Resource Guide: Current Awareness and Alerting Services

Using This Guide Further Assistance or Feedback

NOTE - Current Awareness services, also called Alerting Services, help users keep up-to-date with the newest publications and latest developments in different fields.

When information is added to a journal, or when new information about a particular subject becomes available, alerting services will automatically notify you via email.

NOTE - It is possible to receive email updates about a journal even if Drexel does not have access to the journal. &nbspDo not assume Drexel has a paid subscription based on an email update or alert.  It is helpful to have the Alerts even if there is no Subscription - you can request the journal through Document Delivery or other document sharing services.
Jay Bhatt
Information Services Librarian - Engineering
PHONE: 215-895-1873
EMAIL: bhattjj@drexel.edu
Click Here For More Information

Andy Wheeler
Information Resources Technician - Engineering
PHONE: 215-895-2782
EMAIL: adw29@drexel.edu
Click Here For More Information




Sections To This Guide
To see a description, choose one of the following links.  Additional links to the actual resources are included in the descriptions.

American Chemical Society's ASAP

American Society of Civil Engineers- ASCE

BioMedNet

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts(CSA) Alerts

CatchWord Alerts

Community of Science

Drexel University, College Of Arts and Sciences News

Drexel University, College Of Engineering News

EEVL (Edinburgh Engineering virtual Library) Current Awareness Services
EiVillage Alerts

Emerald Alert

EurekAlert

Highwire Alerts

IEEE - What's new? and IEEE Xplore Email Alerts

ingenta/UnCoverReveal

Institute of Physics (IoP) Alerts

Kluwer Journals & Alert

Librarians' Resource Center

Medfetch

Nature
NSDL (National Science Digital Library) Scout Report

NSF E-bulletin

Oxford Journals

Office of Science SC Alerts

OVID Autoalerts

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences

The Royal Society

Science

ScienceDirect

The Scientist

Springer

Web of Science Alerts



Other Resources
Requesting Materials From Other Libraries
We recommend using PALCI E-ZBorrow to obtain books from other libraries. You may also use Document Delivery to request standards, journals, articles, books and other materials from other libraries.
Click Here

Using the Hagerty Library Catalog

TOP



Current Awareness and Alert Services
American Chemical Society's ASAP
ASAP Alerts is a new FREE service that brings the latest research posted to ACS Web Editions.  ASAP Alerts features announcements of newly available A.S.A.P (As Soon As Publishable) articles from each of ACS' 28 Web Editions.  Users can sign up to receive e-mail notices on a weekly basis or on the same day the articles are posted.  The message contains the title, author, journal name, official Web publication date, and direct URL link to the full article on the Web.  Register for ASAP alerts by filling out form including your email address.  You will receive one e-mail for each journal you sign up for, either weekly or daily--depending on the frequency you choose.

TOP

American Society of Civil Engineers - ASCE
Receive table of contents alerts as the newest issues of ASCE journals are published.  You have the option of receiving alerts in plain text or HTML format (note: alerts in HTML format are fully linked to abstracts and full text.) The service is free, simply register with an email address and choose the journals for which you like to receive alerts.  To sign up or read additional information on the ASCE alerts, click here.

TOP

BioMedNet
BioMedNet is a collection of scientific resources published on the Internet.  Using BioMedNet, you can find information on journals, books, research papers, jobs, and scientific products.  To receive the free Table of Content's Email Alert , go to BioMedNet Alerts page.

TOP

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts(CSA) Alerts
To use the alert service of Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, you must perform a search then save the search as an alert (after you perform a search, click on the "Save Search/Alert" button on the screen and follow the instructions). The Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) provides bibliographic databases in science and technology.  Alerts can be emailed to you on your research topic.

TOP

Free Table of Contents Alerts from Ingenta - Formerly CatchWord Alerts
CatchWord's free Table of Contents Alerting Service will email you the contents page of any chosen journal whenever the latest issue becomes available online.  Anyone can request e-mail alerts: you do not have to be a subscriber to the particular journal or database.  Sign Up Here.

TOP

Community of Science
The Community Of Science includes COS Funding Alerts and COS Funding News.  For complete details, visit the COS Services page.  NOTE:  You will need to create a profile before you can take full advantage of this resource.  COS Funding Opportunities is the most comprehensive source of funding information available on the Web, with more than 15,500 awards from around the world.  Categories include: Graduate Student Update, Postdoctoral Update, Small Business Update, Undergraduate Update, Behavioral & Social Sciences Update, Health & Medical Sciences Update, Physical Sciences Update Canadian Update, and United Kingdom Update.  

TOP

EEVL (Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library) Current Awareness Services
EEVL provides a central access point to networked Engineering information for the UK higher education and research community, and anyone else who may be looking for networked engineering information.  Resources being added to the catalogue are selected, catalogued, classified and subject-indexed by experts to ensure that only current, high-quality or useful resources are included.  Current Awareness Services section provides comprehensive compilation of other awareness services such as Sci-Tech Library Newsletter, New Sites by Week - Donald W. Craik Engineering Library , and INFOMINE: What's New! Physical Sciences, Engineering, Computing & Math.  Also, provides access to various current awareness resources for new engineering books, new engineering articles, conferences, symposia and conference papers.

TOP

EiVillage Alerts
Create an EiVillage's Personal Account, perform a search, then choose 'save search' at the bottom of the screen.  You will also have the option to create an Email Alert based on the search parameters.  Visit EiVillage for more details.

TOP

Emerald Alert
Emerald's alerting service emails the contents of journals you choose from the major management disciplines (marketing, human resources, organizational development, information management, and quality and operations management).  There are two options for this free alerting service: 1) Saved Search (adding your searches to an alert profile will result in future emails containing citations that match the search in your selected database) 2.) Table Of Contents (as new issues of any journals you choose become available, an email containing the table of contents for that journal will be sent to you).  Go to the Emerald Fulltext and choose "Manage Saved Search Alerts" from the list of links on the left side of the screen.

TOP

EurekAlert
EurekAlert is a comprehensive Web site about the latest research advances in science, medicine, health, and technology.  EurekAlert posts material from scientific journals, research institutions, government agencies, companies, and nonprofit organizations, offering "one-stop shopping" for up-to-date research information that was previously disseminated piecemeal.  New information is added daily.  To use this service, go to EurekAlert and select links from Grants/Awards/Books, Meeting Announcements, Links/Resources, Calendar, and News by Subject.  Tables of contents of many scientific journals such as Journal of American Medical Association (JAMA), British Medical Journal (BMJ) and Biophysical Journal can be accessed from peer-reviewed research journals.

TOP

Highwire Alerts
Register for a free account and you can sign up for two types of alerts with Highwire Press, Stanford University's online production of scientific journals.  First, you can choose to receive Tables of Contents or notification that an issue has gone online.  Second, CiteTrack will alert you by email whenever new content is added to Highwire journals dealing with the topics (keywords/subjects, authors, or articles) that you specify.  Just register for the free account under My Email Alerts, wait for your email confirmation (about 5 min.), log in, and complete your profile information for either or both of the alerts you want.  You can build separate profiles for each alert and the emails will come with the "alert name" in the subject line.

TOP

IEEE - "What's new?" and "IEEE Xplore Email Alerts"
WHAT'S NEW @ IEEE, is a complimentary monthly electronic newsletter.  What's New will keep you informed about IEEE's library related activities, policies, and periodicals releases.  To receive your free subscription, go to What's New@IEEE and formally subscribe by entering your E-mail address.  IEEE Xplore Email Alerts notify you by email when new issues of the journals and magazines you request become available.  Xplore provides full text access to journals and magazines available to you after submitting your name and email address.  The email will include as many journals as you choose and the table of contents for each issue.  (Note: conference proceedings and standards are not available for email alerts.)

TOP

ingenta and ingenta/UnCover
eJournal alerts are available through ingenta.  Create a user name and password.  Sign in and choose "manage my ingenta".  Choose "my e-journal alerts" and follow the instructions.  Sign up for Research Alerts at ingenta UnCover.

TOP

Institute of Physics (IoP) Alerts
Institute of Physics (IoP) Alerts service is designed to keep you up-to-date with the publication of new articles within your chosen subject area.  Whenever a new article corresponding to your selection becomes available, you will automatically receive an e-mail message containing the article details.  To sign up, go to IoP Journals Online.  Choose "Journals".  Near the top right of the Journals page are links for "Login", "Create account", and "Alerts".  Use those links to create your own IoP email alerts.

TOP

Kluwer Journals & Alert
Kluwer ALERT is a free notification service that you can use to receive updates about new scientific publications, as well as forthcoming articles from any of Kluwer's Journals.  Register by subject, journal, or book series (or register separately for more than one!).  Searchable tables of contents of over 350 Kluwer journals, many of which are in science and technology.  From this page you can select a specific journal or, to search all journals, select any journal and scroll down to the search form.  Select 'Browse through the Table of Contents' for the journal of your choice

TOP

Librarians' Resource Center
Librarians' Resource Center provides monthly annotated listing of new and useful sites in various categories such as business, commercial database vendors, engineering science and technology, government and web publishing and many others.  To subscribe to receive regular updates, send an email to: librariansresourcecentre-subscribe@yahoogroups.com.

TOP

Medfetch
MedFetch is a web based software program for querying the world's greatest medical databases.  As new information is added, MedFetch scans the database according to your search terms.  Once you set up an Automated Medline Query (AMQ), any NEW citation that is added to the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE which matches your search terms, will be e-mailed directly to you.  To use this service, you will need to Register at Medfetch (click on "accept" to continue the registration process) and set up your Automated Medline Queries according to the instructions given at this site.  Any matches in the last 30 days are e-mailed to you.  From then on, the search is run over and over again.  You do not receive duplicates.

TOP

Nature Alerts
Register here to receive emails about the newest online issues of Nature and its sister publications.  Nature's Email Alerts will send you content information and links to your areas of interest.

TOP

NSDL (National Science Digital Library) Scout Report
The Scout Report is the flagship publication of the Internet Scout Project.  Published every Friday both on the web and by email, it provides a fast, convenient way to stay informed of valuable resources on the Internet.  Select NSDL Report Subscriptions to subscribe to bi-weekly reports covering the best new and newly discovered online resources in the Physical & Life Sciences, Math, Engineering and Technology.  By selecting The Scout Report you will be able to access current scout reports for science and engineering, social sciences, and business and economics.

TOP

NSF E-bulletin
The E-bulletin announces key dates on which grant proposals are due at NSF for the current 4 months.  In most cases, the time between announcement and deadline is at least three months.  To use this service, select NSF E-bulletin which provides up to date information on the due dates of NSF grants and other funding opportunities.  To receive the E-bulletin via email, use the form at: E-bulletin via email and subscribe to the monthly edition, or unsubscribe by entering your email address.

TOP

Office of Science SC Alerts
SC Alerts is a customized service developed by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) for the Office of Science. The E-print Network will notify individual users by e-mail on a weekly schedule whenever documents matching search terms are indexed or added to the Deep Web selected databases. The E-print Network, the power that operates the SC Alerts service, is a searchable gateway to over 12,000 Web sites and databases worldwide, containing e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies, and other disciplines of interest to DOE.

SC Alerts is the first alerting service that harvests information from the deep web, where the underlying content of selected web sites and databases is searched rather than only surface pages of web sites. The SC Alerts service is free, and in most cases, access to the full-text information is open and free of charge. You will need to first register by going to Register as a First-time User.

TOP

Oxford Journals
To receive via e-mail the latest table of contents for any journal(s) from Oxford, go to Table of Contents Emailing Service and choose journal(s) of your choice.  Tables of contents and abstracts are freely available to anyone visiting their web site.

TOP

OVID Autoalerts
An AutoAlert (SDI) is a saved search that runs automatically without any intervention on your part.  When you save an AutoAlert (SDI) in a database, the AutoAlert runs periodically.  Whenever it is run, the AutoAlert profile retrieves newly-added documents on your topic and emails them to you.  You can also choose to run the AutoAlert manually.  Depending on how your site is configured, you may have the option of selecting the database updates to be included when the AutoAlert runs.  The AutoAlert (SDI) feature is available only if it has been enabled by your system administrator.  AutoAlerts (SDIs) are searches which are saved permanently for a particular database and are executed whenever the specified database is updated.  When they are executed, newly-added documents which match search criteria are emailed to a designated recipient.  To create an AutoAlert, run your search in the desired Ovid database and click the Save Search History button on the Main Search page.  Click on 'Save Search History'.  Save your search as as an 'AutoAlert SDI service'.  Give a search name for your alert, and include your email address.  Select citation fields that you want them to appear in your email alerts.  Click on 'Save Search'.  See See OVID help for more details

TOP

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences
Two types of Email Alerts are available to PNAS Online users - CiteTrack and Contents Awareness Service:
CiteTrack will alert you by email whenever new content in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences or a participating journal is published that matches criteria based on the topics, authors and articles you want to track.  This feature is only available to individual subscribers.  Read a detailed description of CiteTrack or sign up for CiteTrack  Contents Awareness Service allows anyone who registers their address to be notified via email when new content goes online.  You may choose to receive any or all of the following: notification that a new issue of PNAS is online, complete table of contents (eTOC) for new issues, or special announcements from NAS.  If you would like this service, sign up for the Contents Awareness Service

TOP

The Royal Society
An independent national academy founded in 1660, the Royal Society supports scientific researchers and publishes five peer-reviewed journals, along with promoting international interaction concerning issues in science.  The Society represents not only the scientific community within Britain, but relations with scientists and scientific organizations throughout the world.  To receive Table of Contents email alerts, choose 'Proceedings A' or 'Proceedings B' and then 'Alerts' on the following screen.  Enter your name and email address.  Once you have registered, you will have the option of selecting or deleting potential journals from your list.

TOP

Science
Science offers several Email Alerts.  Sign up to receive the table of contents for new issues of Science, job alerts, content awareness alerts, and next wave updates (a weekly summary of new content from this career resource publication for young scientists).

TOP

ScienceDirect
Click over to ScienceDirect and choose "My Alerts".  Follow directions to create a profile and alerts.

TOP

The Scientist
THE SCIENTIST, the News Journal for the Life Scientist, provides a new alert service at The Scientist.  At this site after you register with an email address, members will receive biweekly e-mail notification of the contents of the latest issue of The Scientist.  The Scientist is the first and only news journal for scientists which is freely available in full text on the web.  The Scientist provides an open forum for examination and discussion of issues in research, technology, employment, funding, policy and other subjects important to the life scientist.

TOP

Springer
You can receive the table of contents of any journal that interests you as soon as it is retrievable via Springer LINK.  Follow the "Alert" link to create Table of Contents Alerts and Keyword Alerts.

TOP

Web of Science Alerts
With ISI Web of Science alerts, you can receive your weekly email alerts based on your search preferences. To set up your search preferences, go to ISI Web of Knowledge and click on 'Register'. Enter your e-mail address, password, and name in the form and click "Submit Registration." Once you are registered, you can set up an alert for selected journal titles by going to 'Create My Journal List' and Table of Contents Alerts.

To set up a cited author or cited reference alert, sign in to ISI Web of Knowledge with your email address and password, then go to ISI Web of Science database. Perform your search. Click the Advanced Search button. Then click the "save history" button. Under "Save on the ISI Web of Knowledge Server" enter a name for the alert in the 'History Name box. Mark the box next to "send me e-mail alerts." Enter your e-mail address and specify the type of alert you'd like to receive. Please remember that "notify only" will not contain any bibliographic information in your e-mail. Select "biblio" or "full record" to receive the results of your search via e-mail. Click "save."Then click Done.

The name of your alert will display on the ISI Web of Knowledge page under "Open/Manage Saved Searches" along with an asterisk, indicating that alerting is active. In the "Open/Manage Saved Searches" area, you are able to update, renew or delete your alert. There is more information about this on the ISI Web of Knowledge page.

TOP


 

  About the Libraries
Hagerty Library  arrowl

Health Sciences Libraries  arrowl


Earle Mack School of Law Library    arrowl
Content Editor:
Content editor
Last Content Update:
March 28, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 10-Jul-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections