Search the Library Website:
 
  Print-friendly version
  Chemical Engineering

This page focuses on resources which have specific usefulness to the Chemical Engineering community. However, many general, interdisciplinary engineering resources are useful for all engineers, regardless of their specialty. For example, Engineering Village 2 is a superb database for scholarly articles, handbooks, patents, standards, and more. For general engineering resources, please see our Fundamentals of Engineering Research guide.
 
 
 
  Finding Books
  Searching the catalog for books on economics:
  Try a keyword search: chemistry and processing
chemistry and manufacturing
  Try truncation for more results: chemi* and manufactu* retrieves...
chemistry   manufacture
chemical AND manufacturing
chemist   manufacturers
  Search using Library of Congress subject headings: Chemistry Handbooks, Manuals, Etc
Chemistry, Industrial -- See -- Chemical Engineering
  [Top]
 
  Finding Articles
ACS Journals Online (American Chemical Society) -- ELECTRONIC
The American Chemical Society site contains full text articles for the journals published by American Chemical Society. The Division's comprehensive collection includes more than 30 journals and magazines (including 5 copublished with other scientific societies).
Chemical Market Reporter -- ELECTRONIC
Published weekly, Chemical Market Reporter offers news and analysis on the latest developments in the chemical industry.
Chemical and Engineering News -- PRINT
The American Chemical Society's monthly journal of recent developments in chemistry and chemical engineering.
best resource ChemVillage -- ELECTRONIC
Search environment for Chimica, Beilstein Abstracts, chemical news, patents, and selected CRC Press handbooks (CHEMnetBASE and ENVIROnetBASE) through a single point of entry.
best resource SciFinder Scholar -- ELECTRONIC
This is the premier source for finding chemical literature, substance, and reaction information. It provides a search interface for access to Chemical Abstracts online. Chemical Abstracts covers the published scientific research in chemistry, and offers searching by author name, research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure, or chemical reaction. SciFinder Scholar may only be accessed from computers on the Drexel network. For instructions on installing and configuring SciFinder Scholar on your computer see the SciFinder Scholar information page.
  [Top]
 
  Key Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Databases
ChemRate -- ELECTRONIC
ChemRate is a program that contains databases containing experimental results on unimolecular reactions, information pertaining to transition state and molecular structures necessary for the calculation of high pressure rate constants and thermal functions respectively. It contains a master equation solver so that rate constants for unimolecular reactions in the energy transfer region and chemical activation processes under steady and non-steady state conditions can be determined on the basis of RRKM theory.
Materials Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) -- ELECTRONIC
Vermont SIRI (Safety Information Resources, Inc.)provides access to the MSDS Archive of information about chemicals, and links to many new MSDS archives provided by manufacturers concerned about the safe use of their products. Also searchable is information about chemical toxicity.
best resource NIST Chemical Kinetics Database -- ELECTRONIC
The NIST Chemical Kinetics Database includes all reported kinetics results for thermal gas-phase chemical reactions. The database is designed to be searched for kinetics data based on the specific reactants involved, for reactions resulting in specified products, for all the reactions of a particular species, or for various combinations of these.
best resource SciFinder Scholar -- ELECTRONIC
This is the premier source for finding chemical literature, substance, and reaction information. It provides a search interface for access to Chemical Abstracts online. Chemical Abstracts covers the published scientific research in chemistry, and offers searching by author name, research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure, or chemical reaction. SciFinder Scholar may only be accessed from computers on the Drexel network. For instructions on installing and configuring SciFinder Scholar on your computer see the SciFinder Scholar information page.
  [Top]
 
  Chemical Manufacturing Data/Chemical Production -- Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design -- PRINT
(Hagerty Reference, 1st floor -- TP9 .E66)
A print encyclopedia (67 volumes!) with extensive coverage of all aspects of chemical manufacturing and processing.
best resource Encyclopedia of Separation Science -- ELECTRONIC
The Encyclopedia of Separation Science is the most comprehensive resource available on the theory, techniques, and applications of separation science. This encyclopedia is invaluable to researchers and professionals across a wide range of areas in academia and industry.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology -- ELECTRONIC
This Encyclopedia brings together and treats systematically facts on the properties, manufacturing, and uses of chemicals and materials, processes, and engineering principles, coupled with insights into current research, emerging technologies and economic aspects. Environmental and health concerns are also addressed.
best resource Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry -- ELECTRONIC
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a state-of-the-art reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Search by the name of the chemical for which production and manufacturing information is needed.
  [Top]
 
  Web resources for purchasing chemicals
http://www.advance-scientific.com/
Advance Scientific & Chemicals, Inc. Search for chemicals and laboratory supplies.
http://advance-scientific.net/Search.asp
Advance Scientific's advanced search feature.
http://www.cebuyersguide.com/public/
Chemical Engineering Online Buyers’ Guide. You will need to register first to search in this guide (registration is free).
best resource ttp://www.sciencelab.com/page/S/CTGY/10524
Chemicals and Laboratory equipment. ScienceLab.com offers a full line of Laboratory equipment, instruments, and consumables for any application from clinical to research. They also carry a wide range pH meters, microscopes, thermometers and digital scales.
http://www.sciencelab.com/page/S/CTGY/10403
Search for chemicals by chemical name, CAS#, Molecular Formula and Product Code.
Jay Bhatt

Jay Bhatt
Librarian for Engineering
Hours M-F: 9am-6pm
Hagerty Library, Room 132
bhattjj@drexel.edu
215-895-1873
AOL IM jaybhatt59
YAHOO IM jay_bhatt_98

Jay Bhatt's Facebook profile


TBA

TBA
Assistant Librarian for Engineering
Hours M-F: 8am-5pm

215-895-2755

Chat with Us:

(If we're not online, leave a message with your contact info.)




Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Content editor
Content Editor Email:
Content editor email
Last Content Update:
March 28, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 29-Jul-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections