Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Special Education


How to use this guide

Researching a topic in special education can involve tapping a variety of resources. Often times it can be helpful to get a definition from a special education encyclopedia at the outset of a project, just to be clear on one’s terminology. For in-depth history or treatment of an issue, identifying books from the library catalog, GoogleBooks or WorldCat.org is recommended. If Drexel doesn’t own these books outright you may need to request them using inter-library-loan or just ask the Education Librarian to buy them. For narrow, evidence-based topics a focused scholarly journal article from either our education or psychology literature databases can be helpful. For tips that a practitioner might use, an article from the current trade journal literature can also be helpful. For legal and ethical aspects, searching Lexis/Nexis legal content may be required, or even a consultation with a librarian from the Legal Research Center. For an up to the minute view on current events, see Factiva. And for legislative overviews, CQ Researcher has great summaries. Need assessments? Or, perhaps one of the associations listed below would be a good resource.
 

Does all this sound like too much? Then relax – try the single searchbox approach using the new Google-like tool called “Summon” that cuts across all the previously mentioned databases. Or just IM the Reference Desk to sort it out.  We are happy to help!   – best   Tim Siftar Education Librarian



Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Special Education:
Try a keyword search: applied behavior analysis
instruction AND disabilities
Try a subject search: Special Education — Law and Legislation

Finding Articles

Suggested Databases:

best resource
Education Research Complete from EBSCO 1990-Present — ELECTRONIC
Our most complete collection of full text education journals, with full text for more than 1,060 journals and abstract-only coverage of another 1,870 journals. Includes many titles on higher education. Also includes full text of many scholarly education-related conference papers and over one hundred books.
PsycINFO — ELECTRONIC
PsycINFO contains citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, reports, and dissertations in the field of psychology. Current coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1872-present. PsycINFO also contains links to some full text articles.
Web of Knowledge — ELECTRONIC
ISI Web of Knowledge is a Web portal the ISI Citation databases through Web of Science: Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Search by topic and sort results by citations to see most seminal papers.

Suggested Journals:

best resourceJournal of Special Education is a multidisciplinary publication presenting primary research and scholarly reviews related to special education.
Intervention in School and Clinic is an interdisciplinary journal directed to those who deal with the day-to-day aspects of special and remedial education.
Special Education Technology Practice contains important developments in assistive and instructional technology.
best resourceTeaching Exceptional Children features articles dealing with practical methods and materials for classroom use aimed at teachers of children with disabilities and children who are gifted; an official journal of the Council for Exceptional Children.

Professional Organizations

best resourceCEC Council for Exceptional Childen
CHADD Childen and Adults with Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder
CLD Council for Learning Disabilities
LDA Learning Disabilities Association of America
best resourceNASET National Association of Special Education Teachers
PAGE Pennsylvania Association for Gifted Education

Selected Reference

Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults — ELECTRONIC
The comprehensive 3rd edition published by Wiley on the easy-to-navigate CREDO platform.
The concise Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science/ W. Edward Craighead and Charles B. Nemeroff, editors. — ELECTRONIC
This text was edited by high caliber experts, and contributed to by quality researchers and practitioners in psychology and related fields.
 

Encyclopedia of applied psychology/ Charles Spielberger, editor — ELECTRONIC
This compendium is a major source of information for anyone interested in applied psychology.

Handbook of special and remedial education : research and practice / edited by Margaret C. Wang, Maynard C. Reynolds, and Herbert J. Walberg — PRINT
This text includes information on individualized planning; elementary-school programs; secondary educational programs and transition perspectives; gifted and talented students; educational resilience; learners with visual impairment and blindness; learners who are deaf or hard of hearing; learners with emotional or behavioral difficulties; learners with severe intellectual disabilities; learners with language impairments; funding; parents and advocacy systems.
Differentiating instruction for students with learning disabilities: best teaching practices for general and special educators / William N. Bender — PRINT
This resource offers standards-based teaching techniques that incorporate the latest brain research studies, and offer new information on universal design strategies for the classroom.
Minority students in special & gifted education / Committee on Minority Representation in Special Education, National Research Council –  ELECTRONIC
Considers possible contributors to the disparity that special education programs have had disproportionate representation of racial and ethnic minority students, including early biological and environmental influences and inequities in opportunities for preschool and K-12 education, as well as the possibilities of bias in the referral and assessment system that leads to placement in special programs. We have in print too.

Online Collections

Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice supports and promotes a reoriented national preparedness to foster the development and the adjustment of children with or at risk of developing serious emotional disturbance.
National Center for Learning Disabilities is an online guide to essential information about learning disabilities, early literacy and learning resources, support for adolescents and adults with learning disabilities, public policy and advocacy tools.
National Center on Secondary Education and Transition coordinates national resources, offers technical assistance, and disseminates information related to secondary education and transition for youth with disabilities in order to create opportunities for youth to achieve successful futures.
best resourceNational Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities offers educational resources, program information, networking opportunities and research publications.

Web Resources

Family Village is a global community of disability-related resources.
best resourceLD Online seeks to help children and adults reach their full potential by providing accurate and up-to-date information and advice about learning disabilities and ADHD.
Learning Disabilities Worldwide is a non-profit, volunteer organization including individuals with learning disabilities, their families, and professionals.
best resourceSpecial Education Resources on the Internet is a collection of Internet accessible information resources of interest to those involved in the fields related to Special Education.

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Wordpress Wordpress icon