Finding Books
Finding Articles
| Suggested Databases |
Education Research Complete from EBSCO 1990-Present — ELECTRONIC
Our most complete collection of full text education journals, with full text for more than 1,060 journals and abstract-only coverage of another 1,870 journals. Includes many titles on higher education. Also includes full text of many scholarly education-related conference papers and over one hundred books. |
 |
|
Access Science— ELECTRONIC
A collection of Reference e-books in the sciences, including The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 9th edition online. |
 |
| Suggested Professional Publications |
| The Science Teacher features articles, interviews, mentoring, recent news notes, book reviews, and National Science Teachers Association news. |
 |
| Science Scope features articles, news notes, and recent happenings for middle and junior high school science teachers. Published by the National Science Teachers Association |
 |
| Suggested Journal of Scholarly Research |
| Journal of Research in Science Teaching The official journal of the National Association for Research in Science Teaching, publishes reports for science education researchers and practitioners on issues of science teaching and learning and science education policy. |
 |
Professional Organizations
Online Collections
Web Resources
Finding Books
Finding Articles
| Suggested Database |
Biological Sciences — ELECTRONIC
An interdisciplinary database that offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
|
 |
| Suggested Professional Publication |
The American Biology Teacher contains articles, research, how-to-do-it and book reviews aimed at teachers of biology at every level.
|
 |
| Suggested Journals of Scholarly Research |
| Journal of Biological Education Refereed articles, papers, letters, short news items, and reviews on all aspects of biology published by the Institute of Biology, London. |
 |
| CBE Life Sciences Education is an open access quarterly from The American Society for Cell Biology that publishes peer-reviewed articles on life science education at the K–12, undergraduate, and graduate levels. |
 |
| Bioscience A peer-reviewed, heavily cited, monthly journal that presents readers with timely and authoritative overviews of current research in biology, accompanied by essays and discussion sections on education, public policy, history, and the conceptual underpinnings of the biological sciences. |
 |
Professional Organizations
Online Collections
Web Resources
Finding Books
Finding Articles
| Suggested Database |
ChemSpider — ELECTRONIC
ChemSpider is a free access service providing a structure centric community for chemists. Providing access to millions of chemical structures and integration to a multitude of other online services ChemSpider is the richest single source of structure-based chemistry information.
|
 |
| Suggested Journals of Scholarly Research |
Journal of Chemical Education published by the Division of Chemical Education at the American Chemical Society.
|
 |
| The Chemical Educator is a peer-reviewed journal containing reference to current topics, experiments, and teaching methodology – focused on undergraduate education. |
 |
Professional Organizations
Online Collections
Web Resources
Finding Books
Finding Articles
| Suggested Database |
Columbia Earthscape — ELECTRONIC
Columbia Earthscape is a comprehensive aggregation of resources in the Earth and Environmental Sciences.
|
 |
| Suggested Professional Publication |
| Astronomy Education Review is an open-source journal supported by the National Optical Astronomy Observatory and NASA and provides a meeting place for all who are engaged in astronomy and space science education, in either formal or informal settings. |
 |
| Suggested Journal of Scholarly Research |
Journal of Geoscience Education is a peer-reviewed publication for geoscience education research at the undergraduate and pre-college levels.
|
 |
Professional Organizations
Online Collections
| SEGway (Science Education Gateway) contains K-12 lessons designed by teachers and scientists in the areas of Space Science, Sun-Earth, and Solar System. |
 |
NASA For Educators contains learning and teaching resources for K-12 students and teachers in astronomy, physical sciences, technology and other areas. |
 |
| NOAA Education contains resources for students and teachers in topics including weather, climate change, ocean and space science. |
 |
USGS Education provides scientific information intended to help educate the public about natural resources, natural hazards, geospatial data, and issues that affect our quality of life. Discover selected online resources, including lessons, data, maps, and more, to support teaching, learning, education (K-12), and university-level inquiry and research. |
 |
Enduring Resources for Earth Science Education Promoting, creating and publishing of Enduring Resources for Earth Science Education in a collaboration between middle and high school teachers and Earth scientists. |
 |
Web Resources
Finding Books
Finding Articles
| Suggested Database |
INSPEC — ELECTRONIC
Bibliographic database providing access to the world’s scientific literature in engineering, electronics, physics, information technology, communications, computing, and manufacturing.
|
 |
| Suggested Professional Publication |
Physics Education is an international journal published by the Institute of Physics. The articles are chosen to support secondary school teachers and those involved with courses up to introductory undergraduate level.
|
 |
| Suggested Journals of Scholarly Research |
American Journal of Physics journal published for the American Association of Physics Teachers by the American Institute of Physics
|
 |
Physical Review Special Topics – Physics Education Research is a peer reviewed electronic-only journal sponsored by The American Physical Society (APS), the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) and the APS Forum on Education (APS FEd). The journal covers the full range of experimental and theoretical research on the teaching and/or learning of physics.
|
 |
Professional Organizations
AAPT American Association of Physics Teachers |
 |
| APS American Physical Society |
|
Online Collections
Web Resources
Finding Books
Finding Articles
| Suggested Databases |
GreenFILE — ELECTRONIC
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
|
 |
| Suggested Journal of Scholarly Research |
| Journal of Environmental Education contains peer reviewed coverage of environmental education topics, including case studies of relevant projects, evaluation of new research, and discussion of public policy and philosophy. |
 |
| Suggested Professional Publication |
Green Teacher Covers teaching methods, philosophy, resources in the areas of environmental and global education for elementary and secondary teachers.
|
 |
Professional Organizations
Online Collections
Web Resources