Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Instructional Technology


Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on learning technologies:
Try keyword searches: instructional technology
e-learning AND assessment
Or browse by subject: Education — simulation methods
Need a technical manual?
Try our collection of software and computer e-books:
Safari Tech Books Online

Finding Articles

best resource
Education Research Complete from EBSCO 1990-Present — ELECTRONIC
Our most complete collection of full text education journals, with full text for more than 1,060 journals and abstract-only coverage of another 1,870 journals. Includes many titles on higher education. Also includes full text of many scholarly education-related conference papers and over one hundred books.
ERIC on EBSCO 1967-present (see SFX links for full text) — ELECTRONIC
Journal articles, agency reports, and much more. The authoritative repository for the teaching discipline published by the U.S. Department of Education.  SEARCH TIPS: On the EBSCO platform, try “limiting your results” using the new “Education Level” or “Peer-Reviewed” option. Or, use the thesaurus to identify your terms. Then with the Advanced Search, use the drop down menus to specify your terms as “SU Descriptors,” placing quotes around any search phrases.
ERIC.ed.gov – on free web (see “Find in a Library” links for full text) — WEB
SEARCH TIPS: On the free web platform, use the thesaurus to identify your search terms. Then in Advanced Search, specify your terms as “descriptors” and place quotes around them.

For help, consult the guide to ERIC resources. I recommend trying your search in both this EBSCO and the free web version of ERIC – results may differ!

Do you prefer to browse articles within one specific journal title?
See our e-journal directory for selected individual journal titles on instructional technology.

Reference Books

Educational Media and Technology YearbookELECTRONIC (2006-2008) & PRINT
Hagerty Reference LB1043 .E326 v 12-24 (1985-2006)

Encyclopedia of Distance LearningELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty Reference LC5211 .E516 2005 v. 1-4

Handbook of research on educational communications and technology
ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty Reference LB1028.3 .H355 2004 

Handbook of research on literacy in technology at the K-12 levelELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty Reference LB1028.43 .H36 2006

Print-only volumes:
Cambridge Handbook on Multimedia Learning – Hagerty Reference LB1028.5 .C283 2005
Education and technology: an encyclopedia – Hagerty Reference LB1028.3 .E17 2004 v.1-2


Associations

best resourceEncyclopedia of Associations — ELECTRONIC
A comprehensive keyword searchable database of associations. Provides membership information, dues and publications..
National Organizations
EDUCAUSE
A nonprofit association whose mission is to advance higher education by promoting the intelligent use of information technology. Do you listen to webcasts? Check out their backfile on special topics.
ISTE – International Society for Technology in Education
Providing leadership and service to improve teaching and learning by advancing the effective use of technology in education!
NMC – The New Media Consortium
An international 501(c)3 not-for-profit consortium of nearly 300 learning-focused organizations dedicated to the exploration and use of new media and new technologies.
USDLA – United States Distance Learning Association
Serves the needs of the distance learning community by providing advocacy, information, networking and opportunity.
Local PA/ NJ/ DE Organizations (as examples of what you might find in your area, wherever you may live)
PADLA – The Pennsylvania/Delaware/New Jersey Distance Learning Association
“PADLA serves the needs of the regional Distance/e-Learning community by providing advocacy, information, networking, and opportunity.”
PETE&C – The Pennsylvania Educational Technology Expo and Conference
A statewide event that provides quality programs focused on technology in the educational field.

Selected Websites

Selected blogs:
Weblogg-ed.com – From Will Richardson, a popular education technology speaker.
KathySchrock.net – Eponymous blog with a list of her favorites.
Related research guides:
Teaching Content Areas – Other
 

Teaching Content Areas – Sciences
Video, Images and Clipart for Presentations and Instruction
and for analyst reports on e-learning platforms, see Information Systems & Technology

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Wordpress Wordpress icon