Drexel University Libraries
home home catalog resources study guides services about the libraries
Drexel University Libraries
                 
 
Drug Information

Suggested Databases Selected Web Resources:
Electronic Journals
Electronic Texts and Reference Resources

Suggested Databases

MEDLINE (1996 - present) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.

MDConsult MD Consult provides access to over 36 medical texts, articles from more than 46 clinical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, 2,500 patient education handouts, CME, and daily medical updates. MDConsult uses an individual username and password to customize the pages you see.


Electronic Journals

(Check catalog for print journals; for a comprehensive list, search “Pharmacology-periodicals” as a Subject.)


Electronic Texts and Reference Resources

Please see “Selected Web Resources: Reference” below for links to free drug information resources available on the Web.

Also see the listing of selected health sciences electronic books and electronic reference resources.


Selected Web Resources

Clinical Trials

Cancer Trials - National Cancer Institute
Clinical trials information resource from the National Cancer Institute. Includes access to the NCI’s Trial Database (PDQ).
CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service
Information on clinical trials for interested patients and research professionals. Includes listings of some industry-sponsored trials.
ClinicalTrials.gov: Linking Patients to Medical Research
The NIH through its National Library of Medicine, has developed ClinicalTrials.gov to provide patients, family members and the public current information about clinical research studies. The database allows browsing by condition or sponsor, and search capabilities. It is possible to limit results to those studies currently recruiting patients.
Oncolink’s Clinical Trials Page

Information on clinical trials of Cancer Drugs maintained by University of Pennsylvania cancer specialists.

Other Resources

Approved Drug Products
FDA database also known as “the orange book”.

Clinical Pharmacology Online

Searchable database of drug information on most medications used in clinical practice, as well as some that are close to FDA approval. Also includes patient information sections. Requires free registration.


DRUGFACTS.com
A commercial site that provides authoritative drug, herbal, disease, and patient information. Access to some services requires free registration. Designed for pharmacists and other healthcare professionals.

Drugs in Pregnancy and Breastfeeding

From the Harbor UCLA Medical Center Ob/Gyn department. Categorizes common drugs and drug classes by risk to pregnancy.

Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Website of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, which includes a link to the Approved Drug Products Database.
HerbMed
Database of herbal medicines, with links to scientific evidence and anecdotal reports on their efficacy, mechanisms of action, preparations, suppliers, contraindications, and adverse effects.
Internet Drug News
This site features timely drug/research news as well as pharmacy, medicine, pharmaceutical sales, and drug information.
Lexi-Comp: New Drugs Reference Library

Drug information on medications recently approved by the FDA or close to approval. Publisher site that specializes in drug information resources. This section can be accessed free, access to other sections of Clinical Reference Library requires subscription.
MEDLINEplus: Drug Information

The National Library of Medicine’s consumer guide to more than 9,000 prescription and over-the-counter medications.

Office of National Drug Control Policy
A governmental site that provides information on policies, prevention, treatment, and a variety of links dealing with illegal drugs.
PharmWeb

An extensive information database and directory of pharmacy information resources.

MediLexicon
A database of pharmaceutical and medical abbreviations.
RxList: The Internet Drug Index
Information about drugs on the U.S. market or close to approval.
StreetDrugs.org
An index focused on illegal drugs providing basic information.
TOXNET - Toxicology Data Network

National Library of Medicine site devoted to databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.

USP - United States Pharmacopeia (USP)

Provides official standards and authoritative information on medicines, dietary supplements, and other health care products.

Directories

Martindale’s “Virtual” Pharmacy Center

Extensive resources in pharmacy, pharmacology, clinical pharmacology and toxicology.

Virtual Library Pharmacy
A compilation of sites related to Pharmacy, including links to pharmaceutical companies, and pharmacy schools.

Reprise: CINAHL now available only through EBSCO
9/30/08
In early July, the Libraries announced that the CINAHL database would now >>>

Quick Search