HF 5384.L67 1998
Bellet HF 5384.L67 1998
The Three Boxes of Life and How to Get Out of Them -- PRINT
HF 5381.B63512
What Color is Your Parachute? -- PRINT
HF 5382.7.B64 2006 
HF 5382.7.B642 2005 - companion workbook
Bellet HF 5382.7 B691w 2003 
The Vault College Career Bible -- PRINT
HF 5381 .V385  2007
Bellet HF 5381 VA376  2007 
Your Dream Career for Dummies -- PRINT
HF 5383 .M33 2005
Zen and the Art of Making a Living -- PRINT
BQ 286.B65 1993
Bellet BQ 9286 .B65 1999 
  [Top]
 
  Electronic Resources
best resource Vault Online Career Library -- ELECTRONIC
Vault is a leading publisher of career-related information.  Through their online career library you'll get full-text electronic access to industry guides for virtually every field of interest.  Just click on the "Download Guides" tab at the top of the page.  Topics include: Accounting, Publishing, Advertising, Biotech, Fashion, Investment Banking, Entertainment, and much more!
NOTE: This resource is for current undergraduates, graduate students, faculty, staff, and authorized walk-ins only.
TBA

TBA
Library Assistant for Career Services

Office Hours
Please call for an appointment: 215-895-2185.


Career Library Hours:
TBA

3201 Arch St., Suite 222
215-895-2045




Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Content editor
Content Editor Email:
Content editor email
Last Content Update:
March 28, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 29-Jul-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections