Print-friendly version
  Chemistry
 
 
 
  Finding Books
  Searching the catalog for books on chemistry:
  Try a keyword search: calorimetry AND heat
fullerene* AND nano**
  Try a subject search: chemistry, forensic
fermentation
  Browse the stacks: Chemistry- Crystallography -- QD901's
Chemistry- Biochemistry -- QD415
  [Top]
 
  Finding Articles
Chemical Abstracts - ELECTRONIC
Members of the Drexel community may access Chemical Abstracts electronically through SciFinder Scholar. The SciFinder Scholar Learning Center provides in-depth guidance to using SciFinder Scholar.
Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry Database - ELECTRONIC
The world's largest chemical facts database include structures, physical properties, reactions and literature quotations covering 7.5 million organic compounds. Access is now in a web-based application called DISCOVERYGATE. Off-Campus users must use Drexel's Virtual Private Network (VPN) to access this resource. See Drexel VPN Instructions for assistance.
Gmelin's Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry - PRINT
Gmelin's Handbook of Inoganic Chemistry Guide covers the entire field of inorganic chemistry from the middle of the 18th century and is based on the original publications. The world's largest chemical facts database include structures, physical properties, reactions and literature quotations covering approximately 1 million inorganic and organometallic compounds. A useful web guide to Gmelin can be found at SUNY-Buffalo.
HagertyLower Level Bound Journal
Landolt-Bornstein: Numberical Data & Functional Relationships - PRINT
Landolt-Bornstein: Numerical Data & Functional Relationships (Zahlenwerte und Funktionen aus Physik, Chemie, Astronomie, Geophysik und Technik) is a systematic and comprehensive collection of critically assessed data from all fields of physics, physical chemistry, biophysics, geophysics, astronomy, materials science, and technology. In some ways it is to physics what Beilstein is to organic chemistry. Here is a pdf guide to Landolt-Bornstein
Hagerty 2nd Floor  QC61.L33 and QC61.L332
  [Top]
 
  Handbooks and Encyclopedias
best resource ChemFinder: compound searching - WWW
Searchable database offering basic information, including physical property data and 2D chemical structures for several thousand most common chemical compounds. Can be searched by chemical name, CAS Number, molecular formula, or molecular weight. Heavy with advertisements, some services from this site require paid subscriptions.
best resource Chemistry WebBook - WWW
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Chemistry WebBook provides users with easy access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the internet. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - ELECTRONIC and PRINT
Online or Print (Hagerty Reference QD65 .H3)
CHEMnetBASE- ELECTRONIC
knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References - ELECTRONIC
Database of some of the leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings. knovel is the only provider of aggregated engineering and applied science data that can be accessed globally utilizing proprietary tabular analysis tools. Provides tabular and graphical data, including facts, figures, formulas and definitions. Search results include full bibliographic and citation information, links to both PDF full text content, and help screens. Full text includes original data, facts, figures, graphs, equations, illustrations, charts, and much more.
Web Elements - WWW
WebElements aims to be a high quality source of information on the WWW relating to the periodic table. You will find thousands of graphics showing elements structures and periodic properties here. Currently, most information is about the elements themselves but the scope of WebElements will include simple compounds as well in the future.
Web Periodic Table - WWW
A graphic and interactive periodic table.  Packed with information.
  [Top]
 
  Selected Web Resources
The Alchemist - WWW
A weekly current awareness webzine of ChemWeb.com, providing the chemical community with daily news and weekly feature articles, including reviews of software, books and websites.
best resource American Chemical Society/ACSWeb - WWW
Some parts of the web site are for members only and access to some journals are by paid subscription only. Access individual ACS journals from our journals list or access ACS web site from our Databases page.
best resource Royal Society of Chemistry - WWW
The Learned Society for chemistry and the Professional Body for chemists in the UK. The Society is a major publisher and provider of chemical information, supports the teaching of chemistry at all levels, organises hundreds of chemical meetings a year and is a leader in communicating science to the public.
best resource WWW Chemistry Guide - WWW
A comprehensive collection of annotated links for chemists and researchers involved in organic, biochemical, computational, medicinal and/or other chemistry research.
  [Top]
 
  Visualizations (Selected Sites)
best resource ChemGallery: A Showcase of Molecular Illustrations - WWW
These are images of molecular art created to illustrate various chemical discoveries.
Chemistry Art Gallery at the University of Liverpool - WWW
  [Top]
 
  Tutorials
best resource Information Literacy for the Sciences
A self-paced tutorial for advanced scholarship in the sciences.
Peggy Dominy
Peggy Dominy
Librarian for Sciences and Math

Hours M-F: 7:30am-4:30pm


Hagerty Library, Room 129
dominymf@drexel.edu
215-895-2754



Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Peggy Dominy dominymf@drexel.edu
Content Editor Email:
Content editor email
Last Content Update:
May 9, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 30-Jun-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections