Search the Library Website:
 
  Print-friendly version
  Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering

This page focuses on resources which have specific usefulness to the Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering communities. However, many general, interdisciplinary engineering resources are useful for all engineers, regardless of their specialty. For example, Engineering Village 2 is a superb database for scholarly articles, handbooks, patents, standards, and more. For general engineering resources, please see our Fundamentals of Engineering Research guide.
 
 
 
  Finding Books
  Searching the catalog for books on economics:
  Try a keyword search: civil engineering AND handbook
hydrology AND transportation
  Try truncation for more results: geosynth* retrieves...
geosynthetic, geosynthetics, geosynthesis, etc.
  [Top]
 
  Finding Articles
best resource ASCE Civil Engineering Database -- ELECTRONIC
This database is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE (American Society for Civil Engineering) publications. It covers ASCE documents published since 1974. It provides access to all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts -- ELECTRONIC
The Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) Internet Database Service (IDS) provides bibliographic databases in science and technology. In addition to several thousand serial publications, CSA monitors conference proceedings, books, monographs, patents, government and technical reports and other literature from all over the world. These databases are not full-text.
best resource GeoRef -- ELECTRONIC
The American Geological Institute, via OCLC's First Search service, provides access to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes more than 25,145 publications.
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts-- ELECTRONIC
National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering covers the world literature in earthquake engineering. Contents include selected technical reports, conference papers, monographs, and journal articles.
  [Top]
 
  Handbooks
ACI Manual of Concrete Practice -- PRINT
TA439 .A4x 1997, Hagerty Reference, 1st floor

A major source of information on concrete & concrete technology.
* Part 1 - Materials and General Properties of Concrete.
* Part 2 - Construction Practices & Inspection Pavements.
* Part 3 - Use of Concrete in Buildings.
* Part 4 - Bridges, Substructures, Sanitary and other Special Structures.
* Part 5 - Masonry, Precast Concrete, Special Processes.
best resource Building Construction Cost Data -- PRINT
TH435.M436 B84 2003, Hagerty Reference, 1st floor
TH435.M436 B84 2002, Hagerty Books, 2nd floor
Unit costs for over 20,000 building components-carefully prepared from the actual experience of thousands of contractors and suppliers over the last twelve months.
Building Construction Handbook -- PRINT
TH151.C52 1998, Hagerty Reference, 1st floor
This book summarizes all elements of the building process with the use of diagrams & brief explanations.
Civil Engineer's Reference Book -- PRINT, ELECTRONIC
TA151 .C58 1994, Hagerty Books , 2nd floor
This handbook covers recent technological advances that have occurred as well as the evolving needs of clients in almost all forms of construction, maintenance, and repair. Attention has also been given to the special problems relating to work overseas.
Concrete Construction Handbook -- PRINT
TA681.C745 1998, Hagerty Books, 2nd floor
Details materials properties, proportioning mixes & testing, formwork & shoring, batching, transporting, placing, & finishing and curing. Also discusses special concretes & techniques, building construction systems, specialized practices, & precast, prestressed, and architectural concrete, as well as repair & grouting.
Construction Databook -- PRINT
TH151.L48 1998, Hagerty Books, 1st floor
A handbook that contains hundreds of tables, specifications, charts, diagrams, and illustrations. It covers all of the materials and components of construction most frequently utilized at a typical job site.
best resource ENGnetBASE: Civil Engineering Handbooks Online -- ELECTRONIC
The civil engineering collection of CRC elcectronic handbooks via ENGnetBASE.
Highway Design and Traffic Safety Engineering Handbook -- PRINT
TE175 .L36 1999, Hagerty Books, 2nd floor
This book presents a thoroughly scientific and practical approach to designing highways for maximum safety.
best resource ENVIROnetBASE -- ELECTRONIC
A collection of environmental science handbooks published by CRC Press.
best resource Knovel Library: Civil Engineering & Construction Materials -- ELECTRONIC
An excellent collection of electronic handbooks on all aspects of Civil Engineering.
best resource Time-Saver Standards for Architectural Design Data -- PRINT
TH 151.T55 1999, Hagerty Reference, 1st floor
A reference on architectural design and building construction fundamental and design data.
  [Top]
 
  Building Codes
best resource MAD CAD -- ELECTRONIC
MAD CAD contains building codes, knowledge-based design solutions, and guidelines to meet the codes. MAD CAD will provide you access to cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA. MAD CAD gives access to comprehensive state and local codes to meet architectural, engineering and educational solutions.
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) -- PRINT
NA2545.P5 A68x 1992, Hagerty Reference, 1st floor
Accessibility guidelines for buildings and facilities, transportation facilities, transportation vehicles
The BOCA National Building Code -- PRINT
KF5701 .A73 B8, Hagerty Reference, 1st floor
The BOCA National Plumbing Code -- PRINT
KF5709 .Bx, Hagerty Reference, 1st floor
National Electrical Code Handbook -- PRINT, ELECTRONIC
TK260 .N470 1999, Hagerty Reference, 1st floor
National Plumbing Codes Handbook -- PRINT
TH6125 .W56 1998, Hagerty Reference, 1st floor
Standard Building Code (SBCCI) -- PRINT
TH420 .S73 1994, Hagerty Reference, 1st floor
Uniform Building Code -- PRINT
KF5701 .A39 I5 1994, Hagerty Reference, 1st floor
Vol. 1 - Administrative, fire and life-safety; field inspection provisions
Vol. 2 - Structural engineering design provisions
Vol. 3 - Material, testing and installation standards
  [Top]
 
  Web Resources
Civil Engineer's Mega Bookmark -- WWW
The site includes links to over 1,000 online resources of interest to civil engineers. Various categories such as Research/Education, Subject-Based Resources, Information Sources, Building Codes/Standards from 15 countries, Organizations/ Institutes, and Civil engineers biographies are included.
Geosynthetic Materials Association -- WWW
The Geosynthetic Materials Association is directed by the needs of the North American geosynthetics industry. It serves as the central resource for information regarding geosynthetics and provides a forum for consistent and accurate information to increase the acceptance and to promote the correct use of geosynthetics. See the Technical Document Index.
Geosynthetica.net -- WWW
Geosynthetica.net is being developed to provide comprehensive construction documents and technical support information for engineers, regulators, contractors, installers, and facility owners involved with civil and geotechnical works containing geosynthetics.
Jay Bhatt

Jay Bhatt
Librarian for Engineering
Hours M-F: 9am-6pm
Hagerty Library, Room 132
bhattjj@drexel.edu
215-895-1873
AOL IM jaybhatt59
YAHOO IM jay_bhatt_98

Jay Bhatt's Facebook profile


TBA

TBA
Assistant Librarian for Engineering
Hours M-F: 8am-5pm

215-895-2755

Chat with Us:

(If we're not online, leave a message with your contact info.)




Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Content editor
Content Editor Email:
Content editor email
Last Content Update:
March 28, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 29-Jul-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections