Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Human Resource Development


Finding Books

Search the library catalog for books on education using the keyword, subject or title options. If you do not find the book you need, ask a librarian or check for the title in E-ZBorrow, our fastest self-service interlibrary loan system, or ILLiad that looks outside our network (and requires additional time.)
Try a keyword search: higher education AND “human resources”
Try a subject search: School Personnel, Management

Finding Articles

In most cases you can use the general Research Guide for Business Articles 

But it is also worth checking the Education literature databases below for articles on HRD

best resource
ERIC on EBSCO 1967-present (see SFX links for full text) — ELECTRONIC
Journal articles, agency reports, and much more. The authoritative repository for the teaching discipline published by the U.S. Department of Education.  SEARCH TIPS: On the EBSCO platform, try “limiting your results” using the new “Education Level” or “Peer-Reviewed” option. Or, use the thesaurus to identify your terms. Then with the Advanced Search, use the drop down menus to specify your terms as “SU Descriptors,” placing quotes around any search phrases.
ERIC.ed.gov – on free web (see “Find in a Library” links for full text) — WEB
SEARCH TIPS: On the free web platform, use the thesaurus to identify your search terms. Then in Advanced Search, specify your terms as “descriptors” and place quotes around them.

For help, consult the guide to ERIC resources. I recommend trying your search in both this EBSCO and the free web version of ERIC – results may differ!

 

TIP: Use the thesaurus on the http://eric.ed.gov website to search the word “personnel” and select from the descriptors offered as a starting point for your search. Example: “Personnel Development”

Professional & Trade Focused Literature – (overlaps with Education Research Complete)

  • Education Periodicals 1986-Present — ELECTRONIC
    Professional magazines and periodicals with full-text access to over 350 education journals (part of the Proquest database).

Reference Books

These are a great place to start your research for basic definitions – and core bibliographies. You can find Drexel’s specialized human resource and education-related handbooks by doing a keyword search in the library catalog such ashandbook AND human resource*” or “handbook AND training.” Here are some of the best education-related reference books:
Diversity Training Handbook: a practical guide to understanding and changing attitudes – ELECTRONIC
best resourceEncyclopedia of EducationELECTRONIC and PRINT
Hagerty Reference LB15 .E47 2003 v. 1-8
The Group Trainers Handbook — ELECTRONIC
Handbook of research on e-transformation and HRM technologies — ELECTRONIC
Handbook of Human Resource Management Practice — ELECTRONIC
From Cost to Performance Management: : a blueprint for organizational development — ELECTRONIC
Human Resources and Quality — ELECTRONIC
Encyclopedia of human resources information systems — ELECTRONIC
best resourceInternational Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral SciencesELECTRONIC & PRINT
(See link for “Search this Title” on left – not the search box up above.)
Hagerty Reference H41 .I58 2001 Volume 1-26

Selected Journals

Find the following using the Electronic Journals A to Z Lookup feature: 

Academy of Management Journal
Academy of Management Learning & Education
Academy of Management Perspectives
Adult Education Quarterly
California Management Review
Career Development International
Development and Learning in Organizations: An International Journal
Harvard Business Review
Human Resource Development Quarterly
Human Resource Development Review
Human Resource Management
Human Resource Management Journal (London)
Industrial and Commercial Training
Industrial and Organizational Psychology:
International Journal of Training and Development
Journal of Applied Psychology
Journal of Business & Psychology
Journal of Career Development
Journal of European Industrial Training
Journal of Leadership & Organization Studies
Journal of Management
Journal of Management Development
Journal of Organizational Behavior
Journal of Vocational Behavior
Journal of Workplace Learning
Leadership & Organization Development
Leadership Quarterly
MIT’s Sloan Management Review
Organization Development Journal
Organizational Dynamics
People & Strategy
Performance Improvement Quarterly
Performance Improvement Journal
Personnel Psychology
The Industrial & Organizational Psychologist
The Learning Organization
Training & Development Journal


Associations and Research Centers

Professional  

Academy of Human Resource Development

Academy of Management
American Evaluation Association (AEA)

American Productivity & Quality Center (APQC)
American Psychological Association (APA)

American Society for Quality
American Society for Training and Development (ASTD)
American Statistical Association (ASA)

Association for Strategic Planning

College and University Professional Association for HR (CUPA-HR)

Human Capital Institute
Human Resource Planning Society (HRPS)
Information Technology Association of America (ITAA)
International Association for Human Resource Information Management (IHRIM)

International Federation of Training and Development Organizations (IFTDO)

International Public Management Association for Human Resources (IPMA-HR)
International Society for Performance Improvement (ISPI)

Knowledge Management Professional Society

Organization Development Institute
Organization Development Network
Project Management Institute (PMI)

Society for Applied Learning Technology (SALT)
Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)
Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology (SIOP)

Society for Organizational Learning
World at Work

World Federation of People Management Associations

Academic
Center for Advanced Human Resource Studies (CAHRS)
Center for Effective Organizations (CEO)
Harvard Business Online
Harvard Business School Working Knowledge
Human Resource Institute
MIT Sloan Management Review
MIT Workplace Center 

Richard Swanson’s Website
Stanford Graduate School of Business

Corporate & Organizational
Balanced Scorecard Collaborative
Catalyst
Corporate Leadership Council (CLC) 

EPSS
Fortune
Great Place to Work Institute
The Conference Board
Training Transfer Solutions (Dr. Ed Holton)
U.S. Department of Labor (DOL)
Workforce Intelligence Institute

 

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Wordpress Wordpress icon