Print-friendly version
  Couple and Family Therapy
 
 
Suggested Databases Electronic Texts and Reference Resources
Electronic Journals

Selected Web Resources

     Program Homepages:

Suggested Databases

CINAHL (1982-present)  Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: indexes books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas.

ERIC (1966-present)  Educational Resources Information Center: contains citations to education-related research and technical reports, and to journal articles.

MEDLINE (1966-present)  Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.

PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts) (1967-present) Covers books, dissertations and journals in the psychological and behavioral sciences, including the creative arts therapies. Uses the OVID interface and the Thesaurus of Psychological Indexing Terms.

back to top of page

Electronic Journals:

Check catalog for print journals; for a comprehensive list, search "family therapy-periodicals," "marital therapy-periodicals," "family-periodicals" and "marriage-periodicals" as a Subjects.)

back to top of page

Electronic Texts and Reference Resources:

Also see the listing of electronic books and reference resources for all subject areas.

back to top of page

Selected Web Resources: 

Academic and Professional Associations

American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT)
The web site of this organization, which represents 23,000 marriage and family therapists in the United States, Canada and abroad, provides a wealth of information relevant to the clinical practice of marriage and family therapy; includes listings of MFT graduate schools and state licensure boards.
American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy- California Division
This is the homepage of the California Division of AAMFT.  
American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy- Florida Division
This is the homepage of the Florida Division of AAMFT. 
American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy- Middle Atlantic Division
This is the homepage of the Middle Atlantic Division of AAMFT, which includes Maryland, Delaware and the District of Columbia.
American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS)
This national organization represents family and consumer sciences professionals in various practice areas.
American Association of Sexuality Educators, Counselors and Therapists (AASECT)
Devoted to providing professional education and certification of sex educators, counselors and therapists, the AASECT site presents information for those in this field.
American Bar Association Section of  Family Law
This is the web site of the ABA's Section on Family Law, organized in 1958, with the goal of improving the administration of justice in the area of family law.
American Counseling Association (ACA)
Founded in 1952, the ACA is the world's largest association exclusively representing professional counselors.
American Family Therapy Academy (AFTA)
AFTA membership consists of nearly 900 family therapy teachers, researchers and practitioners whose aim is the continued development of the field of family therapy; the Academy is a forum for the discussion of issues in the practice and teaching of family therapy, as well as research and theory.
American Psychological Association, Division of Family Psychology
This Division of APA sees its mission as expanding the study and practice of family psychology, through education, research and clinical practice..
American Psychotherapy Association
This Association was "formed to provide credentialing, standards of practice, professional identity, and self-regulation for the psychotherapy profession."
Association for Family Therapy and Systemic Practice in the UK (AFT)
An Association with a multidisciplinary membership involved in family therapy, AFT deals with credentialing and standards for practice and training in the U.K. site contains a discussion of "what is family therapy?" and tables of contents/abstracts of its publication, Journal of Family Therapy and Context.
British Columbia Association for Marriage & Family Therapy (BCAMFT)
This is the website of this Division of AAMFT.
Collaborative Family Healthcare Association (CFHA)
Founded in 1993, this is a heterogeneous group of individuals, including family therapists, who study, implement and advocate for the "collaborative family health care paradigm."
International Association of Marriage and Family Counselors (IAMFC)
This Association, a division of the American Counseling Association, promotes excellence in the field of family counseling by disseminating publications and providing a forum for issues relevant to families.
International Family Therapy Association (IFTA)
IFTA "is the only organization that provides unity for [family] therapists from east to west." Its web site contains a "web links" section.
Massachusetts Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (MAMFT)
This is the Massachusetts division of AAMFT..
Ontario Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (OAMFT)
This is the Ontario division of AAMFT.
Pennsylvania Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (PAMFT)
This is the Pennsylvania division of AAMFT.
Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality (SSSS)
The web site of this international organization, based in Allentown, PA, which is dedicated to the "advancement of knowledge about sexuality."
Stepfamily Association of America (SAA)
SAA is a non-profit association dedicated to promoting successful stepfamily living; its site provides educational information and resources for those interested in stepfamilies and stepfamily issues.
Virginia Association for Marriage and Family Therapy
This is the Virginia division of AAMFT; it contains a nice discussion entitled "About Marriage and Family Therapy."

back to top of page

Other Resources

Ackerman Institute for the Family
This not-for-profit agency, dedicated to family therapy and the study of families, presents information about the training, treatment and research going on at the Institute.
Administration for Children and Families (ACF), U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services
This is the home page of the ACF, a federal agency that funds family assistance programs; included is information abut programs, contracts, grants, conferences, etc.
Allyn & Bacon Family Therapy Website
Contains general information about family therapy, web links, a historical overview, biographical profiles of therapists, a time line, etc..
ANZJFT: Australia and New Zealand Journal of Family Therapy Web Site
This web site, based on concepts discussed in the ANZJFT, represents family therapy in Australia and New Zealand.
Australian Institute of Family Studies (AIFS)
This governmental agency, created in 1980, aims to promote the "identification and understanding of factors affecting marital and family stability in Australia."
Brief Family Therapy Center (BFTC)
This is the homepage of the BFTC, a not-for-profit research and training center founded in 1978.
Children, Youth and Family Consortium (CYFC)
This web site provides information and links to information about children and families.
Council on Contemporary Families (CCF)
Founded in 1996, this nonprofit group's membership consists of "noted national noted family researchers, mental health and social work practitioners, and clinicians"; its goal is to enhance "the national conversation about what contemporary families need and how these needs can best be met."
Don Jackson Web Site
While primarily a tribute to Don Jackson, a founding father of family therapy, this web site is useful from a historical standpoint.
Family & Marriage Counseling  Directory
Started in 2003, this is a multi-disciplinary state-by-state directory of family and marriage counselors, including group practices.
Family Institute of Cambridge
A Watertown, Massachusetts provider of post-graduate training (with CEUs) for professionals working with families, its site contains notices of its courses, workshops, etc.
Family Re-Union
This site consists of reports, speeches and resources from the annual Family Reunion conferences, which are moderated by former Vice-President and Mrs. Gore; each conference is devoted to a different topic of importance to families.
FamilyScholar.com
This web site provides featues the Family Scholar Directory; Family Index Database; Family Program Directory; Academic Journal Directory; and other relevant information.
Family Solutions Institute
Web site of this Boston-area which provides workshops in preparation for the Marriage & Family Therapy National Licensing Examination.
Institute of Family Therapy (IFT)
Located in London, IFT offers services to families, couples and other relationship groups, as well as training programs for family therapists.
Kinsey Institute for Research in Sex, Gender, and Reproduction
The Institute's mission is "to promote interdisciplinary research and scholarship in the fields of human sexuality, gender, and reproduction"; its web site contains information and links to information about sex therapy and sexuality.
MFT InfoConnection
Provides a lengthy list of links to marital and family resources, etc.
MFTSource
This site is intended to assisted MFTs seeking resources for marriage and family therapy; includes not only web resources, articles, radio broadcasts, journals, reading lists and general information.
National Council on Family Relations (NCFR)
NCFR "provides a forum for family researchers, educators, and practitioners to share in the development and dissemination of knowledge about families and family relationships, establishes professional standards..."
National Council on Family Relations Family Therapy Section
This is NCFR's family therapy division, which addresses couple and family therapy.
National Credentialing Academy (NCA) for Certified Family Therapists
The web site of the Academy, a national credentialing body for certification in family therapy.
One Plus One
This is the web site of an independent U.K.-based research organization that deals with marital and family relationships; contains a section of "faqs" about marriage, divorce and relationships and a compilation of statistics relative to the U.K.
Sexual Disorders Information Sites on the Web- Recommended Resources
Provides a list (with links) of the authors' preferred sites on sex disorders
Sexuality Information and Education Council of the U.S. (SIECUS)
SIECUS is a national, nonprofit organization that "develops, collects, and disseminates information..."
Smart Marriages: The Coalition for Marriage, Family and Couples Education 
Presents information about the Coalition's programs and offerings, as well as articles and information.

back to top of page

Directories

back to top of page

Drexel University
Health Sciences Libraries


Hahnemann Library
Center City Campus
1st and 2nd floors, New College Building
245 No. 15th Street

For Reference Assistance:

  215-762-7184
  Hours


Queen Lane Library
College of Medicine Campus
1st floor, Drexel University College of Medicine Campus
2900 Queen Lane

For Reference Assistance:

  215-991-8749
  Hours


Health Sciences Libraries Reference Librarians

Ask us a Question!

IM the Hahnemann Library:



Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Linda Katz
Content Editor Email:
linda.katz@drexel.edu
Last Content Update:
May 14, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 01-Jul-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections