Drexel University Libraries
home home catalog resources study guides services about the libraries
Drexel University Libraries
                 
 
Electrical & Computer Engineering

General Resources Finding Electronic Books
Finding Books Reference Books
Finding Articles Web Resources

General Resources

This page focuses on resources which have specific usefulness to the Electrical and Computer Engineering community. However, many general, interdisciplinary engineering resources are useful for all engineers, regardless of their specialty. For example, Engineering Village is a superb database for scholarly articles, handbooks, patents, standards, and more. For general engineering resources, please see our Fundamentals of Engineering Research guide.
Human-Computer Interaction Research Guide
A collection of resources chosen to address the unique interdisciplinary nature of HCI.
best resource RefWorks Overview
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool. It can help you organize citations for the books, journal articles, web sites, etc. that you find while doing research. Best of all, it can generate a properly formatted bibliography for your papers. This site guides you through the process of setting up a RefWorks account and getting started with this great tool. Highly recommended.

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Electrical & Computer Engineering:
Try a keyword search: control systems AND feedback
resistors AND materials
Try a subject search: Detectors — Design and construction
Electric Circuit Analysis
Include the type of book you are looking for: microprocessor AND handbook
electrical engineering AND encyclopedia
Try truncation for more results: capacit* retrieves…
capacitor, capacitors, capacitance, etc.

Finding Articles

ACM Digital Library — ELECTRONIC
The ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library includes abstracts, reviews, and the full-text articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985.
ACM Guide to Computing Literature — ELECTRONIC
The Guide is a collection of bibliographic citations and abstracts of works published by ACM and other publishers. Citations for all ACM published works are included in the Guide as a small subset of the total bibliographic space.
best resource IEEE Xplore — ELECTRONIC
IEEE Xplore is the database that provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards as part of its IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL). The IEL provides users with desktop access to one-third of the world’s technical literature in electrical engineering and computer science.
Synthesis: The Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science — ELECTRONIC
The basic component of the library are Lectures, 50- to 100-page self contained electronic documents that synthesize a research or development topic, authored by prominent contributors to the field.

Finding Electronic Books

ENGnetBASE — ELECTRONIC
CRC Engineering Handbooks Online; Full-text of over 1000 engineering handbooks. Topics include Computer Engineering, Electromagnetics, RF & Microwaves, Microelectromechanical Systems, Power Engineering, Signal Processing, Systems & Controls, Circuits & Devices, and Electronics.
TELECOMMUNICATIONSnetBASE — ELECTRONIC
Includes over 140 fully-searchable ebooks in the area of telecommunications.
INFOSECURITYnetBASE — ELECTRONIC
Includes over 90 fully-searchable ebooks in the area of information security and information science.
Knovel Library — ELECTRONIC
An excellent collection of engineering handbooks on all aspects of Electrical Engineering.
Referex Engineering — ELECTRONIC
A collection of over 300 engineering eBooks in 3 distinct collections, including Electronics & Electrical.
Safari Tech Books — ELECTRONIC
Search, browse and view full contents of hundreds of books from major technology publishers including O’Reilly, Microsoft Press, Addison Wesley, Cisco, Cisco Press, Peachpit Press, Prentice Hall PTR, Que, Sams Publishing.

Reference Books

The Computer Engineering Handbook — ELECTRONIC
Instead of focusing on basic, introductory material, it forms a comprehensive, state-of-the-art review of the field’s most recent achievements, outstanding issues, and future directions. While exploring the new developments, trends, and future directions of the field, The Computer Engineering Handbook captures what is fundamental and of lasting value.
The Electrical Engineering Handbook — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor TK145 .E354 see catalog
Its 12 sections cover all the major branches of electrical engineering, including circuits, signals, electromagnetic fields, energy systems, communications, and biomedical fields. Data on physical constants for materials, symbols, and mathematical formulas are provided at the end.
Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, 15th Ed. — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty Reference TK151 .S83 2000 see catalog
Coverage includes new developments in such emerging and rapidly changing technologies as: battery technology for electric vehicles; energy storage; computing and information systems; automatic control of generators, transmission systems, and distribution systems; controlling and transporting electric power over complex networks.
best resource Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering — ELECTRONIC & PRINT
Hagerty Reference TK9 .E53 1999 v.1-10 see catalog
It contains over 1400 articles that describe every aspect of electrical and electronics engineering. The articles emphasize the contributions from experts in each of the key areas of electrical engineering and electronics engineering.

Web Resources

Chip Directory — WWW
This site contains: Numerically and functionally ordered chip lists, chip pinouts and lists of chip manufacturers, manufacturers of controller embedding tools, electronics books, CDROM’s, magazines, WWW sites and much more
Circuits Archive: University of Washington — WWW
This is a site devoted to expanding the availability of circuit designs to engineering students, and even engineering professionals.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) — WWW
The IEEE is the premier professional organization for electrical engineers. 
The Semiconductor Subway — WWW
The Semiconductor Subway provides links to all manner of semiconductor and microsystems related information, including fabrication facilities, research activities, standards work, etc. It maps out sources along “subway lines”.

No Comments »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment



Quick Search


Chat requires JavaScript.