Print-friendly version
  Evidence-based Medicine
 
 
Suggested Databases Selected Web Resources:
 

Suggested Databases:
These suggested databases are only available to Drexel University students, faculty, etc. For more information regarding priviledges at the Drexel University Libraries, click here.

ACP Journal Club
The editors of ACP Journal Club screen the top clinical journals for studies that are both methodologically sound and clinically relevant. They write an enhanced abstract of the chosen articles and provide a commentary on the value of the article for clinical practice.  See also ACP Online, below.

Cochrane Methodology Register Database Guide is a database of studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of healthcare and social interventions.  The database includes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, conference abstracts and reports of ongoing methodological research. The register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies that could be relevant for inclusion in a Cochrane methodology review, along with comparative and descriptive studies relevant to the conduct of systematic reviews of healthcare interventions.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. Each issue of COCH contains new and updated reviews and protocols.

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE)  is a Full Text   database containing critical assessments of systematic reviews from a variety of medical journals. DARE is produced by the expert reviewers and information staff of the National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York, England, and consists of structured abstracts of systematic reviews from all over the world. DARE records cover topics such as diagnosis, prevention, rehabilitation, screening, and treatment. See also NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, below.

Health Technology Assessment is produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD), the Health Technology Assessment database brings together details on ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions). The abstracts in the database are descriptive rather than analytical and do not provide critical appraisals of the reports, as the reports have not been evaluated by reviewers from the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination.

MEDLINE
(1996 - present) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.

NHS Economic Evaluation Database The NHS Economic Evaluation Database contains thousands of abstracts representing quality assessed economic evaluations. The database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses.

Also see the listing of electronic books and reference resources for all subject areas.

Selected Web Resources:
Instructional and Reference Resources:

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine - Toronto
The goal of this website is to help develop, disseminate, and evaluate resources that can be used to practice and teach EBM for a variety of clinical disciplines. This site also serves as a support for the book entitled, "Evidence-based Medicine: How to practice and teach EBM" by David L. Sackett and colleagues.

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine-Oxford University 
Homepage for one of the leading worldwide centers for evidence-based medicine, contains articles about the philosophy and practice of EBM as well as some useful analytical tools.
EBM Page Generator  
This website allows users to build thier own customized page of EBM links.  It was developed by Dartmouth College and Yale University.

Evidence-Based Medicine Tool Kit
Search strategies, users' guides to the medical literature and a glossary from the University of Alberta.
 
SUNY Health Sciences Evidence-Based Medicine Course
An online textbook that covers the purposes of EBM, research methods, how to search relevant databases, how to use search results in answering patient-related questions, and how to evaluate clinical studies.

Users' Guides to Evidence Based Practice
The Centres for Health Evidence's user guides are largely based on the Users Guides to Evidence-based Medicine developed by the Evidence-Based Medicine Working Group and published in JAMA.

back to top of page

Electronic Journals and Databases

National Guidelines Clearinghouse
The National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) , U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC was originally created by AHRQ in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.
AHRQ Preventive Services
AHRQ provides access to scientific evidence, recommendations on clinical preventive services, and information on how to implement recommended preventive services in clinical practice.

ACP Journal Club
Searchable database of past ACP Journal Club articles. Only ACP Members can view full text reviews. Drexel University personnel have full access through Ovid's EBM Reviews feature.
 
Bandolier
British EBM publication highlighting recent systematic reviews and other evidence-based health care research. Searchable database of past articles.

Journal of Family Practice POEMs
Searchable database of POEMS (Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters) from the Journal of Family Practice. POEMS are summaries similar to ACPJC articles in methodology and format, targeted at family practitioners, but most summaries are very useful for internists. Requires a subscription.

NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York 
Contains the York Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), a searchable database of abstracts of high-quality systematic reviews from the Cochrane Library and other sources. Site also hosts the NHS Economic Evaluation Database with abstracts of economic and cost-effective analyses.

PubMed Clinical Queries 
MEDLINE search page using research methodology filters developed by Haynes RB et al.

Therapeutics Letter
A bi-monthly letter designed for physicians and pharmacist providing up to date, evidence based, practical information on drugs for problematic medical conditions. Therapeutics Letter is a publication of the Therapeutics Initiative project based at the University of British Columbia.

TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)
Contains the TRIP Database, a directory of medical links to high-quality sources of medical information on the web. Links to hundreds of other medical databases on the Web through a search engine, including those sites listed above. Search tips are listed on the search page, and click on "For more extensive search tips click here" at the bottom of the page for more advanced techniques.
back to top of page

EBM Lists and Directories:
Netting the Evidence: A ScHARR Introduction to Evidence Based Practice on the Internet
A good, searchable list of useful links to Evidence-Based Medicine resources on the Internet.

University of Washington Evidence-Based Medicine and Guidelines
A useful list of links to sites with online evidence-based information, glossaries, statistical calculators and guidelines.
General Medical Directories and Lists:

Diseases, Disorders and Related Topics, Karolinska Institute Library

Links to biomedical sites organized by MeSH headings.

Medical Matrix
Ranked, peer-reviewed, annotated clinical medicine resources, categorized by specialty, publication type, and audience level. Requires a subscription.  

MedWeb
A searchable collection of links to medical web sites from Emory University Health Sciences Center Library. Includes an alphabetic list of web pages and articles related to Evidence-Based Medicine.

Medical World Search
Indexes full content of the best medical Web sites, using medical terms. Requires free registration.

back to top of page



This web page was developed by Eric Vogel, M.D. for use with the Ambulatory Care Rotation Workshop, College of Medicine Internal Medicine Residency.

Drexel University
Health Sciences Libraries


Hahnemann Library
Center City Campus
1st and 2nd floors, New College Building
245 No. 15th Street

For Reference Assistance:

  215-762-7184
  Hours


Queen Lane Library
College of Medicine Campus
1st floor, Drexel University College of Medicine Campus
2900 Queen Lane

For Reference Assistance:

  215-991-8749
  Hours


Health Sciences Libraries Reference Librarians

Ask us a Question!

IM the Hahnemann Library:



Hagerty Library Reference Desk

Reference Desk Hours

Reference Desk Phone:
215-895-2755

Content Editor:
Gary Childs
Content Editor Email:
gary.childs@drexel.edu
Last Content Update:
March 13, 2008





Drexel University Libraries | 33rd & Market Streets | Philadelphia, PA, USA 19104 | (215) 895-1500
Copyright © 2008 Drexel University Libraries

Modified 11-Jun-2008 Drexel Libraries Home Law Library Home Contact Us Site Search/Index Feedback/Corrections