English
Finding Books
| Searching the catalog for books on English Education: | |
| Try a keyword search: | reading strategies literacy AND handbook |
| Try a subject search: | Minorities in Literature |
Finding Articles
| Suggested Databases | |
| Literature Resource Center — ELECTRONIC Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. |
|
| MLA Bibliography — ELECTRONIC The top resource for finding articles on literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics, including foreign languages. |
|
| Communication and Mass Media Complete — ELECTRONIC CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. |
![]() |
| Suggested Journals | |
![]() |
|
![]() |
|
| Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy is published by the International Reading Association and offers practical, classroom-tested ideas grounded in research and theory for teachers of older learners. |
![]() |
| The Reading Teacher is published by the International Reading Association offers practical, classroom-tested ideas grounded in research and theory for teachers of younger learners. | ![]() |
| Reference and Handbooks | |
| Handbook of research on teaching the English language arts Sponsored by the International Reading Association and the National Council of Teachers of English. This thoroughly updated second edition assesses the significance of research, evaluates new developments, and examines current conflicts, controversies, and issues within the areas of language learning and instruction. | ![]() |
Professional Organizations
| IRA International Reading Association | |
![]() |
|
| LINCS The Literacy Information and Communication System | |
| LRC Literacy Research Association | ![]() |
Online Collections
| Center on English Learning and Achievement provides research findings and school reform suggestions through print and online resources to teachers, administrators, and parents so that they can put the Center’s findings to work in their classrooms, schools, and communities. | |
| EDsitement is a showcase of K-12 teaching resources provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities. | ![]() |
| ReadWriteThink provides educators and students access to the highest quality practices and resources in reading and language arts instruction. |
Web Resources
![]() |
|
| The New York Times Learning Network provides lesson plans and other teacher resources including materials from the Newspaper in Education Program. | |
![]() |
|
| Poetry 180 the Library of Congress highlights a poem a day for high school students. | ![]() |
| Web English Teacher is a teacher-created website listing K-12 English and Language Arts resources. |
Mathematics
Finding Books
| Searching the catalog for books on Math Education: | |
| Try a keyword search: | interactive mathematics math* AND activities |
| Try a subject search: | Mathematics – Study and Teaching |
Finding Articles
| Suggested Database | |
Access to fulltext of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications (1940-present). |
|
| Suggested Journals | |
![]() |
|
![]() |
|
![]() |
|
Professional Organizations
![]() |
|
| WME Women and Mathematics Education | ![]() |
| AMS American Mathematical Society | ![]() |
Online Collections
| The Center for Mathematics Education contains curricula, multimedia activities, and professional development for elementary and secondary mathematics educators. | ![]() |
| TERC mathematics and science education resources include research, curriculum and technology development, and implementation support in the form of professional development and assistance to districts and schools. | ![]() |
![]() |
Web Resources
| MathNerds provides free, discovery-based, mathematical guidance via an international, volunteer network of mathematicians. | |
| Math for America includes online resources for lesson plans, activities, and demonstrations that are consistent with the best practices in mathematics education. | |
| American Mathematics Competition is a national contest managed by The Mathematical Association of America. | |
Social Studies
Finding Books
| Searching the catalog for books on Social Studies Education: | |
| Try a keyword search: | social studies teaching AND civics |
| Try a subject search: | History – Study and Teaching Geography – Study and Teaching |
Finding Articles
| Suggested Database | |
| JStor — ELECTRONIC Searchable full text collection of journal articles on various subjects, including over thirty history journals. |
![]() |
| Suggested Journals | |
![]() |
|
![]() |
|
![]() |
|
Professional Organizations
![]() |
|
| NACE National Alliance for Civic Education | ![]() |
| AHA American Historical Association | ![]() |
![]() |
|
| NCEE National Council on Economic Education | ![]() |
Online Collections
| APSA Teaching supports political science education and the professional development of its practitioners. | |
| National Geographic Education includes a variety of teacher resources, projects and education newsletters. |
Web Resources
| United Nations Cyberschoolbus includes K-12 resources and an interactive database of world-wide demographic data. | ![]() |
| The American Promise provides lessons in government, civics and history, with ideas that intrigue and inspire students. | ![]() |









































