image1 image2 image3 image4 image5 image6 image7 image8

Education

Finding Books Assessment & Testing Instruments
Finding Articles Dissertations
Reference Books Selected Web Resources
Curriculum and Class Material

Finding Books

Search the library catalog for books on education using the keyword, subject or title options. If you do not find the book you need, ask a librarian or check for the title in E-ZBorrow, our self-service interlibrary loan system.
Try a keyword search: instructional design
teach* AND method*
Try a subject search: Teaching
Constructivism (Education)

Finding Articles

best resource
Education Research Complete from EBSCO 1990-Present — ELECTRONIC
Our most complete collection of full text education journals, with full text for more than 1,060 journals and abstract-only coverage of another 1,870 journals. Includes many titles on higher education. Also includes full text of many scholarly education-related conference papers and over one hundred books.
best resource
ERIC on EBSCO 1967-present (see SFX links for full text) — ELECTRONIC
Journal articles, agency reports, and much more. The authoritative repository for the teaching discipline published by the U.S. Department of Education.  SEARCH TIPS: On the EBSCO platform, try “limiting your results” using the new “Education Level” or “Peer-Reviewed” option. Or, use the thesaurus to identify your terms. Then with the Advanced Search, use the drop down menus to specify your terms as “SU Descriptors,” placing quotes around any search phrases.
ERIC.ed.gov – on free web (see “Find in a Library” links for full text) — WEB
SEARCH TIPS: On the free web platform, use the thesaurus to identify your search terms. Then in Advanced Search, specify your terms as “descriptors” and place quotes around them.

For help, consult the guide to ERIC resources. I recommend trying your search in both this EBSCO and the free web version of ERIC – results may differ!

Web of Science — ELECTRONIC
Covers the high-impact education journals as well as most other academic topics. Abstract-only, but you can easily find full-text through SFX links.  What makes this database a MUST – HAVE FOR PhD-LEVEL RESEARCH is its citation tracking, ranking and sorting features you can quickly identify the most often-quoted papers in your topic of interest. Try the various “analyze” features to identify top authors, journals or university affiliations. It is especially useful for anyone tracking the influence of an idea across multiple papers and authors over time.

Professional & Trade Focused Literature – (these overlap with Education Research Complete)

  • Education Periodicals 1986-Present — ELECTRONIC
    Professional magazines and periodicals with full-text access to over 350 education journals (part of the Proquest database).
  • Professional Development Collection 1887-present — ELECTRONIC
    Intended for professional development with 550 full text journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. (This is a database that many public libraries carry, especially in PA)
  • Teacher Reference Center — ELECTRONIC
    For K-12 Teachers & Librarians with 260 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals and books.

Reference Books

These are a great place to start your research for basic definitions – and core bibliographies. You can find Drexel’s specialized education-related encyclopedias and handbooks by doing a keyword search in the library catalog such asencyclopedia AND education or “handbook AND learning.” Here are some of the best education-related reference book:

Cambridge Handbook of the Learning SciencesELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty Reference LB1060 .C35 2006
best resource Encyclopedia of EducationELECTRONIC and PRINT
Hagerty Reference LB15 .E47 2003 v. 1-8
Encyclopedia of Educational PsychologyELECTRONIC
Encyclopedia of Distance LearningELECTRONIC and PRINT
Hagerty Reference LC5211 .E516 2005 v. 1-4
Encyclopedia of School PsychologyELECTRONIC
Handbook of Contemporary Learning TheoriesELECTRONIC and PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor LB1060 .H3457 2001
Handbook of Research on Multicultural EducationPRINT
Hagerty Reference LC1099.3 .H35 2004
best resource International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral SciencesELECTRONIC & PRINT
(See link for “Search this Title” on left – not the search box up above.)
Hagerty Reference H41 .I58 2001 Volume 1-26

Assessment & Testing Instruments

HAPI – (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) — ELECTRONIC
Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, etc.) for the health and psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. Note: provides a short description of the test and a reference to the literature where it was first mentioned, but not the test itself.
best resource Mental Measurements Yearbook — ELECTRONIC
Gives descriptive information about and critical reviews of standardized tests- educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement and intelligence with details on validity and reliability. Note: does not provide a copy of the test itself but includes the contact information for the publisher and last known pricing.
PsycINFO via OVID 1887-present — ELECTRONIC
See the second-to-last link for PsycINFO on the OVID platform page linked above.
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations in the fields of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines (including education, educational psychology and assessment.) Delivered through the “OVID” interface that also hosts other medical databases. Follow the links for “Ovid Full Text” or the “SFX” buttons to find full text.

SEARCH TIPS:
Basic Search: Separate your search terms by the word “AND”. Then review results using the left-hand side “Search Aid” to narrow your results, browsing by Subjects.

Advanced Search: Search one concept at a time, keeping the “Map Term to Subject Heading” option checked. If your concept maps to indexing terms, select the ones that best match the aspect you want, and click “Continue.”  Then review your “Search history” and select the checkbox for each concept you want to keep. Then see below the individual searches for the option to “Combine Selections With”  … click the “AND” button. This yields the most authoritative search that leverages the deep indexing of this database.

The Test Collection at ETS (TestLink) — WWW
A database with descriptive and order information for more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices spanning from the early 1900’s to the present . The information in this collection was acquired from U.S. publishers and individual test authors as well as some from Canada, Great Britain, and Australia. Note: does not provide a copy of the test itself but includes the contact information for the publisher and last known pricing.

Dissertations

Digital Dissertations — ELECTRONIC
For electronic versions of Drexel dissertations, full-text is available online since 1997 and abstracts plus 24 preview pages are available for non-Drexel dissertations. Non-Drexel theses can be requested in hard copy via Drexel Interlibrary Loan, or requested via our Inter-Library Loan service ILLiad. Keyword searchable abstracts are available for all dissertations 1861-Present. Great for graduate students to see samples.
Drexel Theses and Dissertations — WWW
For recent Drexel dissertations and a growing number of older items as well, check out our institutional repository.

Selected Web Resources

best resource Educator’s Reference Desk — WWW
Excellent links to over 3000 resources on a variety of educational issues. This collection includes Internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups.
National Education Association — WWW
Oldest and largest organization devoted to the advancement of public education, ranging from pre-school to university graduate programs. Be sure to visit their “hot topics” section.
best resource National Center For Educational Statistics — WWW
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations.  Includes School District Demographics with school district-level demographics from the 1990 and 2000 census. A project of the United States. Department of Education
best resource Federal Resources for Educational Excellence — WWW
FREE is a collection of teaching and learning resources from Federal Agencies. Resources are grouped into the following subjects: Arts & Music, Health & Physical Education, History & Social Studies, Language Arts, Math and Science. A project of the United States. Department of Education

Curriculum & Classroom Materials

best resource Kraus Curriculum Development Library Online (KCDL Online) — ELECTRONIC
Provides curriculum information on a variety of subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education. Access to over 5,000 curriculas, searchable by subject, keywords, forms of educational content, grades covered and geographic location.
best resource Accunet / Associated Press Multimedia Archive (1826-tomorrow) — ELECTRONIC
An International photo archive and graphics database with graphics, maps, illustrations and logos, and an AP Audio Database which contains searchable audio clips dating back to the 1920s. It’s the same platform used by the news media to select the top photos for tomorrow’s front page story!

Photos, Images & Graphics
* Images for Presentations & Instruction — (another Drexel Library research guide)
best resource Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching — ELECTRONIC (FREE)
MERLOT is a leading edge, user-centered, searchable collection of peer reviewed and selected higher education, online learning materials, catalogued by registered members and a set of faculty development support services. MERLOT’s vision is to be a premiere online community where faculty, staff, and students from around the world share their learning materials and pedagogy.
Selected Websites — WWW
* Thinkfinity – This free digital learning platform is built upon the merger of two programs: Verizon MarcoPolo and the Thinkfinity Literacy Network.
* TeacherSource – PBS site; more than 3,500 lesson plans and activities.
* Curriki – the online education community, is building the first website to offer free, open-source instructional materials for K-12.

Copyright © 2009 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Terms of Use   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by WordPress