| |
Print-friendly version
|
| |
|
| |
|
| |
|
| |
|
| |
|
| |
Search the library catalog for books on education using the keyword, subject or title options. If you do not find the book you need, ask a libriarian or check for the title in
E-ZBorrow, our self-service interlibrary loan system. |
| |
Try a keyword search: |
education AND distance learning |
| |
Try a subject search: |
Distance Education United States |
| |
[Top] |
| |
|
| |
|
|
Education Periodicals 1986-Present -- ELECTRONIC
Professional magazines and periodicals related to all aspects of education and education-related issues. Provides full-text access to over 350 education journals, as part of the larger Proquest database. |
|
1) ERIC on FirstSearch 1967-present (see SFX links for full text) -- ELECTRONIC
Journal articles, agency reports, and much more. The authoritative repository for the teaching discipline published by the Federal Department of Education.
SPECIAL NOTICE: I recommend trying your search in both platforms - results may differ!
SEARCH TIPS: On the FirstSearch platform, use the thesaurus to identify your terms, then search using "descriptors" or "descriptor phrases" options in the Advanced Search.
Consult the guide to ERIC resources to get the most out of this vast database. |
|
2) ERIC.ed.gov - on free web (see "Find in a Library" links for full text) -- WEB
SEARCH TIPS: On the free web platform, use the thesaurus to identify your search terms. Then in Advanced Search, specify your terms as "descriptors" and place quotes around them. |
| |
Professional Development Collection 1887-present -- ELECTRONIC
Contains fulltext and abstracts of dozens of education-related journals and targeted toward the professional educator as a resource for professional development. |
| |
Web of Science -- ELECTRONIC
This abstract-only source covers high impact education journals as well as most other academic topics. Through its citation tracking, ranking and sorting features you can quickly identify seminal papers of interest and, through SFX links, find full-text. Try the various "analyze" features. Its unique capabilities makes this an indispensable tool for graduate-level researchers tracking the influence of an idea across multiple papers and authors over time. |
| |
Wilson Omni File - Education Sub-file -- ELECTRONIC
Contains indexed and abstracted articles from periodicals in many disciplines, all with full text online. NOTE: Within the main Wilson interface, scroll to "Education" in the "subject" area to limit your search to just education resoures. |
| |
[Top] |
| |
|
| |
|
| |
A great place to start your research for basic definitions - and bibliographies. Find Drexel's education-related encyclopedias and handbooks using a keyword search in the library catalog for "encyclopedia AND education AND ... " (the term of your choice). Links to some favorites follow. |
|
Encyclopedia of Education -- ELECTRONIC and PRINT
Hagerty Ref LB15 .E47 2003 v. 1-8 |
| |
Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology -- ELECTRONIC
|
| |
Encyclopedia of Distance Learning -- ELECTRONIC and PRINT
Hagerty Ref LC5211 .E516 2005 v. 1-4 |
| |
Encyclopedia of School Psychology -- ELECTRONIC |
| |
Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education -- PRINT
Hagerty Ref LC1099.3 .H35 2004 |
|
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences -- ELECTRONIC &PRINT
Hagerty Ref H41 .I58 2001 v.1-26 (See link for "Search this Title" on left - not the search box up above.) |
| |
[Top] |
| |
|
| |
|
| |
HAPI - (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) -- ELECTRONIC
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, etc.) for the health and psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Note: provides a short description of the test and a reference to the literature where it was first mentioned, but not the test itself. |
|
Mental Measurements Yearbook -- ELECTRONIC
Gives descriptive information about and critical reviews of standardized tests- educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement and intelligence with details on validity and reliability. Note: does not provide a copy of the test itself but includes the contact information for the publisher and last known pricing. |
| |
PsycINFO via OVID 1887-present -- ELECTRONIC
See the second-to-last link for PsycINFO on the page linked here. Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations in the fields of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines (including education, educational psychology and assessment.) Delivered through the "OVID" interface that also hosts other medical databases. Follow the links for "Ovid Full Text" or the "SFX" buttons to find full text.
SEARCH TIPS:
Basic Search: Separate your search terms by the word "AND". Then review results using the left-hand side "Search Aid" to narrow your results, browsing by Subjects.
Advanced Search: Search one concept at a time, keeping the "Map Term to Subject Heading" option checked. If your concept maps to indexing terms, select the ones that best match the aspect you want, and click "Continue." Then review your "Search history" and select the checkbox for each concept you want to keep. Then see below the individual searches for the option to "Combine Selections With" ... click the "AND" button. This yields the most authoritative search that leverages the deep indexing of this database. |
| |
[Top] |
| |
|
| |
|
| |
Book Collection (via Library Catalog) -- PRINT
For theses written at Drexel University, search the library catalog using the author's name or keyword access. Education theses are browseable in the collection on the second floor in the call number range LB1000. |
|
Digital Dissertations -- ELECTRONIC
For electronic versions of Drexel dissertations, full-text is available online since 1997 and abstracts plus 24 preview pages are available for non-Drexel dissertations. Non-Drexel theses can be requested in hard copy via Drexel Interlibrary Loan, or requested via our Inter-Library Loan service ILLiad. Keyword searchable abstracts are available for all dissertations 1861-Present. Great for graduate students to see samples. |
| |
[Top] |
| |
|
| |
|
|
Educator's Reference Desk --- WWW
Excellent links to over 3000 resources on a variety of educational issues. This collection includes Internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups. |
|
Learning Central: by Drexel's School of Education --- WWW
A compendium of links to the central ideas, teaching philosophies and primary texts available on the web that are referred to across most Teacher Education courses. |
| |
Greatschools.net --- WWW
A good site for determining the name of a school district for a particular location; also provides basic statistics on the school level and (unverified) comments from parents. |
| |
National Education Association --- WWW
Oldest and largest organization devoted to the advancement of public education, ranging from pre-school to university graduate programs. Be sure to visit their "hot topics" section. |
|
National Center For Educational Statistics --- WWW
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations. Includes School District Demographics with school district-level demographics from the 1990 and 2000 census. A project of the United States. Department of Education. |
| |
Rich Media Sources (images, clipart & videos)
* AccuNet/Associated Press Multimedia Archive --- ELECTRONIC
Millions of Associated Press news photos, over 50,000 maps, charts, timelines and other graphics used by newspapers. Over a million audio clips from historic events, and the text of all AP briefs filed since 1997. All licensed for Drexel use in academic presentations (though not for publication or posting on the web).
SPECIAL FEATURE: Use the “correlations” option to find images related to standardized k-12 curricula in any state!
* Images for Presentations & Instruction -- (another Drexel Library research guide) |
| |
[Top] |
| |
|
| |
|
|
Kraus Curriculum Development Library Online (KCDL Online) -- ELECTRONIC
Provides curriculum information on a variety of subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education. Access to over 5,000 curriculas, searchable by subject, keywords, forms of educational content, grades covered and geographic location.
|
| |
Photos, Images & Graphics
* AccuNet/Associated Press Multimedia Archive --- ELECTRONIC
Millions of Associated Press news photos, over 50,000 maps, charts, timelines and other graphics used by newspapers. Over a million audio clips from historic events, and the text of all AP briefs filed since 1997. All licensed for Drexel use in presentations (though not for publication or posting on the web).
* Images for Presentations & Instruction -- (another Drexel Library research guide) |
| |
Selected Websites --- WWW
* TeacherSource - PBS site; more than 3,500 lesson plans and activities.
* Utah Education Network - Provides curriculum resources, learning projects and tools, and much more. |