image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Higher Education

Finding Books Dissertations
Finding Articles Special Concentrations
Reference Statistics
News

Finding Books

Searching the Drexel Library catalog for books on higher education.
FYI: This is an extensive list of options due to the in depth nature of research projects in this degree program.
Try a keyword search: “higher education” and governance
Try browsing by subject: Educational Leadership or
Universities and colleges — United States — History — 20th century.
Search just Drexel’s e-books: Advanced Catalog Search (set location = “DU Electronic Books”)
or this link works too for browsing.
Or search full-text of e-books we have from e-book vendors: eBrary (has good education collection)  or
NetLibrary
No luck?
Try the following steps:
1.) Identify good books searching all US libraries via: WorldCat
2.) Or search fulltext on: GoogleBooks
3.) Then order books you have identified through Drexel’s self-service inter-library-loan: EZBorrow
4.) Or, if the book you want is not in our EZBorrow network, request it via our Inter-Library-Loan system, ILLiad (requires initial quick registration) ILLiad
QUESTION: How do distance education students borrow books from the Drexel collection?
ANSWER: Request books in the Drexel Library catalog via ILLiad, same as you would an out-of-network book. Be sure to indicate in your profile and request your are a distance ed student. It will be shipped to you via UPS with a return-mail label included. You may renew it two times if no one else has requested it. You are then responsible for the cost of mailing it back to Drexel. Books borrowed from other libraries through EZBorrow or ILLiad will be mailed to you the same way, but you may only renew them once.

Finding Articles

best resource
Education Research Complete from EBSCO 1990-Present — ELECTRONIC
Our most complete collection of full text education journals, with full text for more than 1,060 journals and abstract-only coverage of another 1,870 journals. Includes many titles on higher education. Also includes full text of many scholarly education-related conference papers and over one hundred books.
ERIC on EBSCO 1967-present (see SFX links for full text) — ELECTRONIC
Journal articles, agency reports, and much more. The authoritative repository for the teaching discipline published by the U.S. Department of Education.  SEARCH TIPS: On the EBSCO platform, try “limiting your results” using the new “Education Level” or “Peer-Reviewed” option. Or, use the thesaurus to identify your terms. Then with the Advanced Search, use the drop down menus to specify your terms as “SU Descriptors,” placing quotes around any search phrases.
ERIC.ed.gov – on free web (see “Find in a Library” links for full text) — WEB
SEARCH TIPS: On the free web platform, use the thesaurus to identify your search terms. Then in Advanced Search, specify your terms as “descriptors” and place quotes around them.

For help, consult the guide to ERIC resources. I recommend trying your search in both this EBSCO and the free web version of ERIC – results may differ!

Proquest — ELECTRONIC
For a broad business and interdisciplinary perspective, always give Proquest a try. The Education sub-file along with the business focused ABI-Inform sub-file (includes the Wall Street Journal) it gives well rounded coverage on higher education issues that occur at the intersection of management, organization behavior, policy and education. The intuitive interface makes searching for broad one-word topics easy. Then add keywords to limit your search.

Reference

best resource Postsecondary Governance Structures Database — ELECTRONIC

This database is a revised version of the 1997 State Postsecondary Structures Sourcebook, which has been transformed into a user-friendly interactive database with information about the postsecondary governance structures in each state. From this database, you can generate profiles of individual state postsecondary governance structures, comparisons of states’ postsecondary governance structures and predetermined reports on state postsecondary governance structures.

best resource Encyclopedia of Higher Education –  PRINT and selected ELECTRONIC entries
Hagerty Reference LB15 .E49 1992 v.1-4
Selected entries on the topic of “university governance” have been scanned and stored at the above link in the Library’s E-Reserves system.
World education encyclopedia: a survey of educational systems worldwideELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty Reference LB15 .W87 2002 v. 1 -3

Also for the international perspective and educational conditions around the world see CQ Global Researcher ELECTRONIC


News

best resource Selected Core News Sources – ELECTRONIC

– or look in the Library’s e-journal directory for individual titles that come up with the words “higher education”

Factiva or Lexis Nexis Academic Universe
Comprehensive news sources for elusive or late-breaking stories. Factiva is what most corporate PR officers use. Power searching via their elegant  interface can take some getting used to. If you have trouble call the Reference Desk for a quick intro: 215-895-2755 or our toll free # 1-888-278-8825

Dissertations

Digital Dissertations — ELECTRONIC
Dive deep into very specialized higher education topics by browsing recent Masters theses and PhD dissertations. You may view full-text of all Drexel theses back to 1996, and get a 24 page preview from non-Drexel theses. Place requests for full-text of non-Drexel theses through ILLiad.

Special Concentrations within Higher Education

Associations:
Associations offer unique insider perspectives on the world of their membership with industry reports and member surveys you will not find elsewhere. As always, when searching for elusive factoids or statistics, ask yourself “who cares?” That is to say – who would have reason enough to care about my particular factoid to gather information about it, or require that it gets reported? Certain data you can count on the government to want (vital statistics or anything regulated by law.) But other data, you’ll ONLY find through associations. Here are a few for higher education worth considering:

Still stumped? Other associations can be found in the Library’s database Encyclopedia of Associations or the Leadership Library (this one includes corporate and political info as well).

Business & Economics
Proquest – ELECTRONIC
For a broad business and interdisciplinary perspective, always give Proquest a try. The Education sub-file along with the business focused ABI-Inform sub-file (includes the Wall Street Journal) it gives well rounded coverage on higher education issues that occur at the intersection of management, organization behavior, policy and education. The intuitive interface makes searching for broad one-word topics easy. Then add keywords to limit your search.

For example: Drexel University AND innovat*

As you look through the articles you’ve pulled up in your initial searches, look at the hyperlinked subject headings which are in the first part of the article citation. If you click on the subject headings, you will be able to see all articles related to that subject.

Business Source Premier offers another comprehensive option for business articles (includes Harvard Business Review).

Factiva (from Dow Jones & Reuters) is the up-to-the-minute corporate news lifeline, with good higher education sources such as: AS&U, American School & University, Corporate University Review, University Business and for what it’s worth U-Wire (University Wire). You can search a single publication by selecting it under the “source” menu. Their interface has a learning curve, but is well worth mastering.

See all the business options under the Business Research Guides.

History
Hunting for historical higher education factoids? Try these Drexel Library databases:

Another option, though it may involve some fishing and maybe a phone call, is the state library for your state. They are typically the official archive for your state, or can direct you to it. Many offer instant message services where you can ask a librarian your question via online chat.

For a more complete list of history resources see the Drexel Research Guide for History

Public Policy and Legal
CQ Researcher — ELECTRONIC
Excellent short briefing papers compiled for US Congress on high-profile (mostly domestic) topics involving legislation.
CQ Public Affairs Collection — ELECTRONIC
In-depth reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical analysis, historic documents and primary source materials.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts — ELECTRONIC
Coverage of international and global issues.

Lexis Nexis Academic Universe
— ELECTRONIC
Great for searching the legal statutes, especially for the EDHE510 assignment on each state’s “higher education governance.” See these examples: PA & NJ Higher Education Commissions to see if searching Lexis Nexis is worth the effort to get similar information for your state.
To search Lexis Nexis for state specific “higher education governance” follow this sequence of screen options: 1.) click above for Lexis Nexis link,
2.) select folder tab option for “Legal” from top,
3.) click link on left for “Federal and State Codes”
4.) see drop down picklist at bottom to select your state of interest,
5.) choose “Natural Language” search option and enter “state system of higher education” and add in the blank below the optional required term “commission”
6.) then evaluate your results.
If you spend more than 20 minutes on searching without results, feel free to contact your Education Librarian for help.

Postsecondary Governance Structures Database – an updated version of the State Postsecondary Structures Sourcebook From this database, you can generate profiles of individual state postsecondary governance structures, comparisons of states’ postsecondary governance structures and predetermined reports on state postsecondary governance structures.


Statistics

best resource Chronicle of Higher Education Almanac — ELECTRONIC
Excellent short annual summary on a statewide level of the nation, institutions, faculty & staff, students, financial resources, and recap of key events and indicators for each of the fifty states. Find it under the “Special Issues and Data” menu option.
TableBase — ELECTRONIC
This unique resource indexes just the charts & data-tables from a very wide array of full-text sources. Hit or miss, but if your issue has been in the news, you are likely to find supporting data here.
If you have tried the obvious places, such as the National Center for Education Statistics, and don’t find what you need, you can seek local help from the State Data Center for your state – they often have an inside scoop on what data is available at the state level. A full listing of options for statistics can be found on the Drexel Research Guide for Statistics and Demographics.  Still having trouble? Get on the phone and call the State Library of the state in which you are interested for more info!

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress