Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Global & International Education

Finding Books Dissertations
Finding Articles Directories
Reference Books Statistics
News Web Resources

Finding Books

Searching the Drexel Library catalog for books on global and international education:
Try a keyword search: comparative education
globalization and education
Try browsing by subject: Community Education or
Economic Development — Effect of Education on
Search just Drexel’s e-books: Advanced Catalog Search (set location = “DU Electronic Books”)
or this link works too for browsing.
Or search full-text of e-books we have from e-book vendors: EBrary (has good education collection) or
NetLibrary
No luck?
Try the following steps:
1.) Identify good books searching all US libraries via: WorldCat
2.) Or search fulltext on: GoogleBooks
3.) Then order books you have identified through Drexel’s self-service inter-library-loan: EZBorrow
4.) Or, if the book you want is not in our EZBorrow network, request it via our Inter-Library-Loan system, ILLiad (requires initial quick registration) ILLiad

QUESTION: How do distance education students borrow books from the Drexel collection?
ANSWER: Request books in the Drexel Library catalog via ILLiad, same as you would an out-of-network book. Be sure to indicate in your profile and request your are a distance ed student. It will be shipped to you via UPS with a return-mail label included. You may renew it two times if no one else has requested it. You are then responsible for the cost of mailing it back to Drexel. Books borrowed from other libraries through ILLiad will be mailed to you the same way, but you may only renew them once.  

FYI – if you think the book you need would be a good addition to the Drexel Libraries collection, you may recommend it to the Education Librarian for rush purchase.


Finding Articles

best resource
Education Research Complete from EBSCO 1990-Present — ELECTRONIC
Our most complete collection of full text education journals, with full text for more than 1,060 journals and abstract-only coverage of another 1,870 journals. Includes many titles on higher education. Also includes full text of many scholarly education-related conference papers and over one hundred books.
1) ERIC on EBSCO 1967-present (see SFX links for full text) — ELECTRONIC
Journal articles, agency reports, and much more. The authoritative repository for the teaching discipline published by the U.S. Department of Education. SEARCH TIPS: On the EBSCO platform, try “limiting your results” using the new “Education Level” or “Peer-Reviewed” option. Or, use the thesaurus to identify your terms. Then with the Advanced Search, use the drop down menus to specify your terms as “SU Descriptors,” placing quotes around any search phrases. 

2) ERIC.ed.gov – on free web (see “Find in a Library” links for full text) — WEB
SEARCH TIPS: On the free web platform, use the thesaurus to identify your search terms. Then in Advanced Search, specify your terms as “descriptors” and place quotes around them.

For help, consult the guide to ERIC resources. I recommend trying your search in both this EBSCO and the free web version of ERIC – results may differ!

 

 

 

 

Summon - ELECTRONIC
To search across ALL DATABASES to which we subscribe, try this amazing
“discovery layer” for the broadest possible results. Narrow your search using the menus on the left hand side of the screen. First check the box to “Limit to articles from scholarly publications.” Then see the “Subject Terms” group and click the “more options” link to see all the indexing terms related to the articles you have retrieved. Select just a few of the most relevant terms to narrow your results.

Reference Books & Background

best resource Country Watch — ELECTRONIC
Concise, current background on all the countries of the world. Covers social aspects including education.
Global Road Warrior — ELECTRONIC
Quick tactical facts for the business traveler for most of the countries of the world. Covers social aspects including education.
The Routledge international handbook of higher education — ELECTRONIC
The international handbook of school effectiveness research — ELECTRONIC
Routledge international encyclopedia of women — ELECTRONIC
Global women’s issues and knowledge. Vol. 1, Ability–Education: Globalization

News

best resource Factiva — ELECTRONIC
Up to the minute business information. Browse “Subjects” to find “Political-General_News” section and Education within that to select areas such as “Higher Education.” Browse the “Region” heading to identify one area or country of interest. Combine these browsed selections with keywords for your topic to search just the publications of the region in which you are interested. Supports foreign language searching as well across tons of international publications.
Try using the Library’s Summon search to find e-journal titles that come up with the words “international and education.” Narrow on desired topics using the left-hand navigation for “Subject Terms” and the link for “more…” 

Dissertations

Digital Dissertations — ELECTRONIC
Dive deep into very specialized topics by browsing recent Masters theses and PhD dissertations. You may view full-text of all Drexel theses back to 1996, and get a 24 page preview from non-Drexel theses. Place requests for full-text of non-Drexel theses through ILLiad.

Corporate and Not-for-Profit Directories and Tax Documents

best resource D&B Million Dollar Database — (ELECTRONIC)
From the credit reporting agency Dun & Bradstreets comes this deep directory of businesses operating in the USA. Use the Advanced Search to browse by Industry Criteria.  In particular the NAICS Code option lets you browse the NAICS tree structures (North American Industry Classification System) or keyword search the descriptions. Make NAICS and then geographic selections, using the “Add to Criteria” button at the top with each criteria before pressing the “Run Search” button. This D&B tool supports your downloading of directory records for up to 100 companies at a time in tab-delimited format that can be opened in a spreadsheet.
Guidestar.org – WEB
Free registration required to use this directory of not for profit organizations in the United States. Glean valuable details from the IRS 990 tax filing documents listed there.
Encyclopedia of Associations — ELECTRONIC
Excellent librarian standard for identifying not for profit associations relevant to your interests.

Statistics

best resource Global Market Information Database (GMID) – ELECTRONIC
Euromonitor’s market information database that includes basic education indicators on 205 countries. Funky interface. See the left-hand navigation to select “Countries & Consumers” then 1st menu for “Gov’t-Labor-Education” and 2nd menu for “Literacy & Education.” Then choose geography. Education data are embedded within the broader market survey reports. From within reports be sure to see the right-hand link for STATISTICS – View Related Statistics. Very
current with nice conversion features.
TableBase — ELECTRONIC
This unique resource indexes just the charts & data-tables from a very wide array of full-text sources. Hit or miss, but if your issue has been in the news, you are likely to find supporting data here.
World Bank Open Data – WEB
Repository for structured data sets from the World Bank on a wide variety of indicators including education and development.
best resource Encyclopedia of Associations — ELECTRONIC
As yourself “who cares” enough about the information you are seeking to actually perform a survey or publish research on your topic. The more esoteric the information, the more likely you will find it useful to identify an association that covers your area of interest.

Web Resources

NAFSA – WWW
Professional association dedicated to international education.
Network of International Education Associations — WWW
A
global network of international higher education associations working for mutual learning, information sharing, and to identify emerging issues, problems and opportunities.

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Wordpress Wordpress icon