Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Educational Administration


Finding Books

Searching the Drexel Library catalog for books on educational administration:
Try a keyword search: school reform
school finance
Try browsing by subject: Educational Leadership or
School Management and Organization
Search just Drexel’s e-books: Advanced Catalog Search (set location = “DU Electronic Books”)
or this link works too for browsing.
Or search full-text of e-books we have from e-book vendors: EBrary (has good education collection) or
NetLibrary
No luck?
Try the following steps:
1.) Identify good books searching all US libraries via: WorldCat
2.) Or search fulltext on: GoogleBooks
3.) Then order books you have identified through Drexel’s self-service inter-library-loan: EZBorrow
4.) Or, if the book you want is not in our EZBorrow network, request it via our Inter-Library-Loan system, ILLiad (requires initial quick registration) ILLiad

QUESTION: How do distance education students borrow books from the Drexel collection?
ANSWER: Request books in the Drexel Library catalog via ILLiad, same as you would an out-of-network book. Be sure to indicate in your profile and request your are a distance ed student. It will be shipped to you via UPS with a return-mail label included. You may renew it two times if no one else has requested it. You are then responsible for the cost of mailing it back to Drexel. Books borrowed from other libraries through EZBorrow or ILLiad will be mailed to you the same way, but you may only renew them once.

Finding Articles

best resource
Education Research Complete from EBSCO 1990-Present — ELECTRONIC
Our most complete collection of full text education journals, with full text for more than 1,060 journals and abstract-only coverage of another 1,870 journals. Includes many titles on higher education. Also includes full text of many scholarly education-related conference papers and over one hundred books.
ERIC on EBSCO 1967-present (see SFX links for full text) — ELECTRONIC
Journal articles, agency reports, and much more. The authoritative repository for the teaching discipline published by the U.S. Department of Education.  SEARCH TIPS: On the EBSCO platform, try “limiting your results” using the new “Education Level” or “Peer-Reviewed” option. Or, use the thesaurus to identify your terms. Then with the Advanced Search, use the drop down menus to specify your terms as “SU Descriptors,” placing quotes around any search phrases.
ERIC.ed.gov – on free web (see “Find in a Library” links for full text) — WEB
SEARCH TIPS: On the free web platform, use the thesaurus to identify your search terms. Then in Advanced Search, specify your terms as “descriptors” and place quotes around them.

For help, consult the guide to ERIC resources. I recommend trying your search in both this EBSCO and the free web version of ERIC – results may differ!

Proquest — ELECTRONIC
For a broad business and interdisciplinary perspective, always give Proquest a try. The Education sub-file along with the business focused ABI-Inform sub-file (includes the Wall Street Journal) it gives well rounded coverage on higher education issues that occur at the intersection of management, organization behavior, policy and education. The intuitive interface makes searching for broad one-word topics easy. Then add keywords to limit your search.

Reference Books

best resourceEncyclopedia of Educational Leadership and AdministrationELECTRONIC
Presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas, and histories on educational leadership and school administration as it is taught in preparation programs and practiced in schools and colleges today. With over 600 entries, written by more than 200 professors, graduate students, practitioners, and association officials, the two volumes of this Encyclopedia represent a comprehensive knowledge base of educational leadership and school administration.
Encyclopedia of EducationPRINT and ELECTRONIC
Intended to provide a comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world. Approximately 900 articles offer a view of the institutions, people, processes, and products found in educational practice.
The School Law HandbookELECTRONIC
designed to enable educators to confront such issues as the school environment, Constitutional issues, students, personnel, and accountability with information, insight, and initiative.

News

best resourceThe School Administrator — ELECTRONIC
AASA’s monthly magazine provides big-picture perspectives and collegial discussions on a broad range of topics in education, leadership, instructional materials and resources unique to the education community.
Stateline — WWW
A clearinghouse of news headlines, at the state and federal level, covering a broad variety of topics. This link takes you to the education headlines.
Education Week — WWW
The leading education newspaper’s website includes a vast amount of free content including news, teacher information, research reports, technology advances and employment resources.
Try looking in the Library’s e-journal directory for individual titles that come up with the words “educational administration”
Factiva or Lexis Nexis Academic Universe
Comprehensive news sources for elusive or late-breaking stories. Factiva is what most corporate PR officers use. Power searching via their elegant interface can take some getting used to. Call the Reference Desk for a quick intro: 215-895-2755

Dissertations

Digital Dissertations — ELECTRONIC
Dive deep into very specialized higher education topics by browsing recent Masters theses and PhD dissertations. You may view full-text of all Drexel theses back to 1996, and get a 24 page preview from non-Drexel theses. Place requests for full-text of non-Drexel theses through ILLiad.

Evaluation and Assessment

best resourceMental Measurements Yearbook — ELECTRONIC – (Some older editions available in Print)
Mental Measurements Yearbook, from the Buros Institute, contains the most recent descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Institute’s 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th, and 15th Yearbooks. The database covers more than 2,200 commercially-available tests in categories such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence and aptitude, educational, speech & hearing, and sensory motor. Note: does not provide a copy of the test itself but includes the contact information for the publisher and last known pricing.
ERIC Clearinghouse on Assessment and Evaluation — WWW
Gateway web site to access internet accessible publications on assessment, the ERIC database with full text ERIC digest, and a test locator retrieval system with test descriptions, test publishers’ addresses and locations of test reviews.
The Test Collection at ETS (Testlink) — WWW
A database with descriptive and order information for more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices spanning from the early 1900’s to the present . The information in this collection was acquired from U.S. publishers and individual test authors as well as some from Canada, Great Britain, and Australia. Note: does not provide a copy of the test itself but includes the contact information for the publisher and last known pricing.

Statistics

best resourceNational Center for Educational Statistics — WWW
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education
TableBase — ELECTRONIC
This unique resource indexes just the charts & data-tables from a very wide array of full-text sources. Hit or miss, but if your issue has been in the news, you are likely to find supporting data here.
NEA Reports & Statistics — WWW
focuses on US Educational statistics including full rankings by state, average teacher salaries by state and many more reports

best resourceStatistical Resources on the Web – Education — WWW
A vast collection of statistical resources from The University of Michigan’s Documents Center.

Web Resources

Education Law Association — WWW
Provides information about current legal issues affecting education and the rights of those involved in education in both public and private K-12 schools, universities, and colleges

best resourceEducation Commission of the States — WWW
Seeks to improve public education by facilitating the exchange of information, ideas and experiences among state policymakers and education leaders.
best resourceAmerican Association of School Administrators — WWW
A professional organization for education leaders whose goal is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to the highest quality public education for all children.

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Wordpress Wordpress icon