Drexel University Libraries
home home catalog resources study guides services about the libraries
Drexel University Libraries
                 
 
Communication

Facts and Background Materials Writing Guides
Finding Books Selected Web Resources
Finding Articles

Facts and Background Materials

Encyclopedia of Communication and Information — PRINT
REF P87.5.E53 2002
3 volumes. Brief articles on subjects related to communication and information.  Generally has a U.S. perspective.
best resource Encyclopedia of New Media: An Essential Reference to Communication and Technology
– PRINT and ELECTRONIC
REF QA76.575.E5368 2003
Brief articles on people and concepts focused on “new media” such as cds, the world wide web, streaming media, etc.
best resource International Encyclopedia of Communications — PRINT
REF P87.5.I5 1989
4 volumes. Longer articles, heavily illustrated, concerning all aspects of communication, from animal communication to telecommunication networks.
Mass Media & Society — PRINT
REF HM258.M26578 1997
Contains longer scholarly articles on different types of media and media-related issues.
Webster’s New World Dictionary of Media and Communications — PRINT
REF P87.5.W45 1990
Brief definitions of terms related to media and communication.

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on communication:
Try an LC subject search: communication in organizations
mass media
rhetoric
Try a keyword search: communication and ethnography
linguistics and community
Browse the 2nd floor stacks: BF637.C45 Interpersonal Communication
HM1166-1253 Interpersonal Communication/Public Relations
P1-381 Communication/Mass Media/Linguistics

Finding Articles

best resource ComAbstracts — ELECTRONIC
Indexes over 80 important communication journals with links to some full text. Date coverage varies, but most titles are covered for at least the past twenty years.
best resource Communication and Mass Media Complete — ELECTRONIC
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for more than 420 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 600 titles.
best resource Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection — ELECTRONIC
Full text, searchable collection of 16 communication journals. All are indexed and linked through ComAbstracts except for: Discourse Studies, Journal of Communication Inquiry, and Science Communication.
best resource MLA Bibliography — ELECTRONIC
Although primarily known as a source of information on literature, this database contains a substantial number of citations for works on linguistics.
ProQuest Research Library — ELECTRONIC
A large multi-disciplinary database containing information on communication studies and linguistics.
PsycINFO — ELECTRONIC
The premier database on psychology; offers insight into communication issues from a psychological perspective.
Social Science Citation Index — ELECTRONIC
Broad social sciences abstracting and indexing; includes considerable information on communication and linguistics.
Sociological Abstracts — ELECTRONIC
Sociological database which includes information on communication. Best search strategy is to click the “Advanced Search” tab and to search your terms as “Descriptors, DE=” from the drop-down menu.

Writing Guides

The Business Writer’s Handbook — PRINT
HF5726 .B874 2006
The Chicago Guide to Communicating Science — PRINT
T10.5 .M65 2003
Essential Communication Strategies for Scientists, Engineers, and Technology Professionals — PRINT
T10.5 .H57 2003
best resource The IABC Handbook of Organizational Communication : A Guide to Internal Communication, Public Relations, Marketing, and Leadership — PRINT
HD30.36.U5 I56 2006
best resource Ideas into Words : Mastering the Craft of Science Writing — ELECTRONIC
Science and Technical Writing : A Manual of Style — PRINT and ELECTRONIC
T11 .S37 2001
best resource Technical Writing with Style — ELECTRONIC
best resource Writing in Political Science : A Practical Guide — PRINT
JA86 .S36 2000

Selected Web Resources

Brief Guide to Business Writing — WWW
Outline of writing issues and sample business documents, written by two professors in the University of Iowa’s Department of Management and Organizations.
best resource Communication Studies: Associations and Organizations — WWW
There are a large number of communication-related professional associations.  This list of organizations from the University of Washington’s library is one of the most extensive.
best resource Communication Studies: Gender, Race and Ethnicity in Media — WWW
Links to websites, electronic books, and other online sources of information related to diversity issues in communication. From the University of Iowa’s Department of Communication Studies.
best resource Media Literacy Online Project — WWW
Developed by the University of Oregon’s School of Education, this site provides resources that promote media literacy, especially among children and adolescents.  Includes resource links, archived readings, and links to other organizations of interest.
Online Technical Writing — WWW
Online textbook for college-level course in Technical Communication.
Resources for Technical Writers — WWW
Useful website links from Writers Write.
“The Science of Scientific Writing” — WWW
Article by George D. Gopen and Judith A. Swan, originally appearing in American Scientist, 1990.  Contains useful information for understanding scientific communication.

DrexelHumanitiesLib

Opening up the world of poetry
8/5/08 - The Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry Looking >>>


DrexelSocialSciencesLib

So, Who Owns the North Pole?
8/5/08 - Well, it looks like Denmark does. >>>


Quick Search