image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Elementary Education

Finding Books Selected Reference
Finding Articles Online Collections
Professional Organizations Web Resources

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Elementary Education:
Try a keyword search: cognitive development
learning AND games
Try a subject search: Education, Elementary

Finding Articles

Suggested Databases:

best resource
Education Research Complete from EBSCO 1990-Present — ELECTRONIC
Our most complete collection of full text education journals, with full text for more than 1,060 journals and abstract-only coverage of another 1,870 journals. Includes many titles on higher education. Also includes full text of many scholarly education-related conference papers and over one hundred books.
Proquest — ELECTRONIC
For a broad business and interdisciplinary perspective, always give Proquest a try. The Education sub-file along with the business focused ABI-Inform sub-file (includes the Wall Street Journal) it gives well rounded coverage on higher education issues that occur at the intersection of management, organization behavior, policy and education. The intuitive interface makes searching for broad one-word topics easy. Then add keywords to limit your search.

Suggested Journals:

best resource The Elementary School Journal is designed to serve both the researcher and the practitioner in elementary and middle school education. While exploring central problems in education theory, the journal also explores the complex problems of the classroom. In addition, The Elementary School Journal presents articles that relate the latest research in child development, cognitive psychology, sociology, and anthropology to school learning and teaching.
Language Arts is a professional journal for elementary and middle school teachers and teacher educators. It provides a forum for discussions on all aspects of language arts learning and teaching, primarily as they relate to children in pre-kindergarten through the eighth grade.
Teaching Children Mathematics is an official journal of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics and is intended as a resource for elementary school students, teachers, and teacher educators. The focus of the journal is on intuitive, exploratory investigations that use informal reasoning to help students develop a strong conceptual basis that leads to greater mathematical abstraction.
best resource Teaching Exceptional Children features articles dealing with practical methods and materials for classroom use aimed at teachers of children with disabilities and children who are gifted; an official journal of the Council for Exceptional Children.
Science & Children is the National Science Teacher’s Association journal for elementary teachers.

Professional Organizations

best resource NAEYC National Association for the Education of Young Children
NEA National Educator’s Association
PTA National Parent Teacher Association

Selected Reference

Encyclopedia of Education/ James W. Guthrie, editorPRINT & ELECTRONIC
includes articles that cover policy and curriculum issues (Accreditation in the United States, Class size and student learning, Scheduling, Single-sex institutions); learning (Categorization and concept learning, Learning theory); assessment (General educational development test, Statewide testing); standards (School reform, Standards movement in American education); history and culture (G.I. Bill of Rights; Islam; Special education: History of); legislation (No Child Left Behind Act of 2001) ; and profiles of organizations, schools, and people (Gary schools; Harvard University; Military academies; Montessori, Maria).
Cambridge encyclopedia of child development / Brian Hopkins, editorELECTRONIC
is an authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of leading experts, it adopts an interdisciplinary approach and covers everything from prenatal development to education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting.
Handbook of special and remedial education : research and practice / edited by Margaret C. Wang, Maynard C. Reynolds, and Herbert J. Walberg — PRINT
This text includes information on individualized planning; elementary-school programs; secondary educational programs and transition perspectives; gifted and talented students; educational resilience; learners with visual impairment and blindness; learners who are deaf or hard of hearing; learners with emotional or behavioral difficulties; learners with severe intellectual disabilities; learners with language impairments; funding; parents and advocacy systems.
Teaching the young child : a handbook of classroom practice / Susan Rounds — PRINT

Online Collections

best resource Federal Resources for Educational Excellence — WWW
FREE is a collection of teaching and learning resources from Federal Agencies. Resources are grouped into the following subjects: Arts & Music, Health & Physical Education, History & Social Studies, Language Arts, Math and Science. A project of the United States. Department of Education
EDSITEment contains K-12 resources in Art & Culture, Literature & Language Arts, History & Social Studies, and Foreign Language from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
PBS Teachers PBS provides early childhood educators with curriculum tools and professional resources as part of its commitment to growing young minds.
best resource Elementary Teacher Resources A teacher-made collection of elementary resources including teacher materials, suggested books, a subscriber newsletter, and links to other resources.

Web Resources

best resource Drexel Math Forum Elementary School Teachers’ Place contains classroom and professional development mathematics resources for elementary educators.
Sciencebuddies includes science teaching resources, centered on science fair project resources.
National Geographic Xpeditions is home to the U.S. National Geography Standards—and to thousands of ideas, tools, and interactive adventures that bring them to life. Lesson plans are organized by grade level.
best resource Read Write Think providing educators and students access to the highest quality practices and resources in reading and language arts instruction.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress